New Build - 03/12/2021 - r45993

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 8974
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sat Mar 13, 2021 22:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
Router Model / Version: TP-Link TL-WR940N v3
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r45993 std (03/12/21)
Kernel: Linux 3.18.140-d5 #109518 Fri Mar 12 04:57:49 +07 2021 mips
Previous: DD-WRT v3.0-r44213 std (08/18/20)
Reset: No
Mode: Wired AP
Uptime: ~4 hrs
Status: OK
Issues / Errors: Nothing to report.

_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines & Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum. ---------------------- Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
Sponsor
mac913
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 02 May 2008
Posts: 1644
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sun Mar 14, 2021 1:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
Routers: 2x Netgear R7800
(common services used for both R7800s)

-8xVLANs + 8xBridges
-SSH -Custom Port & Key
-Syslog
-NTP server default (left blank)
-TCP Congestion - bbr
-Cron Jobs
-USB w/32GB USB3 Thumb Drive (ext4 mounted /jffs & /opt)
-Custom Scripts
-Custom Startup,Shutdown,Firewall Scripts
-NAS Settings - All Disabled
-QoS - Disabled
-ttraff Disabled
-SFE Disabled
-Telnet Disabled


Gateway + WireGuard Router R7800
-DHCP WAN
-ISP IPv6 - Prefix Delegation for 5xVLANs via Dnsmasq
-DDNS - Custom Script
-1xWireGuard Client
-Entware DNSCrypt-Proxy V2.0.45 - IPv4/v6 Cisco Filtered Servers
-YAMon3.4.6 w/Entware's ip-full for IPv6
-WiFi Disabled

WiFi + 2xWireGuard Router R7800
-Static WAN
-IPv6 6to4 tunneling through WireGuard oet2
-5xSSIDs-2xAPs+3xVAPs - Firmware=DD-WRT, RTS/CTS 980, wlan0 AC/N Mixed VHT80 & wlan1 NG-Mixed HT40
-2xWireGuard Clients
-Entware DNSCrypt-Proxy V2.0.45 - IPv4/v6 Cloudflare DoH Non-Filtered Servers

Router: 2x Netgear R7800 (Gateway + WiFi Routers)
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r45993 std (03/12/21) [From: DD-WRT v3.0-r45928 std (03/06/21)]
Linux Rel: Linux 4.9.261 #19 SMP Fri Mar 12 armv7l [From: Linux 4.9.259 #1186 SMP Sat Mar 6 armv7l]
WiFi Firmware: 10.4-ddwrt-9984-tW-13-6049M [From: same]
WireGuard: 1.0.20210219 [From: same]
Reset: NO, SSH Update
Status & Uptime: Working over 5 hours
Issues/Fixes: none/none

Thank-you BrianSlyer for your Great Work and everyone else who makes DD-WRT Great on the Forum!

_________________
Home Network on Telus PureFibre - 10GbE Copper Backbone
2x R7800 - Gateway & WiFi & 3xWireGuard - DDWRT r46885 Std
R7000 - Wired ISP 4K IPTV Gateway - DDWRT r46885 Std

Off Site 1

R7000 - Gateway & WiFi & WireGuard - DDWRT r46885 Std
E3000 - Client Bridge - DDWRT r46885 Mega K4.4

Off Site 2

R7000 - Gateway & WiFi - DDWRT r44483 Std
E2000 - Wired ISP IPTV PVR Blocker - DDWRT r35531


YAMon 3.4.6 | DNSCrypt-Proxy V2
sumbuddie
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Mar 2009
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Sun Mar 14, 2021 3:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
tatsuya46 wrote:
tried ddwrt firmware already im guessing?


DD-WRT firmware yields the same result - can't connect with TurboQAM enabled (with the same failure listed in the log).

Disabling TurboQAM results in successful connection with DD-WRT firmware.

Any conclusions on best firmware type (DD-WRT vs. VANILLA)?
blkt
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2019
Posts: 2865

PostPosted: Sun Mar 14, 2021 3:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
DD-WRT firmware features Channel Widths Half (10 MHz), Quarter (5 MHz) as well as Auto ACK Timing (0).

Only using 20 MHz here so nothing fancy and no iperf results but DD-WRT firmware type has optimizations.

Thank you for confirming your experience and results with TurboQAM (QAM256) support. =)
ho1Aetoo
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2019
Posts: 641

PostPosted: Sun Mar 14, 2021 10:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1229913#1229913

Quote:
the vanilla firmware has a different newer codebase, which i dont have. to people cannot complain if something in my own firmware is not working in the way they like it.


5 and 10Mhz, for whatever you need it for Wink
blkt
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2019
Posts: 2865

PostPosted: Sun Mar 14, 2021 15:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
Half and quarter are for long distances, direct line of sight or point-to-point, at least my limited understanding.

https://duckduckgo.com/?t=palemoon&q=20+mhz+40+80+range

Do 80MHz 802.11 networks have shorter range than 20MHz ones?

40mhz v 80mhz channel width on rural 5ghz - It aint broke but boy am I tempted to fix it

Width goes down, power goes up.
el-guapin
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Aug 2019
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Mon Mar 15, 2021 18:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
Router Model: Netgear R7800

Mode: AP Switch

Firmware Version: DD-WRT v3.0-r45993 std (03/12/21)

Kernel Version: Linux 4.9.261 #19 SMP Fri Mar 12 00:51:31 +07 2021 armv7l

Upgraded from: DD-WRT v3.0-r45454 std (01/15/21)

Reset: No

Status: Up and running for 2 hours. No issues

miniDLNA 500+ HD movies
QOS using HFSC FQ_CODEL
100/20 ATT Uverse

_________________
Netgear R7800
D000D
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Jun 2020
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed Mar 17, 2021 17:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
jauch888888 wrote:
egc wrote:
I deactivate TurboQAM and use Vanilla Firmware for 2.4 GHz seems to be working with that.

Also use that for my R7800


@ho1Aetoo

thanks guys,

I disabled turbo and chose Vanilla, after rebooting, IM ok now.


Where/How do I disable turbo and choose Vanilla? I've looked, but I don't see these options. I'm having constant disconnect problems on the 2.4GHz band and would like to give this a try.
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 4378
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Wed Mar 17, 2021 17:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
D000D wrote:
jauch888888 wrote:
egc wrote:
I deactivate TurboQAM and use Vanilla Firmware for 2.4 GHz seems to be working with that.

Also use that for my R7800


@ho1Aetoo

thanks guys,

I disabled turbo and chose Vanilla, after rebooting, IM ok now.


Where/How do I disable turbo and choose Vanilla? I've looked, but I don't see these options. I'm having constant disconnect problems on the 2.4GHz band and would like to give this a try.


D00OD those of yours, can be due to a many things...bad settings, bad clients, congestion, malware, not telling us what router model and firmware number you are running....and so on and on...provide us with more details...otherwise we can't guess the 'loto' numbers...
Vanilla and TurboQAM settings, are not present on all routers...

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 -----DD-WRT 46446 BS AP,NAT
TP-Link WR740Nv4 -----DD-WRT 44251 BS WAP/Switch
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---DD-WRT 46885 BS AP,NAT,AP Isolation,Ad-Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---DD-WRT 46885 BS AP,NAT,AD/Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---Gargoyle OS 1.12.0 AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas
Qualcomm/IPQ8065
Netgear R7800 -----DD-WRT 46885 BS AP,NAT,AD-Block,AP&Net Isolation,VLAN's,Firewall,Local DNS,DoT
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 -----DD-WRT 46885 BS AP,Wi-Fi OFF,NAT,AD-Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,VLAN's,DoT,VPN
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stubby for DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 by mac913
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 8974
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Wed Mar 17, 2021 19:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
Alozaros wrote:
D000D wrote:
jauch888888 wrote:
egc wrote:
I deactivate TurboQAM and use Vanilla Firmware for 2.4 GHz seems to be working with that.

Also use that for my R7800


@ho1Aetoo

thanks guys,

I disabled turbo and chose Vanilla, after rebooting, IM ok now.


Where/How do I disable turbo and choose Vanilla? I've looked, but I don't see these options. I'm having constant disconnect problems on the 2.4GHz band and would like to give this a try.


D00OD those of yours, can be due to a many things...bad settings, bad clients, congestion, malware, not telling us what router model and firmware number you are running....and so on and on...provide us with more details...otherwise we can't guess the 'loto' numbers...
Vanilla and TurboQAM settings, are not present on all routers...


A simple profile peek at all posts reveals he is using a Netgear WNDR3700 V1. NOPE, those settings DO NOT EXIST ON YOUR ROUTER. Going to leave these paper trails here at the moment, but they may self-destruct at any time Twisted Evil

_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines & Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum. ---------------------- Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
Molle
DD-WRT User


Joined: 13 Jan 2015
Posts: 55
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Wed Mar 24, 2021 7:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
Router/Version: Netgear R7800
Previous/Reset: r44715 (CLI update) / No
Status: OK
Issues: None so far

AP on 2.4 GHz, WDS-AP on 5 GHz, static leases, ondemand governor

Using DD-WRT firmware on both bands with N/G-Mixed changed to Mixed and TurboQAM disabled on 2.4 GHz.


Router/Version: Linksys EA8500
Previous/Reset: r44715 (CLI update) / No
Status: OK
Issues: None so far

DD-WRT firmware, WDS-Station on 5 GHz, 2.4 GHz disabled, ondemand governor

_________________
Netgear R7800 (AP / WDS AP): DD-WRT 46836 std
Linksys EA8500 (WDS Station): DD-WRT 46836 std
Dwarden
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Jan 2009
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Fri Mar 26, 2021 11:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
Router/Version: TP-Link TL-WR941ND v6/v3
File/Kernel: 45993, tl-wr940ndv3-webflash.bin
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r45993 std (03/12/21)
Linux 3.18.140-d5 #109506 Fri Mar 12 04:44:01 +07 2021 mips
Previous/Reset: 45735 , no reset
Mode/Status: LAN and AP, router
Issues/Errors: took 30s to get back active

after boot back, not problem, works fine
Goto page Previous  1, 2 Display posts from previous:    Page 2 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum