Router and Gateway mode

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Generic Questions
Author Message
swolf58
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Mar 2016
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Tue Sep 29, 2020 14:54    Post subject: Router and Gateway mode Reply with quote
I have read a lot on Operating mode Router mode verses Operating mode Gateway.
I still don't really understand it. In particular there don't seem to be a lot of How to's on Router mode. (That I can find) Certainly those that I can understand.

Currently I have it set up as Gateway mode.

Here is what I have and here is what I want.

I have my router from my service provider. It has Wifi/dhcp.

Currently I have two routers downstream, both connected to the Service provider Gateway, one is DDWRT software the other Dlink. Lets ignore the dlink for the moment.

The DDWRT router I use for VPN and some extra network ports.

What I want out of the DDWRT.
1. For it to be used as a VPN access from outside the world. (which it is now, and working)
2. For the VPN To use the same IP's as the ISP's DHCP.
3. For the router ports whether they be hardwired or wifi to use the same IP's as the Service providers gatway.

So many posts talk about bridging but that is, I think for Wifi <--> Wifi. I dont need that.


What mode do I use and is there a clear how to on how to set up?
I have tried but it I seems there is more to it than just using the dropbox to set it to router mode.

Regards
Sponsor
feliciano
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 24 Oct 2008
Posts: 930
Location: Latin America

PostPosted: Thu Oct 01, 2020 11:24    Post subject: Re: Router and Gateway mode Reply with quote
swolf58 wrote:
I have read a lot on Operating mode Router mode verses Operating mode Gateway.
I still don't really understand it.

Basically, Gateway mode enables NAT (NAPT to be precise), and Router mode not (i.e. relies on a routing table instead of a translation table).
With that been said, you need to think what mode will work best for you (most of the people uses Gateway mode, which is the clasical application for this kind of devices).

_________________
Worked with: WR850Gv2, WHR-HP-G54, WRT54 G/GL/GS, f5d7231-4p, wl-520gU, WRT150N, DIR-400A1, DIR-600B1, WLI-TX4-G54HP, WHR-HP-GN, F7D3301/FD7301, F7D3302/F7D7302, WNR3500Lv2, e1000
swolf58
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Mar 2016
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Thu Oct 01, 2020 23:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thankyou for your answer.

I think i just want a switch. Can I run it as just a switch that supports vpn? And gives me extra ports on my network on the same subnet as the router above it.
feliciano
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 24 Oct 2008
Posts: 930
Location: Latin America

PostPosted: Sat Oct 10, 2020 19:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
A switch is a switch, so it's supposed to support everything. Perhaps you can try to plug the uplink connection to the LAN side of your router (maybe disabling dhcp as well), so you'll gain 3 extra LAN ports (like a switch).
_________________
Worked with: WR850Gv2, WHR-HP-G54, WRT54 G/GL/GS, f5d7231-4p, wl-520gU, WRT150N, DIR-400A1, DIR-600B1, WLI-TX4-G54HP, WHR-HP-GN, F7D3301/FD7301, F7D3302/F7D7302, WNR3500Lv2, e1000
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Generic Questions All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum