5ghz wifi not visible to devices

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.)
Author Message
Leigh0274
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Jul 2017
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat Jul 22, 2017 17:26    Post subject: 5ghz wifi not visible to devices Reply with quote
I installed WRT-DD onto my Linksys WRT1900acs, not 2.4ghz is visible by devices but 5ghz is not visible to devices, reverted back to stock firmware and both are visible so has to be something about WRT-DD
Sponsor
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7221
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Sat Jul 22, 2017 18:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
Most likely your settings while on dd-wrt, since you don't give any info, we will assume it's user error.
_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
Leigh0274
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Jul 2017
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat Jul 22, 2017 18:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sorry, new to all this had it set the same.

Network mode: Mixed
Security Mode: WPA2 Personal
Channel Width: 50MHz
Channel: 165 - 5.825GHz

Hope. This is enough info
myersw
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Jun 2006
Posts: 1609
Location: SE Michigan USA

PostPosted: Sat Jul 22, 2017 18:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
I would start with say channel 36 and see if that works. I have also had issues with the 5GHz not showing up on devices at first. If I change the channel from say 36 to 149 then things work fine. Can then change to whatever channel I want then. It is like the 5GHz needs a little kick that first time. I usually use 149.
_________________
Unifi Security Gateway: Unifi Firmware
Netgear r7800: Voxel Firmware
Modem:Netgear CM500V voice and Data.
ISP:Comcast
tutorial for flashing "WRT" series:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=287813
DD-WRT Installation, Upgrade & Basic Setup–Cliff Notes:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=311117
Kong DD-WRT Config Tutorial:
http://www.instructables.com/id/Install-and-Configure-a-DD-WRT-Kong-Router/
I tried to be normal once. Worst 2 minutes ever.
Leigh0274
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Jul 2017
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat Jul 22, 2017 19:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi, reloaded and set to channel 36 and bobs your uncle it is now viable, but if I change it if disappears again. Grrr this is a pain
Leigh0274
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Jul 2017
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat Jul 22, 2017 19:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
Right going up through the channels, I can get it to work up to channel 140, after that it disappears, strange but is working thanks myersw
myersw
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Jun 2006
Posts: 1609
Location: SE Michigan USA

PostPosted: Sat Jul 22, 2017 19:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
Glad you have it working. Don't know what country you have the router set to. Is is possible that the higher channels are not allowed where you are? As an example 142 up are not allowed in Japan.

Keep in mind that the client also enters into this. Router could be broadcasting, but the client does not listen on the selected channel.

_________________
Unifi Security Gateway: Unifi Firmware
Netgear r7800: Voxel Firmware
Modem:Netgear CM500V voice and Data.
ISP:Comcast
tutorial for flashing "WRT" series:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=287813
DD-WRT Installation, Upgrade & Basic Setup–Cliff Notes:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=311117
Kong DD-WRT Config Tutorial:
http://www.instructables.com/id/Install-and-Configure-a-DD-WRT-Kong-Router/
I tried to be normal once. Worst 2 minutes ever.
fced
DD-WRT User


Joined: 04 Apr 2009
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Wed Nov 04, 2020 21:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
I got the same problem, it seem the router or may be the computer don't support automatic channels on ath1 (5ghz/Ac).
After I read your topic I set it to something around 50 and it worked perfectly, I can see the two hot spot (if it is the correct term)
Thank you
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.) All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum