Speedchecker Compatibility

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> General Questions
Author Message
ta2001
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Mar 2019
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Mar 29, 2019 15:56    Post subject: Speedchecker Compatibility Reply with quote
Is there a way to determine whether or not the speedchecker functionality is available for a given router? I wanted to opt into the measurements, but neither of my routers seem to support this after I successfully flashed them.
Sponsor
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 6177
Location: Romerike, Norway

PostPosted: Sun Mar 31, 2019 7:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have seen that feature on my Asus RT-AC66U.

Probably not available on units with less than 32M flash space.
ta2001
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Mar 2019
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun Mar 31, 2019 18:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks for the info about the Asus, and about the [dis]appearance of features without fanfare. I guess its more of a crapshoot than than anything!
schultzter
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Jul 2015
Posts: 7
Location: Montreal, QC

PostPosted: Mon Apr 26, 2021 3:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
Good evening

Same question actually!

I have one router with Speedchecker (D-Link DIR868) and without (D-Link DIR835) both on the latest beta firmware.

I would like to replace the router without Speedchecker with one that will have it.

Is it safe to assume all routers with at least 32MB of flash will have Speedchecker? Or are there other factors as well?

Ultimately, is there a list anywhere of routers with Speedchecker?

Thanks

_________________
Headed for the second star to the right and straight on 'til morning...
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 9531
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Mon Apr 26, 2021 3:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
There is no magic matrix of what is included in the firmware for what devices, but the safe assumption is ~32MB flash space and above would have it.
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines & Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum. ---------------------- Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
schultzter
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Jul 2015
Posts: 7
Location: Montreal, QC

PostPosted: Mon Apr 26, 2021 13:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
Good morning

Thanks for that suggestion, I'll see what I can find with at least 32MB in my local refurbished and used market.

I was poking around the source code trying to find a way to parse a makefile or something to extract a list where Speedchecker is enabled.

I found a whole bunch of references to
Code:
#ifdef HAVE_SPEEDCHECKER
but I can't seem to figure out where it is set.

Any suggestions?

_________________
Headed for the second star to the right and straight on 'til morning...
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 7931
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Apr 26, 2021 14:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
There are config files (src/router/configs) but those are not the ones used.

Besides some configs are overridden in the build script which is also not publicly available.

The setting in the config file is:
CONFIG_SPEEDTEST_CLI
(I have it disabled I do not use it Smile)

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
WireGuard Documents & Guides:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327397
OpenVPN Documents & Guides: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327398
IPSET: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327261
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 9531
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Mon Apr 26, 2021 14:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
There's also CONFIG_SPEEDTEST in some of the config files.
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines & Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum. ---------------------- Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
schultzter
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Jul 2015
Posts: 7
Location: Montreal, QC

PostPosted: Wed Apr 28, 2021 12:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
egc wrote:
Besides some configs are overridden in the build script which is also not publicly available.


Sad

Thanks for the info, I knew I was missing something.

_________________
Headed for the second star to the right and straight on 'til morning...
ho1Aetoo
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2019
Posts: 723
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Apr 28, 2021 19:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
Quote:
I would like to replace the router without Speedchecker with one that will have it.


you want to replace a router because of a rudimentary tool that doesn't work properly?

personally i often start some throughput or bandwidth measurements, but i never use the "speedchecker"

first of all it doesn't work properly and secondly it is much too inaccurate
schultzter
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Jul 2015
Posts: 7
Location: Montreal, QC

PostPosted: Wed Apr 28, 2021 22:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
I didn't realise that!

I would prefer to use a different service, like Measurement Labs or good old Speedtest.

But I haven't found a DD-WRT client for m-labs and my old DIR-835 doesn't have speedtest_cli either.

Are there any other DD-WRT speedtest clients?

_________________
Headed for the second star to the right and straight on 'til morning...
ho1Aetoo
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2019
Posts: 723
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Apr 29, 2021 7:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
iperf3 as commandline tool

maybe this is available on your router?
feliciano
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 24 Oct 2008
Posts: 1009
Location: Latin America

PostPosted: Fri Apr 30, 2021 23:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
One can also create an script (with wget and time calculations) to measure the download speed against a server of your choice.
_________________
If you want support, please read first the announcements and forum rules.
Si usted desea ayuda, por favor lea primero los anuncios y las reglas del foro.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> General Questions All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum