Linksys WRT3200ACM as a Repeater Bridge

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.)
Author Message
Linkedout
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Oct 2020
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat Oct 03, 2020 2:47    Post subject: Linksys WRT3200ACM as a Repeater Bridge Reply with quote
Greetings,

I am trying to setup my Linksys WRT3200ACM as a Repeater-Bridge with dd-wrt but the Modes are AP, Client, Client Bridge, Adhoc, WDS Station and WDS AP.

Additionally, can this be done with the 5ghz antennas as well to optimise speed?

Does anyone have a how-to guide?

Many thanks,
Wyatt.
Sponsor
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 6674
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Oct 03, 2020 6:20    Post subject: Re: Linksys WRT3200ACM as a Repeater Bridge Reply with quote
Linkedout wrote:
Greetings,

I am trying to setup my Linksys WRT3200ACM as a Repeater-Bridge with dd-wrt but the Modes are AP, Client, Client Bridge, Adhoc, WDS Station and WDS AP.

Additionally, can this be done with the 5ghz antennas as well to optimise speed?

Does anyone have a how-to guide?

Many thanks,
Wyatt.


Welcome to the forum

You can get the most out of DDWRT and we can give you the best support if you follow the forum guide lines:
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087

Among other things you are posting in the wrong forum.

So please edit you post and give the required information as stated in the forum guidelines.

I will transfer your post to the right forum

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
OpenVPN Policy Based Routing: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321686
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN Server Setup:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Wireguard Server setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1183135
Wireguard Client setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324624
Wireguard Advanced setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324787
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
WENED
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 30 May 2017
Posts: 525
Location: Rural Manitoba

PostPosted: Sat Oct 03, 2020 13:40    Post subject: Re: Linksys WRT3200ACM as a Repeater Bridge Reply with quote
Linkedout wrote:
Greetings,

I am trying to setup my Linksys WRT3200ACM as a Repeater-Bridge with dd-wrt but the Modes are AP, Client, Client Bridge, Adhoc, WDS Station and WDS AP.

Additionally, can this be done with the 5ghz antennas as well to optimise speed?

Does anyone have a how-to guide?

Many thanks,
Wyatt.


Your info is a bit sketchy but I will try to answer you with what info you have supplied.

Repeater-Bridge does not exist on the newer WRT series routers however I believe you can accomplish what you desire with available configurations.

You will note that from my profile I run multiple routers including 3200's. I have done extensive testing and re-configuration over the years and the WRT series work well for my application.

Because you have not provided specific details about your setup I will assume that your Master router is not a Marvell based unit and you plan on using the 3200 as a remote slave. The 3200 can be setup as Client-Bridged and will perform as you require on 5Ghz Channel 100 only (If you don't use a virtual AP, any channel will work). If however your Master is a Marvel you can also opt to use WDS.
The downside to the setup is however that if you extend the 5Ghz with a Virtual AP, you will degrade your throughput by 50%.
In my configuration I don't extend my 5Ghz but use it exclusively for communication between routers. Any devices that require 5Ghz must connect to my Master 3200.

Providing a bit more info about your setup and details about WRT build would be very helpful, as indicated in the Forum guidelines.

_________________
WRT3200acm Master WDS 5GHz 80Mhz CH 36 (+6) r44048
Ath1 2.4Ghz Disabled
99 Static Leases

WRT3200acm r44048 WDS Station 5Ghz
Ath1 AP N/G Mixed Channel 11 HT40

WRT1900Ac V1 5Ghz r44048 WDS Station
(Defective, no 2.4Ghz but 5Ghz works great)

WRT1900AC V1 5Ghz AC 80Mhz WDS Station r44048
2.4Ghz AP Ch1 HT20 Mixed

(SPARE)WRT1900AC V1 r44048 On LAN
5Ghz WDS AP Ch149(+6) 80Mghz
2.4Ghz Ch 6 20Mhz N/G Mixed

WRT1200AC V1 r44048 LAN
2.4Ghz 20Mhz Ch 6 Mixed
5 Ghz 80Mhz Ch 149 (UUU+6) WDS AP

WRT54G DD-WRT v3.0-r37305 micro AP CH 6 Mixed - Not in use

3200 Master -> LAN -> 1200 V1 -> WDS 5Ghz -> 1900 V1 & 1900V1
3200 Master -> WDS -> 3200 Slave
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.) All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum