Setting up dual WAN

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Advanced Networking
Author Message
djshaw
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Dec 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Nov 24, 2020 23:18    Post subject: Setting up dual WAN Reply with quote
Hi Everyone,

I am working from home much more frequently than I used to. My internet connection is reasonably fast, but reasonably unreliable (disconnecting once or twice a day for 20 minutes or so). I've arranged for a slower backup internet connection to be installed. I am having issues setting up DD-WRT to automatically roll over to the new connection.

I have connected the second modem to port 1 and I've been following the instructions in https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Dual_WAN_with_one_as_standby_backup. I am using dd-wrt v3.0-r28788 std (01/13/16). DD-WRT is running on a WRT1600ac.

I am not confident that the extra vlan has been created successfully.

The commands I executed are:

Code:

root@DD-WRT:~# nvram get vlan0ports
1 2 3 4 5*
root@DD-WRT:~# nvram get vlan1ports
0 5
root@DD-WRT:~# nvram get vlan2ports
root@DD-WRT:~# nvram set vlan0ports="2 3 4 5*"
root@DD-WRT:~# nvram set vlan2ports="1 5"
root@DD-WRT:~# nvram vlan2hwname=et0
root@DD-WRT:~# nvram set wan2_ifnames=vlan2
root@DD-WRT:~# nvram set wan2_ifname=vlan2
root@DD-WRT:~# nvram set wan2_mtu=1500
root@DD-WRT:~# nvram commit
root@DD-WRT:~# ifconfig vlan2 192.168.1.2 netmask 255.255.255.0
ifconfig: SIOCSIFADDR: No such device


I then realized that the second wan will have a dynamic ip address, so I executed:

Code:

root@DD-WRT:~# nvram set wan2_proto=dynamic
root@DD-WRT:~# nvram commit
root@DD-WRT:~# ifconfig vlan2 192.168.1.1 netmask 255.255.255.0
ifconfig: SIOCSIFADDR: No such device


When I go to 192.168.1.1/Vlan.asp, I don't see any of my changes reflected. VLAN 0 has ports 1, 2, 3, and 4. And VLAN 1 is assigned to W. I do not see the VLANs tab under Setup, so I do not know if the output can be trusted. (Perhaps the page only works with the mega build of dd-wrt?).

The second wan is a dsl connection. I have set it to bridge mode, but I haven't set the pppoe credentials on it yet. I have given the modem a static ip address of 192.168.1.2. DD-WRT is running on 192.168.1.1. The primary WAN is a cable modem at 192.168.100.1.

I am not very familiar with networking, though I am a software developer, so I am comfortable in a linux shell.

In case it is useful:

Code:

root@DD-WRT:~# ifconfig vlan2
ifconfig: vlan2: error fetching interface information: Device not found

root@DD-WRT:~# ifconfig
ath0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr C0:56:27:BB:9C:35
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:5416 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:12793 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:1111369 (1.0 MiB)  TX bytes:13347006 (12.7 MiB)

ath1      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr C0:56:27:BB:9C:36
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:174 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:1489 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:36065 (35.2 KiB)  TX bytes:314720 (307.3 KiB)

br0       Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr C0:56:27:BB:9C:34
          inet addr:192.168.1.1  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:9390 errors:0 dropped:493 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:10547 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:1597124 (1.5 MiB)  TX bytes:14717884 (14.0 MiB)

br0:0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr C0:56:27:BB:9C:34
          inet addr:169.254.255.1  Bcast:169.254.255.255  Mask:255.255.0.0
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1

eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr C0:56:27:BB:9C:34
          inet addr:(redacted)  Bcast:(redacted)  Mask:255.255.255.224
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:39998 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:6400 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:532
          RX bytes:15932215 (15.1 MiB)  TX bytes:1301701 (1.2 MiB)
          Interrupt:194

eth1      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr C0:56:27:BB:9C:34
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:4586 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:4059 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:532
          RX bytes:993140 (969.8 KiB)  TX bytes:2613931 (2.4 MiB)
          Interrupt:195

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:65536  Metric:1
          RX packets:1 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:1 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:76 (76.0 B)  TX bytes:76 (76.0 B)


I am trying to determine how I can setup vlan 2 correctly.

I would appreciate any insight or help that anyone could provide.

Thanks
Sponsor
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 6929
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2020 8:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
First of all your build is really old.

WRT1600ac what kind of router is that, I can not find it in the supported devices database?

It seems like it is Atheros/Qualcomm or Linksys/Marvell, the instructions you have are for broadcom.

To get the best out of DDWRT and the forum, read and follow the forum guidelines:
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
OpenVPN Policy Based Routing: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321686
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN Server Setup:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Wireguard Server setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1183135
Wireguard Client setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324624
Wireguard Advanced setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324787
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
djshaw
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Dec 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Nov 26, 2020 15:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
I will update the build. It had been relatively stable so I didn't want to take the risk of updating if I didn't need to.

The WRT1900ac entry in the supported devices database is https://dd-wrt.com/support/router-database/?model=WRT1900AC_v1.

It is indeed a Linksys device with a Marvel chipset. When I authored the post, I was unaware of the differences between Broadcom and Marvell.

Separate from dd-wrt, I have been having issues putting my dsl modem in bridge mode. I will have to resolve those problems before I can progress with configuring my router.

Thank you for your assistance. I greatly appreciate it.
blkt
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2019
Posts: 2030

PostPosted: Thu Nov 26, 2020 17:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
Your AC model number is v1 and not v2 correct? Check model no. on bottom label or sticker, upper right.

https://download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/2020/08-02-2020-r44048/linksys-wrt1900ac/

https://download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/2020/08-02-2020-r44048/linksys-wrt1900acv2/

There are also ACS (v1) and ACS v2.

https://download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/2020/08-02-2020-r44048/linksys-wrt1900acs/

https://download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/2020/08-02-2020-r44048/linksys-wrt1900acsv2/
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Advanced Networking All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum