R9000 - Poor speed

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
blkt
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2019
Posts: 3160

PostPosted: Wed Mar 10, 2021 15:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
LOL no you are talking about someone else, only BrainSlayer builds are here. Try r44715 for comparison.

11/03/2020 - r44715 - Hardware reset (10 seconds) or nvram erase && reboot and reconfigure manually.
Sponsor
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 8169
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Mar 10, 2021 15:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
The latency spikes were due to the MIB counter I think and are resolved, some performance problems were due to the low netdev_max_backlog settings which is also resolved.

I use both OpenWRT and DDWRT for my R7800 and there is not much difference (also ran stock in the past which was marginally faster probably due to the help of the nss cores for my R7800)

But for the R9000 things could be different although there are a lot of similarities like the same QCA9984 wifi Smile.

Oh and I get 500+ Mb/s on 5 GHz but clear channel same room, laptop connects at 866 Mb/s but actual throughput is of course less.

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
WireGuard Documents & Guides:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327397
OpenVPN Documents & Guides: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327398
IPSET: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327261
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
ho1Aetoo
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2019
Posts: 848
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Mar 10, 2021 16:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
spreng wrote:
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1154617#1154617

Looks like this has been a known issue for this router. This is sounding damn similar.

I'm about to try this older DD-wrt from

/betas/2019/01-29-2019-r38507/netgear-r9000/

Let's see what that does.

I know there is a lot of talk about BS (Brainslayers) builds.. but also know he left a while ago.. and all builds were taken down. Did he go elsewhere with the builds.. or just stopped?



Well, that's actually nonsense.
The thread is 2 years old and it was also a question of settings. (I'm reading something about a wrong MTU setting)

The R9000 has the QCA9984 as WLAN chipset, which is the same chipset I use and with which I test the builds...

by the way, here are my results:

2,4Ghz [SUM] 0.00-60.02 sec 2.27 GBytes 325 Mbits/sec

5ghz see picture in attachment

so this is certainly a question of the setting and of course a question of the WLAN client used.

Just tell us with what kind of client you are testing...
As said 250Mbit over 2.4Ghz manage the least clients (most have only 1-2 antennas).

Quote:
my machine is a XPS 15


The WLAN card would actually be more important
Killer 1650 / Intel AX200 ?


Edit: best you also post a screenshot of the tab "Status > WLAN"
there you can see the connected clients too

I would also test directly with iperf3 between the router and the client, 150Mbit over 5Ghz are already a bit meager at short distance.

I have with my smartphone ~300Mbit in the bathroom through 3 walls

Quote:
while next to the R9000


you don't really need to test at a distance of less than 4m... that's all too close.
The devices just scream at each other
At 1m distance you can easily go down to 13dB (but I have not yet tested whether then the transmission power is still too high)

In any case, this is not an advantage when you test like this - there are definitely problems with too high transmitting power.


Edit3:

to come back to the used WLAN channel ...

Code:
country GB: DFS-UNSET
   (2400 - 2483 @ 40), (N/A, 20), (N/A)
   (5150 - 5250 @ 80), (N/A, 23), (N/A), NO-OUTDOOR
   (5250 - 5350 @ 80), (N/A, 20), (N/A), NO-OUTDOOR
   (5470 - 5730 @ 160), (N/A, 26), (N/A)
   (5725 - 5875 @ 80), (N/A, 20), (N/A)



actually looks very interesting

Quote:
36/40/44 are used heavy


but that's just one 80 mhz block, it's all the same....
there are 6 80 Mhz blocks in total:

36-48
52-64
100-112
116-128
132-144
149-161

https://i.ytimg.com/vi/8O_CIIldnWs/maxresdefault.jpg

therefore you should also test the other blocks

Quote:
test channels 36 / 52 / 100 / 116 / 149


test channels 36 / 52 / 100 / 116 / 132 /149


or as BLKT noted, maybe just reset the router.

You should actually do this with the stock firmware before flashing DD-WRT and again after flashing.
Better safe than sorry ...
spreng
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Mar 2021
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Wed Mar 10, 2021 18:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
blkt wrote:
LOL no you are talking about someone else, only BrainSlayer builds are here. Try r44715 for comparison.

11/03/2020 - r44715 - Hardware reset (10 seconds) or nvram erase && reboot and reconfigure manually.


I thought this.. but all the folders in the FTP with Brainslayer were removed.. but I knew that he was the founder.. so it was all a bit head jarring.

Thanks for clearing it up..
spreng
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Mar 2021
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Wed Mar 10, 2021 18:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
So.. I tried the older build.. and it just made things worse.. so went to 45955

Then went and did all the recommendations on here.. and got back to 200 dl again

I then flashed back to stock.. just to prove it's not the HW now playing up...
spreng
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Mar 2021
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Wed Mar 10, 2021 19:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
ho1Aetoo wrote:

Just tell us with what kind of client you are testing...
As said 250Mbit over 2.4Ghz manage the least clients (most have only 1-2 antennas).

The WLAN card would actually be more important
Killer 1650 / Intel AX200 ?


Its a Killer 1650 in the XPS and Intel Wireless AC 9260 in one of the Precision ones


ho1Aetoo wrote:

I would also test directly with iperf3 between the router and the client, 150Mbit over 5Ghz are already a bit meager at short distance.

I have with my smartphone ~300Mbit in the bathroom through 3 walls


Yep.. I get decent speed on my Oneplus on stock too.

ho1Aetoo wrote:

you don't really need to test at a distance of less than 4m... that's all too close.
The devices just scream at each other
At 1m distance you can easily go down to 13dB (but I have not yet tested whether then the transmission power is still too high)

In any case, this is not an advantage when you test like this - there are definitely problems with too high transmitting power.


Edit3:

to come back to the used WLAN channel ...

Code:
country GB: DFS-UNSET
   (2400 - 2483 @ 40), (N/A, 20), (N/A)
   (5150 - 5250 @ 80), (N/A, 23), (N/A), NO-OUTDOOR
   (5250 - 5350 @ 80), (N/A, 20), (N/A), NO-OUTDOOR
   (5470 - 5730 @ 160), (N/A, 26), (N/A)
   (5725 - 5875 @ 80), (N/A, 20), (N/A)



actually looks very interesting

but that's just one 80 mhz block, it's all the same....
there are 6 80 Mhz blocks in total:

36-48
52-64
100-112
116-128
132-144
149-161

https://i.ytimg.com/vi/8O_CIIldnWs/maxresdefault.jpg

therefore you should also test the other blocks

Quote:
test channels 36 / 52 / 100 / 116 / 149


test channels 36 / 52 / 100 / 116 / 132 /149


or as BLKT noted, maybe just reset the router.

You should actually do this with the stock firmware before flashing DD-WRT and again after flashing.
Better safe than sorry ...



I will try these different channels.. and see if I can get anything..

I am thinking of getting a Wifi 6 card.. to replace the Killer.. but unsure if it will work with inbuilt antennas or if I need to fit more.

AX200 or AX210 would be better?
ho1Aetoo
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2019
Posts: 848
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Mar 10, 2021 19:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
The intel cards actually work, at least the 8265/9260 (which I have myself).
With the cards are without problems 500Mbit (in the same room) possible

but, please post more information "Status > WLAN" the settings under the stock firmware would also be interesting (basic and advanced settings)


So as I said test the other blocks....
If that doesn't work either, you have to measure directly between router and client.

Possibly this is not a WLAN problem but like in the linked thread a WAN > WLAN Problem.
Nuor
DD-WRT User


Joined: 20 Apr 2015
Posts: 94

PostPosted: Wed Mar 10, 2021 19:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
Just for comparison.
R9000 - r45928

5g - clear channels no interference. I believe I'm on vht80 channel 100+6 and nearest neighbor is on 87. 100% signal quality. 3 meters from router.
ack900

my tablet gets about 280mb/sec
my phone gets about 105mb/sec
ho1Aetoo
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2019
Posts: 848
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Mar 10, 2021 19:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
@Nuor

and the WLAN data of the devices ?

smartphone on 2,4GHz with 20Mhz (smartphones are mostly fatchannel intollerant) - number of antennas ?
tablet on 5ghz 80Mhz - how many antennas?

What says "status > WLAN" ?
There are the link rates of the Clients below
spreng
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Mar 2021
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Wed Mar 10, 2021 19:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ok.. So.. this is what i find on the router/stock

Can't find the page you mean.. maybe a different menu
ho1Aetoo
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2019
Posts: 848
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Mar 10, 2021 19:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
2,4Ghz:

40Mhz
channel 4 + upper

5ghz

80+80
channel 36 + 106 + UU+6

are now at least the channel settings with the stock firmware (According to status)

in the settings it says something else but well
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 1667
Location: Illinois Moderator

PostPosted: Wed Mar 10, 2021 20:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
I still can't believe how people miss the stickied "QCA BEST WIFI SETTINGS" topic at the top of the Atheros forum.


I own a R9000 and all the settings in that sticky are the ones I use (I made that sticky); with the recent exception of the new drop down for vanilla QCA drivers or DD-WRT drivers to be used for the specific radios.

I am in the process of making new pictures for the sheeple to follow; but, in the mean time- USE THE LINK IN MY SIGNATURE AND FOLLOW ALL THE SETTINGS IN THE PICTURE EXACTLY....

The exceptions right now are:

    1.U-ASPD is garbage on the router and doesn't seem to work at all so keep that feature off for both radios.

    2.ACK Timing =900 for both radios

    3.For Beacon interval, use 300 and DTIM =1 for both radios.

    4.For the 2.4ghz radio use Vanilla only and NG-Mixed (5ghz I'm using DD-wrt, but Vanilla s/b ok too)

*All other settings are mission critical to assure your clients connect at the highest MCS rate. Don't deviate from what's in the pictures.

_________________
FORUM RULES

TIPS/TRICKS: Best QCA Wifi Settings | Latency tricks | QoS Port priority | NEVER USE MU-MIMO |
Why to NOT use MU-MIMO | Max Wifi Pwr by Country | Linux Wifi Pwr | AC MCS & AX MCS | QCA 5Ghz chnls to use | WIFI Freq WIKI | TFTP R7800 | Don't buy AX | IPERF3 How-To

[R9000]47449 nightly (Main Router)
[EA8500]43192 & 45493 (2xOffsite)
[R7800]napping
[WDR3600]BS 44715 (Offsite)
[A7v5]BS 43038 (Offsite+spare napping)
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7493
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Mar 10, 2021 23:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
Edited by moderator. The comments are being presently discussed off-line. Steps underway to improve the wiki and best settings sticky. "Slamming" without any evidence/data is not appropriate.

edit: nice censorship, there was no slamming or insults. typical forum mods i guess.. but whatever, figure out the settings urself since clearly they "know everything"

_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S)

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

[x86_64] Haswell i3-4150/QCA9984/QCA9882 ------> r47183 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------------------------> r47461 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 --------------------------> r46350 std
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 ----------------------------> r46329 std


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway.. | I love you Anthony.. never forget that.. my other 99% ill never see again..


Last edited by tatsuya46 on Sat Mar 13, 2021 0:09; edited 1 time in total
ho1Aetoo
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2019
Posts: 848
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Mar 11, 2021 8:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
msoengineer wrote:
I still can't believe how people miss the stickied "QCA BEST WIFI SETTINGS" topic at the top of the Atheros forum.


I own a R9000 and all the settings in that sticky are the ones I use (I made that sticky); with the recent exception of the new drop down for vanilla QCA drivers or DD-WRT drivers to be used for the specific radios.

I am in the process of making new pictures for the sheeple to follow; but, in the mean time- USE THE LINK IN MY SIGNATURE AND FOLLOW ALL THE SETTINGS IN THE PICTURE EXACTLY....

The exceptions right now are:

    1.U-ASPD is garbage on the router and doesn't seem to work at all so keep that feature off for both radios.

    2.ACK Timing =900 for both radios

    3.For Beacon interval, use 300 and DTIM =1 for both radios.

    4.For the 2.4ghz radio use Vanilla only and NG-Mixed (5ghz I'm using DD-wrt, but Vanilla s/b ok too)

*All other settings are mission critical to assure your clients connect at the highest MCS rate. Don't deviate from what's in the pictures.


1. is not enabled anywhere on any of the screenshots
2. has already been recommended in this way, apart from that other values also work
3. 100 million routers all work wonderfully with a beacon interval of 100
4. we also already had
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 1667
Location: Illinois Moderator

PostPosted: Thu Mar 11, 2021 15:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
ho1Aetoo wrote:

3. 100 million routers all work wonderfully with a beacon interval of 100


Most routers in the world are indeed using 100 and DTIM of 2...

this means 200 time units between beacons....

That doesn't necessarily mean that it's the best or right value to use. Shorter multiples of time units yields less battery life because the client is always replying back to the beacon.... Additionally, VAP's using atheros require that you use at least 100 time units between beacons. anything shorter won't work and the VAP won't broadcast. BS has hard baked a special check to assure if a beacon interval shorter than 100 is set- it will be overridden.

Here is my source for suggesting the 300 TU beacon interval & DTIM=1:
https://www.7signal.com/news/blog/controlling-beacons-boosts-wi-fi-performance

And Yet, there's this article that says to keep it at 100 tu's no matter what...
https://www.intuitibits.com/2017/08/28/honey-shrunk-beacon-interval/#:~:text=The%20IEEE%20802.11%20standard%20defines,102%2C400%20%C2%B5s%20(102.4%20ms)

I have not found any clients that don't like 300 TU's... I have exchanged PM's where prime number beacons cause issues, so that theory is going to be yanked from the wiki soon when I get around to editing it again.

The fact remains. boosting the beacon to 300 should have no detrimental affect on a client and should help boost the client's battery drain from the wifi.

While this Applies to Bluetooth the same principles apply for wifi:

But here is how it looks to the router when you physically move and have the various beacon intervals:


So, you can see that having a super short beacon interval is not really useful and setting it between 300 and 600 is a happy "split the difference" solution. This is what ultimately led me to use the values I am suggesting.

I am open to anyone challenging this stance with actual white papers, articles, studies, etc.

All I know is that using a longer beacon stopped noise ("pulse") created by "smart" appliances from taking down the wifi radios temporarily on a A7v5, R7800, and R9000 in my house when those appliances are turned on.

I am certainly willing to play around more...maybe a beacon of 100 and dtim=3 will yield stable results...can't test until late night, though.

_________________
FORUM RULES

TIPS/TRICKS: Best QCA Wifi Settings | Latency tricks | QoS Port priority | NEVER USE MU-MIMO |
Why to NOT use MU-MIMO | Max Wifi Pwr by Country | Linux Wifi Pwr | AC MCS & AX MCS | QCA 5Ghz chnls to use | WIFI Freq WIKI | TFTP R7800 | Don't buy AX | IPERF3 How-To

[R9000]47449 nightly (Main Router)
[EA8500]43192 & 45493 (2xOffsite)
[R7800]napping
[WDR3600]BS 44715 (Offsite)
[A7v5]BS 43038 (Offsite+spare napping)
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 2 of 3
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum