Create VLan eth with Tp-Link 841 v 9

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
Frakko
DD-WRT User


Joined: 06 May 2016
Posts: 403

PostPosted: Mon Oct 26, 2020 8:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
Alozaros wrote:
Frakko wrote:
The tp-link 841 is now obsolete.
What is the minimum reliable unit to have VLANs and OpenVPN support Question


hmmm, what about managed switch with VLAN support, have a look at Netgear switch range...there are some for 20-30 dollars/ponds/euro...


otherwise...
blkt wrote:
In my opinion R7800 is the standard followed by EA8500 or R7500v2.


For example which swicth Netgear models are good Question
They obviously don't run OpenVPN Question
Sponsor
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 4393
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Mon Oct 26, 2020 9:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
Frakko wrote:
Alozaros wrote:
Frakko wrote:
The tp-link 841 is now obsolete.
What is the minimum reliable unit to have VLANs and OpenVPN support Question


hmmm, what about managed switch with VLAN support, have a look at Netgear switch range...there are some for 20-30 dollars/ponds/euro...


otherwise...
blkt wrote:
In my opinion R7800 is the standard followed by EA8500 or R7500v2.


For example which swicth Netgear models are good Question
They obviously don't run OpenVPN Question


nope, switch is for VLAN's... OpenVPN needs a CPU power, so those x3 routers above will do, but the one that you started with (TP-link 84xx) does not have any of those requirements you stated later.... Rolling Eyes

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 -----DD-WRT 46949 BS AP,NAT
TP-Link WR740Nv4 -----DD-WRT 44251 BS WAP/Switch
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---DD-WRT 46885 BS AP,NAT,AP Isolation,Ad-Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---DD-WRT 46949 BS AP,NAT,AD/Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---Gargoyle OS 1.12.0 AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas
Qualcomm/IPQ8065
Netgear R7800 -----DD-WRT 46949 BS AP,NAT,AD-Block,AP&Net Isolation,VLAN's,Firewall,Local DNS,DoT
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 -----DD-WRT 46949 BS AP,Wi-Fi OFF,NAT,AD-Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,VLAN's,DoT,VPN
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stubby for DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 by mac913
Frakko
DD-WRT User


Joined: 06 May 2016
Posts: 403

PostPosted: Mon Oct 26, 2020 16:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yes I know. Wanting to replace it I try to find a router that has these characteristics, I have read the suggested ones that are not very cheap. If I have to settle for only VLans, in practice I would have the same functions as the 841, which netgear switches do you recommend?
Thank you.
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 4393
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Mon Oct 26, 2020 18:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
Netgear ProSAFE Plus GS105Ev2 / Gigabit switch, are those i use for SOHO applications... 5 or 8 ports... all they have a basic VLAN and speed limit...quite cheap for 5 port switch...there are different versions of those v2 and v3 are the last if im not wrong...
_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 -----DD-WRT 46949 BS AP,NAT
TP-Link WR740Nv4 -----DD-WRT 44251 BS WAP/Switch
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---DD-WRT 46885 BS AP,NAT,AP Isolation,Ad-Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---DD-WRT 46949 BS AP,NAT,AD/Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---Gargoyle OS 1.12.0 AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas
Qualcomm/IPQ8065
Netgear R7800 -----DD-WRT 46949 BS AP,NAT,AD-Block,AP&Net Isolation,VLAN's,Firewall,Local DNS,DoT
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 -----DD-WRT 46949 BS AP,Wi-Fi OFF,NAT,AD-Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,VLAN's,DoT,VPN
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stubby for DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 by mac913
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 8998
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Tue Oct 27, 2020 16:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
Alozaros wrote:
Netgear ProSAFE Plus GS105Ev2 / Gigabit switch, are those i use for SOHO applications... 5 or 8 ports... all they have a basic VLAN and speed limit...quite cheap for 5 port switch...there are different versions of those v2 and v3 are the last if im not wrong...


I have a comparable TP-Link 8-port. Both are decent managed switches for the price, and capable. Still got to get everything wired in, other things took priority. Trying to get rid of the powerline adapters for good.

_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines & Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum. ---------------------- Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
Goto page Previous  1, 2 Display posts from previous:    Page 2 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum