AsRock G10 DEAD / BRICKED - HELP NEEDED

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4
Author Message
Seroczynski
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Nov 2018
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Wed Jan 08, 2020 19:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
Going to see if anyone still reads this thread and uses this router Very Happy I've bricked my G10 during a webupdate to a nightly from last week and finally got everything to setup a serial connection.

I've identified and connected the cables to my serial (to USB) cable and configured a physical connection to my (Windows 10) computer. But even when I configure PuTTY to use the proper COM port (3 in my case), 8N1 and no-flow control, I get some garbled data in my console. I've tried several speeds as suggested in this thread (57600, 38400, 19200, 115200)

I've bricked it by power cycling after about 15 minutes of updating during the webgui.

Any advise is appreciated, but I think I should be on the lookout for another router.
Sponsor
szyper
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Nov 2007
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Wed Jan 08, 2020 19:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
Did you try to test usb-to-serial with another device? maybe this is the problem of nothing in output?
_________________
(history - DD-WRT v24 RC-7 on Buffalo WHR-HP-G54)
Now load-balancing between dd-wrt/tomato/Rooter/gargoyle on my routers...
asrock g10
Seroczynski
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Nov 2018
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Wed Jan 08, 2020 19:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
I've switched TX and RX and now I suddenly do manage to get in. The next step is to get that "img2.bin" fixed, or to find out what to try and send to my router using tftpboot.
vyrgozunqk
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 Jun 2017
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun Jan 19, 2020 13:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
hey guys, so is there a way to return to stock by flashing the stock firmware directly from dd-wrt (but by just using the img2.bin) ? Without any need of TTL connection Question
staijzzz
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Feb 2020
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Mar 05, 2020 8:14    Post subject: Thank you Reply with quote
Hi people. Thank you for this topic. I saved my router with the instructions. Some aspects were not explained here, probably due to the fact that it is too obvious.
So for al the de-brick noobs:

1. Use the power source of the router due the whole process
2. Press on/off button if you want to start communicate with the router
3. Use a network cable from your computer to one of the 4 ports of the router
4. close the complete firewall of your computer. It dislikes the TFTPboot application.
CeeDeeKay
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 May 2020
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu May 14, 2020 9:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi everyone,

This seems to be a very old topic... but I guess I have to try my luck.
I've received a G10 (flashed with DD-WRT) and tried to flash it back to the stock firmware (via GUI). Of course, resulting in the G10 becoming a very light paper weight.

I believe I've tried everything mentioned here in order to recover the router... however everything failed.
I cannot fully eliminate that, at this late night session, I've introduced a typo, potentially erasing something important on the G10.

After loading the (adjusted) image via TFTP, erasing/writing nand and resetting the device, I am getting the following output:

Code:

U-Boot 2012.07 [Standard IPQ806X.LN,r40331] (Jun 22 2015 - 19:44:46)

smem ram ptable found: ver: 0 len: 5
DRAM:  491 MiB
NAND:  SF: Unsupported manufacturer 00
ipq_spi: SPI Flash not found (bus/cs/speed/mode) = (0/0/48000000/0)
128 MiB
MMC:
NAND read from offset 1180000 failed -74
*** Warning - readenv() failed, using default environment

PCI0 Link Intialized
PCI1 Link Intialized
In:    serial
Out:   serial
Err:   serial
cdp: get part failed for 0:HLOS
Net:   MAC1 addr:0:3:7f:ba:db:1
athrs17_reg_init: complete
athrs17_vlan_config ...done
S17c init  done
MAC2 addr:0:3:7f:ba:db:2
eth0, eth1
Hit any key to stop autoboot:  0
MMC Device 0 not found
MMC Device 0 not found
Creating 1 MTD partitions on "nand0":
0x0000048a0000-0x0000078a0000 : "mtd=0"
UBI: attaching mtd1 to ubi0
UBI: physical eraseblock size:   131072 bytes (128 KiB)
UBI: logical eraseblock size:    126976 bytes
UBI: smallest flash I/O unit:    2048
UBI: VID header offset:          2048 (aligned 2048)
UBI: data offset:                4096
UBI error: ubi_read_volume_table: the layout volume was not found
UBI error: ubi_init: cannot attach mtd1
UBI error: ubi_init: UBI error: cannot initialize UBI, error -22
UBI init error 22


Is there maybe a way to write "everything" needed back to the device (data which I of course would need from somewhere)?

I do love me some tinkering... but obviously, this isn't really my cup of tea; however, if anyone has an idea that could help me in getting the G10 back online, it would be much appreciated!

Thanks!
jeeten
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Aug 2020
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon Aug 24, 2020 17:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
Does anyone know if build r44112 (factory-to-ddwrt.bin) is safe to flash to a factory-fresh router?

Is there any way to tell if a firmware will brick the router before the brick occurs?
FireStorm@
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Mar 2018
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Wed Jan 13, 2021 18:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
I can safely say that ANY firmware version can potentially brick your G10. I experienced by myself (sadly). I wanted to perform an update and it got bricked. Same firmware with a different G10 and it worked fine. The more often you upgrade the more it seems to be risky. I never managed more than 3 upgrades without getting a bricked G10.

This router is great but dd-wrt is so buggy on this device.

It is a pitty that there is no better firmware than dd-wrt so far for this great device. Unfortunately, dd-wrt ist simply a buggy firmware, although I loved it from the very beginning and I still do as it is DD-WRT Smile
marivesel
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Jan 2021
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Jan 14, 2021 10:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
I'm having problem connecting with PuTTY to the router, I'm using PL2303TA converter and on Device Manager the port is 115200, 8, N, 1, N
On PuTTY I write 115200 and the COM port of the converter, start the router and I get mostly gibberish text, can't write any code.
Please help? Tried different speeds, but it's only getting worse.
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 6928
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Jan 14, 2021 10:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
The solution is two posts up in this forum:
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=323931

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
OpenVPN Policy Based Routing: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321686
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN Server Setup:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Wireguard Server setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1183135
Wireguard Client setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324624
Wireguard Advanced setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324787
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 6928
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Jan 14, 2021 10:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
If you can provide serial of the bricked router the developers can see what goes wrong and fix that.

Hardware specs are good of this router.

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
OpenVPN Policy Based Routing: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321686
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN Server Setup:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Wireguard Server setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1183135
Wireguard Client setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324624
Wireguard Advanced setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324787
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
marivesel
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Jan 2021
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Jan 14, 2021 11:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
Unfortunately, this does not fix my problem, still the same giberrish text.
Crying or Very sad
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4 Display posts from previous:    Page 4 of 4
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum