SFE wont stay enabled

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Advanced Networking
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
magnum226
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Mar 2011
Posts: 58

PostPosted: Mon Aug 31, 2020 14:35    Post subject: SFE wont stay enabled Reply with quote
I am running r44236 on an EA8500 with OVPN client and PBR. I am trying to enable SFE and the GUI will show as enabled after a save and apply. But after a reboot it goes back to disabled. No matter how many times I try, it is always disabling again.

Anyone have an idea why?
Sponsor
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 6171
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Aug 31, 2020 14:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
Are you using QoS? If so that disable it I think because SFE and QoS are incompatible
_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
OpenVPN Policy Based Routing guide: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321686
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN Server Setup:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Wireguard Server setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1183135
Wireguard Client setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324624
Wireguard Advanced setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324787
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
magnum226
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Mar 2011
Posts: 58

PostPosted: Mon Aug 31, 2020 16:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
No - I am not using QOS but I will double check later today that it did not somehow get enabled..
magnum226
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Mar 2011
Posts: 58

PostPosted: Mon Aug 31, 2020 21:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
I verified that QOS is indeed disabled
SurprisedItWorks
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Aug 2018
Posts: 930
Location: Appalachian mountains, USA

PostPosted: Mon Aug 31, 2020 21:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
I noticed the same thing. SFE disables itself, for me in 44048. I don't use QoS either and assumed it was because I recently set up wireguard, just because it was the only recent change when I noticed it. But maybe it's something more interesting!
_________________
Five Linksys WRT1900ACSv2's on 42926, 44048
VLANs, multiple VAPs, NAS, client-mode travel router, OpenVPN client/PBR (AirVPN), wireguard/PBR (AzireVPN), two DNSCrypt servers (incl Quad9) routed through OpenVPN.
magnum226
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Mar 2011
Posts: 58

PostPosted: Mon Sep 14, 2020 18:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
I updated to r44340 on my EA8500 but still cannot get SFE to enable..
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 6171
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Sep 14, 2020 18:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
From cli:
modprobe fast-classifier

Check with lsmod

If this works it looks like something spooky in the gui.

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
OpenVPN Policy Based Routing guide: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321686
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN Server Setup:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Wireguard Server setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1183135
Wireguard Client setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324624
Wireguard Advanced setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324787
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
blkt
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2019
Posts: 1487

PostPosted: Mon Sep 14, 2020 18:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r44251 std (08/27/20)
Time: 11:56:07 up 17 days, 7:18, load average: 0.05, 0.03, 0.00

I've used every build this year, minus r44340, on EA8500 and never experienced this problem (SFE enabled by default).

Maybe it's time for Telnet to "nvram erase && reboot" or hold the reset button for 10 seconds.

Do not restore from a backup, please reconfigure from scratch.

But, egc makes a very good point to manually check first as it may be related to OpenVPN or WireGuard usage.
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 6171
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Sep 15, 2020 7:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
For those who cannot enable SFE do you have an unbridged VAP?
_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
OpenVPN Policy Based Routing guide: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321686
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN Server Setup:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Wireguard Server setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1183135
Wireguard Client setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324624
Wireguard Advanced setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324787
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
magnum226
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Mar 2011
Posts: 58

PostPosted: Tue Sep 15, 2020 10:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
egc wrote:
For those who cannot enable SFE do you have an unbridged VAP?

Yes! 2 of them actually - one on 2.4ghz and one in 5ghz
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 6171
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Sep 15, 2020 10:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks,

Others like @blkt can you test by making an unnbridged VAP net isolation enabled.

It takes some extra Save/Apply also from setup page before it becomes visible that SFE is disabled (or check:
nvram show | grep sfe)

I seem to have the same problem running 44251, but I only have it on my R7800.
My Broadcom R6400 seems not affected (but it is running an experimental DDWRT build)

Strange Question

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
OpenVPN Policy Based Routing guide: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321686
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN Server Setup:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Wireguard Server setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1183135
Wireguard Client setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324624
Wireguard Advanced setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324787
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 6171
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Sep 16, 2020 9:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
i just checked with the spare R7800 running 44374 (alpha)
and setting up an unbriged VAP with its DHCP server resulted in disabling SFE.

It takes some time and you have to Save/Apply also on SEtup tab and refresh so that it becomes visible but
Code:
nvram get sfe
will tell you all, 1 is enabled 0 is disabled.

It might be intentional: services/networking/network.c line 601


It might also happen with other unbridged interfaces


But strange it is especially as I can not reproduce it on broadcom Question

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
OpenVPN Policy Based Routing guide: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321686
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN Server Setup:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Wireguard Server setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1183135
Wireguard Client setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324624
Wireguard Advanced setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324787
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
magnum226
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Mar 2011
Posts: 58

PostPosted: Thu Sep 17, 2020 14:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks for helping troubleshoot this!

So what is next step - do we have a bug since it works with Broadcom but not Atheros?
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 6171
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Sep 17, 2020 16:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have to do some more debugging but that will be next week, after that I will ask BS about it.
_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
OpenVPN Policy Based Routing guide: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321686
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN Server Setup:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Wireguard Server setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1183135
Wireguard Client setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324624
Wireguard Advanced setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324787
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
magnum226
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Mar 2011
Posts: 58

PostPosted: Sat Sep 19, 2020 10:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks - I look forward to what you find
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Advanced Networking All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum