YAMon 3.4 - usage monitoring for your router

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> General Questions
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 41, 42, 43
Author Message
Crohnenberg
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Feb 2021
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Feb 01, 2021 13:47    Post subject: Exclude/separate Local Network Traffic? Reply with quote
Hi yall! I just installed YAMon on my router this past week and have straightened out the small issues I've had, but I something I haven't been able to figure out is if there's a way for YAMon to take the local traffic and either display it, or subtract it from the total?

Comcast is rolling out a data cap for me in the next month or so and I wanted to get an idea of what each device consumes and see if Comcast is accurate. I noticed yesterday on the daily usage chart that my Apple TV used several gb of data despite it only being used for streaming from my internal Plex server. I looked at the chart(attached) and see there is a local network row, but it only has - for the values.

Is this a quirk with this specific version? Am I missing some setting somewhere?

While <3Gb isn't much, it wasn't a heavy day for watching and I worry about this adding up on a particular heavy day or with 4k movies.

Upon further testing this morning playing a 4k movie, it is NOT counting the local data, so no issue here, I jumped to conclusions. but still would be curious as to why the local traffic is blank.



yamon2.PNG
 Description:
 Filesize:  36.54 KB
 Viewed:  951 Time(s)

yamon2.PNG


Sponsor
ukchris
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Jul 2016
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Feb 01, 2021 16:41    Post subject: Re: Exclude/separate Local Network Traffic? Reply with quote
Crohnenberg wrote:
Hi yall! I just installed YAMon on my router this past week and have straightened out the small issues I've had, but I something I haven't been able to figure out is if there's a way for YAMon to take the local traffic and either display it, or subtract it from the total?


I have been trying to install YAMon and failing miserably, would you mind if I asked a couple of questions?

I copied install.sh to my router but a) I cannot access /opt (will not let me cd etc) and b) if I try to run install.sh it says file not found, if I try "bash install.sh" it tells me there's an error int he script. ANy help would be much appreciated!
ukchris
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Jul 2016
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Feb 01, 2021 18:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
So I may have got closer with YAMon - or I may have screwed it, we'll see. Under /mnt (my USB drive) I created an opt dir, copied the installer to it and ran it there, all seemed to go well.

I *think* YAMon is running, if I look under /opt/YAMon4/ there are lots of files, under /opt/YAMon4/www/ there is what looks like a master web page, what I don't understand is how I access the reports?

I have tried http://10.0.0.1/user/index.html and http://10.0.0.1/yamon/ as well as a few variations I dreamt up, some redirect me back to the router admin page others give me a 404. On an ASUS-Merlin router what is the correct way to access the YAMon data?

Chris.
ddaniel51
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2013
Posts: 1432

PostPosted: Sat Feb 06, 2021 4:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
Read this page:

https://usage-monitoring.com/installv4.php

_________________
Segment 0 Cisco RV340 Dual WAN router
Segment 1 R9000 10Gb LAN, 1Gb ISP BS
Test Bed R9000 AP 10Gb LAN
Wired AP 1 Unifi Wifi 6 LR US 1Gb LAN
Wired AP 2 Unifi Wifi 6 LR US 1Gb LAN
Wired AP 3 Unifi UAP AC PRO 1Gb LAN
Test Bed R7800 1Gb LAN OpenWRT Kong
DHCP & Syslog Services Asustor 7010T NAS 10GB
NetGear XS716T 10GB Switch
download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/ (Brain Slayer)
www.desipro.de/openwrt/ (Kong's)
YAMon
https://usage-monitoring.com/index.php
FlaParrotHead
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Nov 2020
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sun Feb 21, 2021 17:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
viking2 wrote:
I would like to monitor my kids' web usage. They use school chrome books and I am not able to install software or modify their connection to use a proxy (e.g. so that I could install a local proxy server).

I have a Linksys WRT-1900ACS with original firmware. If I install DD-WRT firmware and YAMon, would I be able to:

Monitor which websites have they have visited, when and how long (daily reports).
For example:
8/29/20:
A. Local IP= 192.168.2.35 (=Kid-1): youtube.com total 3 hrs 15 min
10:15 - 12:15
13:00 - 14:15
etc

B. Local IP= 192.168.2.40 (=Kid-2): roblox.com total 2 hrs 0 min
15:00-17:00
etc...


I am also looking to see if there are any tools, services, etc that provide detailed traffic/website/server monitoring at the router level... I would think many may be interested.

_________________
Linksys WRT3200ACM
Firmware Version: DD-WRT v3.0-r45993 std (03/12/21)
FlaParrotHead
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Nov 2020
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sun Feb 21, 2021 18:07    Post subject: Website down? Reply with quote
I am trying to access usage-monitoring.Com to learn about the app and what it offers but keep getting server not responding.... anyone having similar issues? Thanks!
_________________
Linksys WRT3200ACM
Firmware Version: DD-WRT v3.0-r45993 std (03/12/21)
bushant
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Nov 2015
Posts: 1567
Location: WCentral Indiana USA

PostPosted: Sun Feb 21, 2021 18:22    Post subject: Re: Website down? Reply with quote
FlaParrotHead wrote:
I am trying to access usage-monitoring.Com to learn about the app and what it offers but keep getting server not responding.... anyone having similar issues? Thanks!

Works for me!

_________________
STUBBY DoT install guide----Forum Guide Lines (Please read!) --- How to get help the right way----PIA Setup Guide by egc----
gLeW
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Feb 2008
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2021 0:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
The Help page its not working when you click on any link dont show anything

https://usage-monitoring.com/help/
gLeW
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Feb 2008
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2021 0:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
Can some one tell me how i can fix this

The Total Traffic don't measure anything.

And all the traffic is going to the router.

I have ipv6 disable.

Thanks



Screenshot_24.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  20.31 KB
 Viewed:  558 Time(s)

Screenshot_24.jpg


salzrat
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 Dec 2014
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Sun Mar 07, 2021 1:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
I got yamon to work just fine, but the "Get Key" button doesn't work.

Is there still active development?

It would be great if the various columns could be sorted, not only in the device tab, but also in the other tabs, so one can quickly check who is using most bandwidth.
mac913
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 02 May 2008
Posts: 1623
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Tue Mar 09, 2021 18:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
salzrat wrote:
I got yamon to work just fine, but the "Get Key" button doesn't work.

Is there still active development?

It would be great if the various columns could be sorted, not only in the device tab, but also in the other tabs, so one can quickly check who is using most bandwidth.


It's very disappointing that Al just abandoned YAMON. Even the site help page has removed the answers to all those questions.

YAmon is a great add-on that Al gave us for FREE, I have donated to this cause since it was nice program I liked using. If you have been a DD-WRT long time user, people's lives change and unable to continue their Great Work. Maybe someone be able to keep YAMon alive or something similar.

I am happy with YAMon v3.4.6 and I wish if there was a way to use the "Get-Key" locally on the router's /opt drive.

Take-care Al!

_________________
Home Network on Telus PureFibre - 10GbE Copper Backbone
2x R7800 - Gateway & WiFi & 3xWireGuard - DDWRT r46329 Std
R7000 - Wired ISP 4K IPTV Gateway - DDWRT r44483 Std

Off Site 1

R7000 - Gateway & WiFi & WireGuard - DDWRT r44483 Std
WRT610Nv1 - Client Bridge - DDWRT r33679 Mega K2.4

Off Site 2

R7000 - Gateway & WiFi - DDWRT r44483 Std
E2000 - Wired ISP IPTV PVR Blocker - DDWRT r35531


YAMon 3.4.6 | DNSCrypt-Proxy V2
salzrat
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 Dec 2014
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Tue Mar 09, 2021 19:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
Does anybody have any idea how the "data at router" is calculated? It always shows up as "-" for me (row header: "br-lan"), so the difference is always the total traffic.

My wan traffic goes through eth1.
ddaniel51
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2013
Posts: 1432

PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2021 3:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
salzrat wrote:
Does anybody have any idea how the "data at router" is calculated? It always shows up as "-" for me (row header: "br-lan"), so the difference is always the total traffic.

My wan traffic goes through eth1.


That calculation is PFA (Pure Flippin Al).
My router collects everything on eth0 (10GB SFP main network) adds it to vlan1 (router lan ports), calls it br0 (bridge0) and runs it thru the works to vlan2 WAN port. There is always a minor difference and it gets ignored with 30 devices of all kinds on the network. Turn it off and you won't miss anything. Wink

_________________
Segment 0 Cisco RV340 Dual WAN router
Segment 1 R9000 10Gb LAN, 1Gb ISP BS
Test Bed R9000 AP 10Gb LAN
Wired AP 1 Unifi Wifi 6 LR US 1Gb LAN
Wired AP 2 Unifi Wifi 6 LR US 1Gb LAN
Wired AP 3 Unifi UAP AC PRO 1Gb LAN
Test Bed R7800 1Gb LAN OpenWRT Kong
DHCP & Syslog Services Asustor 7010T NAS 10GB
NetGear XS716T 10GB Switch
download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/ (Brain Slayer)
www.desipro.de/openwrt/ (Kong's)
YAMon
https://usage-monitoring.com/index.php
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 41, 42, 43 Display posts from previous:    Page 43 of 43
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> General Questions All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum