r7800 Signal Strength

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Author Message
StillBlue
DD-WRT User


Joined: 11 Apr 2009
Posts: 160
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon Apr 19, 2021 7:34    Post subject: r7800 Signal Strength Reply with quote
I have just made the jump from a WRT54G-TM to the r7800. So far so good, but I can't help but notice I am not getting the best signal strength from it.

I obviously understand that 5ghz doesn't travel as far as 2.4ghz, but to be honest I am finding the 2.4ghz is not as strong with the r7800 as it was with the WRT54G-TM.

I did have Linksys 7dBi High Gain Antenna on the WRT54G-TM, which did make some difference, I don't see any genuine high gain antennas for the r7800, so I assume the originals are pretty good.

I have wandered round trying positioning the router in different places, which makes some difference, but not masses.

Just wondering what peoples experience with this router and signal is.

So far I am very happy with the router, as in general its a big leap forward, but obviously now I have it set up how I want it, it's just a case of the odd tweaks here and there.

Thanks
Sponsor
blkt
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2019
Posts: 3136

PostPosted: Mon Apr 19, 2021 10:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
TX power in advanced settings checkbox for each radio, use channels allowing higher TX power (region limit).
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 8136
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Apr 19, 2021 11:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
Transmit power is region and channel dependant.

I use Panama which allows 30dB on all channels.

But if your client does not supports higher settings it does not bring you very much.

So it can be useful if you have a router to router setup but not so much with regular clients as these seldom support higher settings

I have a bunch of routers (WRT 54 GS, E2000, R6400, R7000, R7800) but the R7800 has the best radios of the lot (R7000 and R6400 are not far behind though)

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
WireGuard Documents & Guides:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327397
OpenVPN Documents & Guides: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327398
IPSET: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327261
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
StillBlue
DD-WRT User


Joined: 11 Apr 2009
Posts: 160
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon Apr 19, 2021 15:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thank you. Yes, I have transmit power to 30dB and as suggested selected Panama. Still no real difference.

Does ACK Timing make much difference? The R7800 is connected to a communal router, but unfortunately one I have no control over. Signal is just about useable, but I seem to be getting about a maximum of 3mbps over it and 10% signal of 5ghz and 45% signal on 2.4ghz whereas before I was getting 70% signal on 2.4ghz.

At 10% the link is nearly unusable on 5ghz, and using 2.4ghz the link is still just as poor really even though a 'better' percentage of signal quality. I will keep playing, as it's probably not far off of getting something useable.


The TX power defaulted at 71dB on the WRT54G-TM?
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 4499
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Mon Apr 19, 2021 16:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
use Panama or Canada
set WiFI to Vanilla
do not use Auto channel...
set to Channel 11, either HT20 (limited to a single stream) or HT40 with Channel 11 + lower... (for multi steams)..

ACK time i use is set to 900

Also use Short GI and Short preamble and NG mixed
try to add those lines into, wireless security page down the large box is called 'hostapd'

basic_rates=60
supported_rates=60 90 120 180 240 360 480 540

click save and apply...

if your speed is low (as we dont know your ISP speed anyway) it may be from something else like a bad client or cable or your ISP cannot deliver or anything else but not router...my R7800's are speedy as a Gonzales...

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 ---DD-WRT 47117 BS AP,NAT
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 -DD-WRT 47381 BS AP,NAT,AP Isolation,Ad-Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 -DD-WRT 47381 BS AP,NAT,AD/Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 -Gargoyle OS 1.12.0 AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas
Qualcomm Atheros/
Netgear R7800 --DD-WRT 47381 BS AP,NAT,AD-Block,AP&Net Isolation,VLAN's,Firewall,Local DNS,DoT,Vanilla
Netgear R9000 --DD-WRT 47381 BS AP,NAT,AD-Block,AP Isolation,Firewall,Local DNS,DoT,2,4Ghz only,Vanilla
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 ---DD-WRT 47381 BS AP,Wi-Fi OFF,NAT,AD-Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,VLAN's,DoT,VPN
------------------------------------------------------
Stubby for DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 by mac913


Last edited by Alozaros on Mon Apr 19, 2021 16:21; edited 1 time in total
StillBlue
DD-WRT User


Joined: 11 Apr 2009
Posts: 160
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon Apr 19, 2021 17:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
Something there has made a difference. Although the signal strength isn't really any greater, the link seems much more stable now (faster and not dropping out).

I can't seem to find the hostapd box though to put those last couple of values into.
eeff11
DD-WRT User


Joined: 23 Jan 2013
Posts: 108

PostPosted: Tue Apr 20, 2021 3:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
different modes differ certainly in range.

for 54m,or 802.11g the range is of course much better than 802.11n,AC,AX....

Signal strength attenuates from 802.11a,b.g...etc under the same power.

Though all the wifi settings are good to go,fixed less noisy channel,region of Panama,Austrilia,max power output,router position,antenna adjustment...
StillBlue
DD-WRT User


Joined: 11 Apr 2009
Posts: 160
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue Apr 20, 2021 7:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
Without doubt moving the router around makes the most difference, but the settings that Alozaros mentioned above seem to have got things stable.

Changing the Wifi to Vanilla seems to have made the most difference as before that my echo dot which was sat pretty much ontop of the router kept dropping out.

I still have nowhere near the signal quality I had from the WRT54G-TM on 2.4ghz with it's 7dBi antenna, but the main thing is that now both bands appear to be stable.

I still haven't managed to add the suggested hostapd settings though, as I have no idea where to input them.
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 1667
Location: Illinois Moderator

PostPosted: Tue Apr 20, 2021 14:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
StillBlue wrote:
I still haven't managed to add the suggested hostapd settings though, as I have no idea where to input them.


wifi security tab go to the 2.4ghz radio and enter the settings into custom config box...that's the hostapd box.

_________________
FORUM RULES

TIPS/TRICKS: Best QCA Wifi Settings | Latency tricks | QoS Port priority | NEVER USE MU-MIMO |
Why to NOT use MU-MIMO | Max Wifi Pwr by Country | Linux Wifi Pwr | AC MCS & AX MCS | QCA 5Ghz chnls to use | WIFI Freq WIKI | TFTP R7800 | Don't buy AX | IPERF3 How-To

[R9000]47449 nightly (Main Router)
[EA8500]43192 & 45493 (2xOffsite)
[R7800]napping
[WDR3600]BS 44715 (Offsite)
[A7v5]BS 43038 (Offsite+spare napping)
StillBlue
DD-WRT User


Joined: 11 Apr 2009
Posts: 160
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue Apr 20, 2021 15:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
msoengineer wrote:
StillBlue wrote:
I still haven't managed to add the suggested hostapd settings though, as I have no idea where to input them.


wifi security tab go to the 2.4ghz radio and enter the settings into custom config box...that's the hostapd box.


Excellent. Thank you.
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 4499
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Tue Apr 20, 2021 16:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
WRT54G-TM has only a G mode 20HT, witch is more narrow than N mode 40HT mode and has a touch better range, but more dead spots...on the new BS firmwares, you can even go half, like 10HT, but this will create very narrow signal...and lots of dead spots... 5 and 10HT modes are only for long range connection where units are in line..more likely...

yep i explained, hostapd is called custom box and its always been there Razz

and yep Vanilla is more stable, although i still run DDWRT mode on one of my R7800 (experimental), but i started to receive a complains and will move it to Vanilla, as it seems more stable/compatible among the clients....i guess DDWRT mode is good for router to router mesh...only...atm

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 ---DD-WRT 47117 BS AP,NAT
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 -DD-WRT 47381 BS AP,NAT,AP Isolation,Ad-Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 -DD-WRT 47381 BS AP,NAT,AD/Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 -Gargoyle OS 1.12.0 AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas
Qualcomm Atheros/
Netgear R7800 --DD-WRT 47381 BS AP,NAT,AD-Block,AP&Net Isolation,VLAN's,Firewall,Local DNS,DoT,Vanilla
Netgear R9000 --DD-WRT 47381 BS AP,NAT,AD-Block,AP Isolation,Firewall,Local DNS,DoT,2,4Ghz only,Vanilla
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 ---DD-WRT 47381 BS AP,Wi-Fi OFF,NAT,AD-Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,VLAN's,DoT,VPN
------------------------------------------------------
Stubby for DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 by mac913
StillBlue
DD-WRT User


Joined: 11 Apr 2009
Posts: 160
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue Apr 20, 2021 20:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thank you. I think I need to study a bit harder. It is much much better with the vanilla drivers, but I will also have a play with the rest and try and study a wireless transmission a bit better..
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum