Slow Connection

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
Welshchris
DD-WRT User


Joined: 05 May 2010
Posts: 115

PostPosted: Thu Sep 10, 2020 3:28    Post subject: Slow Connection Reply with quote
Ive started to use my Netgear Nighthawk R8000 again and i've flashed the latest version of DDWRT to it.

Problem is i have a 500MB Fibre connection but cannot get more than 260mb from it on a speedtest.

Anyone have any ideas what it can be?

Im new to DDWRT.
Thanks
Sponsor
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 1413
Location: Illinois Moderator

PostPosted: Thu Sep 10, 2020 3:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
enable the shortcut forward engine; but kiss any q.o.s bye bye... can't run both options concurrently...

otherwise, you've maxed out that router and cpu performance wise.

your other option is to go back to stock and pray it's stable...

_________________
FORUM RULES

TIPS/TRICKS: Best QCA Wifi Settings | Latency tricks | QoS Port priority | NEVER USE MU-MIMO |
Why to NOT use MU-MIMO | Max Wifi Pwr by Country | Linux Wifi Pwr | AC MCS & AX MCS | QCA 5Ghz chnls to use | WIFI Freq WIKI | TFTP R7800 | Don't buy AX | IPERF3 How-To

[R9000]44711 nightly (Main Router)
[EA8500]43192 nightly (2xOffsite)
[R7800]napping
[WDR3600]BS 42567 (Offsite)
[A7v5]BS 43038 (Offsite+spare napping)
Welshchris
DD-WRT User


Joined: 05 May 2010
Posts: 115

PostPosted: Thu Sep 10, 2020 3:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
I dont use QOS.

How would i have maxed out the router ive done nothing except upgrade its firmware.
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 1413
Location: Illinois Moderator

PostPosted: Thu Sep 10, 2020 4:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
Because dd-wrt doesn't do hardware NAT so it consumes more CPU than stock firmware which can do hardware NAT and so you're limited in throughput. This is why you enable SFE on the main setup tab.
_________________
FORUM RULES

TIPS/TRICKS: Best QCA Wifi Settings | Latency tricks | QoS Port priority | NEVER USE MU-MIMO |
Why to NOT use MU-MIMO | Max Wifi Pwr by Country | Linux Wifi Pwr | AC MCS & AX MCS | QCA 5Ghz chnls to use | WIFI Freq WIKI | TFTP R7800 | Don't buy AX | IPERF3 How-To

[R9000]44711 nightly (Main Router)
[EA8500]43192 nightly (2xOffsite)
[R7800]napping
[WDR3600]BS 42567 (Offsite)
[A7v5]BS 43038 (Offsite+spare napping)
Welshchris
DD-WRT User


Joined: 05 May 2010
Posts: 115

PostPosted: Thu Sep 10, 2020 23:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sorted, I reset the firmware using the button again and flashed to the latest version and then once again did a reset.

I then set to what settings i wanted and did a speedtest on speedtest.net and im getting around 510 - 517mb/s.

Very happy with that speed.

Thanks.
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 1413
Location: Illinois Moderator

PostPosted: Fri Sep 11, 2020 3:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
With or without SFE turned on?

What build did you load?

_________________
FORUM RULES

TIPS/TRICKS: Best QCA Wifi Settings | Latency tricks | QoS Port priority | NEVER USE MU-MIMO |
Why to NOT use MU-MIMO | Max Wifi Pwr by Country | Linux Wifi Pwr | AC MCS & AX MCS | QCA 5Ghz chnls to use | WIFI Freq WIKI | TFTP R7800 | Don't buy AX | IPERF3 How-To

[R9000]44711 nightly (Main Router)
[EA8500]43192 nightly (2xOffsite)
[R7800]napping
[WDR3600]BS 42567 (Offsite)
[A7v5]BS 43038 (Offsite+spare napping)
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum