Bricked my DIR-615 E3?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Author Message
mike20599
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Nov 2020
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Nov 17, 2020 19:21    Post subject: Bricked my DIR-615 E3? Reply with quote
I did the peacock reset, then went through the D-Link GUI to try to upload the newest version of the DD-WRT firmware. The D-Link GUI would not accept it though, saying it was invalid or corrupt. Then I found this post saying someone had success with an older version, 21061, so I tried that and the D-Link GUI accepted it. It gave me a 70 second countdown or so to wait until it was installed. But since then I have been unable to access my router anymore through the browser with the address 192.168.0.1, which I was using previously. I tried 192.168.1.1 also, but that did not work either. Resetting the router does not seem to help either. Any ideas? Am I bricked?

Edit #1: I noticed that a new WiFi network appeared named "dd-wrt" just appeared! When I connect to it, I can see the dd-wrt GUI if I go to 192.168.1.1 in my browser, but only when I'm connected to the dd-wrt over WiFi. How can I connect to it over a cable? I want to update the firmware to the latest DD-WRT.

Edit #2: I had to change my network adaptor IPv4 settings back to automatic, now I can access the DD-WRT gui from 192.168.1.1.

Edit #3: I tried to upgrade the DD-WRT firmware from the old 21061 version to the newest version, so I uploaded it through the DD-WRT GUI and everything seemed fine, but now I can no longer connect to my router. I thought I had it, but now it seems I am bricked again. Sad
Sponsor
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7444
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Tue Nov 17, 2020 22:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
Peacock thread is historical and applies to Broadcom MIPSR1 devices, mostly. Someone with one of these can probably chime in, but here's the wiki:

https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/D-Link_DIR-615_rev_E3

Here's the most recent firmware:

https://download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/2020/11-15-2020-r44809/dlink-dir615e3/

But you can't use the factory-to-dd image from that folder, the latest you can use for initial flash is:

https://download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/2017/10-17-2017-r33525/dlink-dir615e3/

_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
Wildlion
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 24 May 2016
Posts: 917

PostPosted: Wed Nov 18, 2020 0:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
Try reading this thread:
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=326731
ian5142
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 23 Oct 2013
Posts: 2156
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sun Nov 22, 2020 4:18    Post subject: D-Link Recovery Room Reply with quote
It is very hard to fully kill these devices.

I have several versions of the 615. Recovery is best by using Firefox Portable 13. I also use a serial, USB-TTL, connection to see what the router is doing (not necessary but helpful).

Modern versions of Chrome, Firefox, IE, Edge, etc will not work. The D-Link recovery room has a broken webpage.

_________________
Before asking a question on the forums, update dd-wrt: Where do I download firmware? I suggest reading it all.

Some dd-wrt wiki pages are up to date, others are not. PM me if you find an old one, I am trying to update them.

Atheros:
Netgear R7800 - gateway, DHCP, QoS, VPN
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 x2 - WDS AP, WDS Station
TP-Link TL-WDR3600 v1 - WDS Station
TP-Link 841nd v8 - WDS Station
D-Link 615 C1 x 4 - not used
D-Link 615 E3 x 2 - not used
D-Link 825 B1 - WDS Station
D-Link 862L A1 x2 - WDS Station
Netgear WNDR3700v2 - WDS Station
UBNT loco M2 x2 - airOS

Broadcom
Asus N66U - backup Gateway
Netgear r6300 v1 - AP
Linksys E2500 - not used
Linksys EA2700 - not used
Linksys 160N v3 x2 - not used
Netgear WNDR3700v3 - not used
MediaTek
UBNT EdgeRouter X - not used
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7444
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sun Nov 22, 2020 8:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
There's a workaround somewhere in the forum for that, even to use the last version of IE, I just don't have the link handy.
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum