Android Client connect only with HT20 on my TP-Link WDR3600

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Author Message
AndreBerlin
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Apr 2020
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Tue Sep 15, 2020 10:13    Post subject: Android Client connect only with HT20 on my TP-Link WDR3600 Reply with quote
Hello,

My Android Clients connect only with HT20SGI on my TP-Link WDR3600.

My Config:
- TP-Link TL-WDR3600 v1
- Wireless-N+G with only one antenna @150Mbit
- WPA/WPA2 Pesonal with AES
- DD-WRT v3.0-r43261 std (05/26/20)

The smartphone is Samsung A20e. My PC connect with full HT40SGI @ 150Mbit.. MY neighbors smartphone Nokia 1.3 connects also with HT20SGI ..

I tried TKIP algorythm but with no success..

Thanks for help..
Sponsor
ho1Aetoo
DD-WRT User


Joined: 19 Feb 2019
Posts: 330

PostPosted: Tue Sep 15, 2020 12:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
depends on the client, most smartphones only support 20Mhz channel width in 2.4Ghz networks

there are also no tips and tricks, unless you have rooted the phone then you can activate channel bonding under certain circumstances
AndreBerlin
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Apr 2020
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Tue Sep 15, 2020 12:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
hello,

on my huawei router there they connect with HT40 on 2,4GHz but that's MINO..

I have only one antenna and there its may be a client config. Who knows..
ho1Aetoo
DD-WRT User


Joined: 19 Feb 2019
Posts: 330

PostPosted: Tue Sep 15, 2020 13:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
then i have no idea

40Mhz actually work with 1 antenna

40Mhz + 2 antennas = 300Mbit

40Mhz + 4 antennas = 600Mbit

did you set the antenna chain correctly to 1 in the GUI?

It's best to post your WiFi settings - maybe someone will find something there
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 1369
Location: Illinois Moderator

PostPosted: Tue Sep 15, 2020 14:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have two Xiaomi MiPad 4's and they are the only devices that will operate in HT40 on 2.4ghz (Technically, so do my intel wifi cards in laptops, but you have to set them up that way in advanced settings). It seems like depending on what ROM you run and who made the device, some OEM's will enable HT40 (China doesn't seem to care about 802.11 standards all the way...); But, your results may vary and I don't know how to force HT40 on Android (root will be required for sure); forget about it on iOS.

That said, yes, HT40 works on 1x1:1 stream clients. Max speed is 150; or 200 if the client can support qam256 (only the rare qca chips will do 200, most fall back to 150).

That said, just because you connect at 150 doesn't mean you will actually get 150mbps transfer rates. You can expect best results to be 1/3 to 2/3 of that; 80mbps seems to be the real life ceiling limit.

see my signature to read more about wifi.

_________________
FORUM RULES

TIPS/TRICKS: Best QCA Wifi Settings | Latency tricks | QoS Port priority | NEVER USE MU-MIMO |
Why to NOT use MU-MIMO | Max Wifi Pwr by Country | Linux Wifi Pwr | AC MCS & AX MCS | QCA 5Ghz chnls to use | WIFI Freq WIKI | TFTP R7800 | Don't buy AX | IPERF3 How-To

[R9000]44565 nightly (Main Router)
[EA8500]43192 nightly (2xOffsite)
[R7800]napping
[WDR3600]BS 42567 (Offsite)
[A7v5]BS 43038 (Offsite+spare napping)
ho1Aetoo
DD-WRT User


Joined: 19 Feb 2019
Posts: 330

PostPosted: Tue Sep 15, 2020 16:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
well i once activated channel bonding on my pixel 3a - it's relatively easy with Qualcomm devices

Then the phone constantly switched between VHT20 and VHT40

I guess that's because of the many interferences that I have here in the 2.4 GHz band "fat channel intolerant"

I have not yet found out how to deactivate it


But nevermind

2.4Ghz is uninteresting anyway
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7374
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Sep 15, 2020 19:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
fat channel is disabled in ddwrt when set to 40mhz (with dynamic 20/40 its enabled) on the router. stops the router from downgrading to 20mhz but wont stop any specific client. we went through hell years ago with that. (ath9k failed to stop tx dma etc)
_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S)

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

[x86_64] Haswell i3-4150/QCA9984/QCA9882 ----> DD-WRT v3.0-r44627 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r44632 std
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 ------------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r44632 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r44632 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 --------------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r44583 std


If you use DSLReports please enable hi-res bufferbloat.


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 1369
Location: Illinois Moderator

PostPosted: Tue Sep 15, 2020 20:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
tatsuya46 wrote:
fat channel is disabled in ddwrt when set to 40mhz (with dynamic 20/40 its enabled) on the router. stops the router from downgrading to 20mhz but wont stop any specific client. we went through hell years ago with that. (ath9k failed to stop tx dma etc)


Is Fat Channel an old term used by atheros for VHT40 mode?
That is my understanding when G mode was introduced to get 108mbps... by using a 2x2:2 stream device/client

_________________
FORUM RULES

TIPS/TRICKS: Best QCA Wifi Settings | Latency tricks | QoS Port priority | NEVER USE MU-MIMO |
Why to NOT use MU-MIMO | Max Wifi Pwr by Country | Linux Wifi Pwr | AC MCS & AX MCS | QCA 5Ghz chnls to use | WIFI Freq WIKI | TFTP R7800 | Don't buy AX | IPERF3 How-To

[R9000]44565 nightly (Main Router)
[EA8500]43192 nightly (2xOffsite)
[R7800]napping
[WDR3600]BS 42567 (Offsite)
[A7v5]BS 43038 (Offsite+spare napping)
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7374
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Sep 15, 2020 21:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
msoengineer wrote:
tatsuya46 wrote:
fat channel is disabled in ddwrt when set to 40mhz (with dynamic 20/40 its enabled) on the router. stops the router from downgrading to 20mhz but wont stop any specific client. we went through hell years ago with that. (ath9k failed to stop tx dma etc)


Is Fat Channel an old term used by atheros for VHT40 mode?
That is my understanding when G mode was introduced to get 108mbps... by using a 2x2:2 stream device/client


its for N and newer, still around today. its a bit set in beacons by a client to try tell the ap "i dont use ht40, and i want u to disable ht40 on this network, even for those who do support it".

apple devices do this, and intel ones if set in settings (windows). but ap is the boss and can override it which it does, years ago it was set to obey it in driver code (hostapd setting wont work) despite user setting to h40 and not dynamic.

theres the dinosaur https://svn.dd-wrt.com//ticket/4078

_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S)

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

[x86_64] Haswell i3-4150/QCA9984/QCA9882 ----> DD-WRT v3.0-r44627 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r44632 std
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 ------------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r44632 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r44632 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 --------------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r44583 std


If you use DSLReports please enable hi-res bufferbloat.


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 1369
Location: Illinois Moderator

PostPosted: Tue Sep 15, 2020 21:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
For clarification purposes, when you set the router to VHT40 (Technically setting the router to Fat Channel Intolerant = disabled) you are "Forcing" the router to ignore 802.11 rules to "respect" your neighbors and pushing out a 40mhz wide signal. When you use the 20/40VHT dynamic mode, if the router "hears" neighboring routers then it won't let you do VHT40 as to be "neighbor friendly" and will only operate in HT20 mode.


As far as I know, there is no way to force an iOS device to set fat channel intolerant to disabled. On Android, some Chinese OEM's do that automatically cause they don't give an "F" about rules, on most major brands (Samsung, Google, OnePlus, Motorola, etc) they enable fat channel intolerant so you are stuck at HT20 mode in 2.4.

We're beating a dead horse here...there is nothing left to talk about on this subject.

_________________
FORUM RULES

TIPS/TRICKS: Best QCA Wifi Settings | Latency tricks | QoS Port priority | NEVER USE MU-MIMO |
Why to NOT use MU-MIMO | Max Wifi Pwr by Country | Linux Wifi Pwr | AC MCS & AX MCS | QCA 5Ghz chnls to use | WIFI Freq WIKI | TFTP R7800 | Don't buy AX | IPERF3 How-To

[R9000]44565 nightly (Main Router)
[EA8500]43192 nightly (2xOffsite)
[R7800]napping
[WDR3600]BS 42567 (Offsite)
[A7v5]BS 43038 (Offsite+spare napping)
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 3882
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Tue Sep 15, 2020 22:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
on 20HT, with few clients streaming on high speed... expect a lot of lag and shit, as 20HT (G type) capacity goes away quickly, and than 40HT comes to a place, where 2.4Ghz networks can handle more traffic on N type networks...personally i prefer and always choose 40HT on channel 1,6 or 11... 5Ghz AC is shit on range, but has better capacity/bandwidth/speed..and its practically 40HT+40HT or 80HT+80HT, so if you respect the Neighbors.... buy them a cake and wine and still use 40HT..no need to struggle as they wont see any difference anyway...

for example, im here in London, in very congested area, most of the routers around(20-30) are running 2.4Ghz networks at 20/40 or 40HT all use 1,6 or 11... with my router running DDWRT, with decent settings, never had any issues or noticeable complains...

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 -----DD-WRT 44538 BS AP,NAT
TP-Link WR740Nv4 -----DD-WRT 44251 BS WAP/Switch
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---DD-WRT 44627 BS AP,NAT,AP Isolation,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---DD-WRT 44538 BS AP,NAT,AD Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---Gargoyle OS 1.12.0 AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas
Qualcomm/IPQ8065
Netgear R7800 -----DD-WRT 44538 BS AP,NAT,AD-Block,AP&Net Isolation,VLAN's,Firewall,Local DNS,DoT
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 -----DD-WRT 44538 BS AP,Wi-Fi OFF,NAT,AD-Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stubby for DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 by mac913
ho1Aetoo
DD-WRT User


Joined: 19 Feb 2019
Posts: 330

PostPosted: Wed Sep 16, 2020 9:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
well if you live in an apartment building and have 20-30 2.4ghz wifi around you, then it is questionable why you use 2.4ghz at all

there are 2 interference-free 40mhz blocks (1-5 and 9-13)

2.4 GHz has a better material penetration - so the neighbors 2-3 floors further still interfer your wlan

as a result, there are loads of collisions and poor throughput

in the 5ghz wlan you have up to 6 interference-free 80mhz blocks depending on the region

This makes it possible in apartment building that the immediate neighbors all use different interference-free 80mhz blocks

and neighbors who are further away don't really bother you

I have at least 300 Mbit in the whole apartment and that partly through 3 walls
So the 5ghz range is not that bad, but it depends on the structural conditions

Reinforced concrete and underfloor heating provide good RF shielding

in larger apartments / single houses you have to use 2-3 5ghz routers

for that you get a fast WLAN that has no problem with 20mbit video streaming ..


but everyone as he thinks
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 3882
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Wed Sep 16, 2020 17:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
yep with stock router firmware, there is a lot of a drama, but with DDWRT i've never had a single complain, i can see a full speed on my ISP plans always...
for example my Intel laptop card connects at 300Mbit 2x2 when tested my routers on 1Gig pipe, i had almost 240Mbit on my 1043v2(SFE on) and 290-300Mbit on R7800 using channel 11 and 40HT Wink short GI, short preamble, domain Canada, noise reduction, no RTS/CTS and threshold..no beam forming any kind..bacon interval set to 100...

I use 2,4Ghz only couse, its more convenient for everyone that uses my routers...and dont have a Gig pipe on my ISP contracts...anywhere...so, no need of 5ghz at the moment , at all...

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 -----DD-WRT 44538 BS AP,NAT
TP-Link WR740Nv4 -----DD-WRT 44251 BS WAP/Switch
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---DD-WRT 44627 BS AP,NAT,AP Isolation,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---DD-WRT 44538 BS AP,NAT,AD Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---Gargoyle OS 1.12.0 AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas
Qualcomm/IPQ8065
Netgear R7800 -----DD-WRT 44538 BS AP,NAT,AD-Block,AP&Net Isolation,VLAN's,Firewall,Local DNS,DoT
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 -----DD-WRT 44538 BS AP,Wi-Fi OFF,NAT,AD-Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stubby for DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 by mac913
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum