3200acm Routing to vlans help needed.

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.)
Author Message
creizlein
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Mar 2008
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sun Oct 18, 2020 2:55    Post subject: 3200acm Routing to vlans help needed. Reply with quote
Hello everyone,
I have read a lot of posts about vlans on Marvel boards and followed SurprisedItWorks thread on how to setup vlans, and I believe have done it, but i am having troubles routing to my newly created vlan2 now (or im just an idiot)

Scenario: (omitting 192.168)
My router and all my network is at .0.0/24 , router ip is .0.1
Port 4 of the switch is connected to another switch that has .1.0/24 , and i don't want that network to reach any of my hosts, but I need to reach them.

I then crated a vlan3 to isolate port 4 on the switch, and that seems to be working, port 1/2/3 are still bridged on vlan1, wan is working properly on vlan2 and vlan3 only has port 4 (hardware port 0) isolated.

Code:
swconfig dev switch0 set reset 1
swconfig dev switch0 set enable_vlan 1
swconfig dev switch0 vlan 1 set ports "6 1 2 3"
swconfig dev switch0 vlan 2 set ports "5 4"
swconfig dev switch0 vlan 3 set ports "6t 0"
swconfig dev switch0 set apply
vconfig set_name_type VLAN_PLUS_VID_NO_PAD
vconfig add eth1 3
ifconfig vlan3 up


Now I guess that I'm missing some routing information so hosts in br0 (which has router ip 0.1) can reach hosts, specifically .1.1 and .1.2 on the vlan3 network
From the ddwrt itself i can ping 192.168.1.2 without problems, and its reaching the entire .1.0/24 as desired, i just need to be able to do the same from hosts on my lan .0.0/24

I tried adding vlan3 a ip on that network, but still no luck
Code:
ifconfig vlan3 192.168.1.250 netmask 255.255.255.0


I then tried adding some manual routes but I am not getting it to work.

Code:
route add -net 192.168.1.0 gw 192.168.1.250 netmask 255.255.255.0 dev br0


Any help please?


Last edited by creizlein on Sun Oct 18, 2020 5:06; edited 1 time in total
Sponsor
creizlein
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Mar 2008
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sun Oct 18, 2020 5:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
Little update
I was able to reach .1.0/24 network from the router if I untag the port 0 on the vlan 3, I actually edited the original post to simplify.

Now i just need to reach .1.0/24 from the br0 or lan
plawer
DD-WRT User


Joined: 11 Aug 2019
Posts: 156

PostPosted: Sun Oct 18, 2020 19:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
Did you set up any bridge for your VLAN 3?

Is there any net isolation set up?

_________________
Linksys: Several WRTxx00AC variations | Netgear: 4x WNDR4500v2, 7x WNDR4300, R6400v1 | Asus: 2x RT-AC66U | Gl.inet: 3x GL-AR150
creizlein
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Mar 2008
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sun Oct 18, 2020 19:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
plawer wrote:
Did you set up any bridge for your VLAN 3?

Is there any net isolation set up?


Not at the moment. I did try to setup net isolation from the gui bit didn't make any difference as well as bridge. I tried creating a br1 and adding eth1 and vlan3 but that didn't work. I did tried to add vlan3 to existing br0 bridge which would think it worked but nope. It didn't
plawer
DD-WRT User


Joined: 11 Aug 2019
Posts: 156

PostPosted: Sun Oct 18, 2020 21:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have it set up with three VLANs connected to separate bridges, and that works, so I am guessing you are missing something. Looking at your commands above, you are not attaching the VLAN to a bridge.

If you look at the screenshots with black background, you can see how I have set up mine. https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1219587

HTH

_________________
Linksys: Several WRTxx00AC variations | Netgear: 4x WNDR4500v2, 7x WNDR4300, R6400v1 | Asus: 2x RT-AC66U | Gl.inet: 3x GL-AR150
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.) All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum