TEW-828DRU - tftp firmware recovery

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
penguinpages
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Feb 2018
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Thu Sep 03, 2020 2:15    Post subject: TEW-828DRU - tftp firmware recovery Reply with quote
With new life working at home, with kids, I have a need to resurect my router project. I purchased 2 x TEW-828DRU and attempted to change the fireware for DDWRT. The one I had mostly programmed but with VLAN change I got it stuck and during reconfig got it like second one.. which .. does not boot to any system.

This means both routers boot: four pings... then go dark.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Reply from 192.168.10.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=100
Reply from 192.168.10.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=100
Reply from 192.168.10.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=100
Reply from 192.168.10.1: bytes=32 time=3ms TTL=100
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.

I am able to with the help of website push firmware to the units:
tftp -i 192.168.10.1 put trendnet-828dru-webflash.bin
Transfer successful: 14520340 bytes in 28 second(s), 518583 bytes/s

I checked database and even tried pushing Trend's image to it.. it takes image.. but after 30:30:30... does not post correctly.

I also tried renaming image to "code.bin" again.. it uploads but no change in post.
tftp -i 192.168.10.1 put code.bin
Transfer successful: 14520340 bytes in 28 second(s), 518583 bytes/s

Both units doing same thing. So. I am at least failing consistently. Any hope or suggestions for resurrection of these units?

Thanks in advance.
Sponsor
penguinpages
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Feb 2018
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Tue Sep 08, 2020 12:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
Seeing as their is no response on how to change method of tftp flash recovery process.. Is their a means to boot some tiny linux off usb... perminently.. or just temporarily to review flash space on board?
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7246
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Tue Sep 08, 2020 14:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
These things are a pain in the ass. Don't do the 30/30/30. For one, it's a BCM4709 (ARM)...

https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=314674

https://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=288702

https://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1046681#1046681

https://www.google.com/search?q=tew-828dru+dd-wrt+site:forum.dd-wrt.com

_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
penguinpages
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Feb 2018
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Tue Sep 08, 2020 20:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks for response. I think I have a better baseline on this unit.

To get it to go into the lower level boot flash mode:

Power off:
Hold reset.. and power on... while holding reset
20 sec..

That gets you to boot mode where 192.168.10.1 responds (four pings unless you catch and push tftp.


I am not sure cycle that the router does after that stage.. so I leave it alone for 30 min or so to see if it has to build some kind of initrd img. But no change.

I have tried various image:
trendnet-828dru-webflash_20161215beta.bin
trendnet-828dru-webflash_20181231.bin
dd-wrtfw_tew-828dru_v1(v3-r27490)->ddwrt from trend site
fw_tew-828dru_v1(1.0.9.0)-> trend image

But no change.

What I think I don't know.. is post image load.. how to get it back to "normal boot".

I also would like to feel in the know that these files I upload .. like many other switch vendors expects a explicit file name "code.bin" or a path to that the primary boot file. Or change of bit to change boot mode / file.

On these more simple switch devices and without serial console, its hard to debug. Hoping someone in community knows boot process or means to poke it to get it to take that image.

PS: For what it is worth.. attached is image of 1Gb nic with static IPs bound 192.168.10.10/24 and secondary on same interface 192.168.1.10/24 with pings and showing successful code upload.

!!!!!PICTURE REMOVED BY MODERATOR FOR VIOLATION OF WIDTH REQUIEMENTS!!!!!
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7246
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2020 0:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
Static IP on client, possibly try using a dumb switch in between router and client on wired ethernet.
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
penguinpages
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Feb 2018
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2020 0:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
Not sure if that is a statement, suggestion or comment.

If your question is why LAN looks a bit odd. My laptop I run demos from and so bind HyperV switch in bridge mode to the 1Gb Interface.

Yes I tried it direct via unbinding but no change.

I was just conveying that I bind both IP of flash and target for dd-wrt to same 1Gb interface with ping -t so I can see if it comes up without having to change NIC settings during attempt cycles.
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7246
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2020 0:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
Set static IP on client, insert a dumb switch between client and router. Try that. Also, using a VM is possibly also a factor. Try using your native OS, not a VM.
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
penguinpages
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Feb 2018
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2020 2:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
I do appreciate help.. I did note "Yes I tried it direct via unbinding but no change."

What that meant is a laptop I unbound and brought it down to NIC -> Router LAN port 1 (as simple as it gets)

thernet adapter Ethernet:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::187f:2800:ea51:2c8a%33
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.10
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.10.10
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

PS C:\temp> copy .\trendnet-828dru-webflash_20181231.bin code.bin
PS C:\temp> tftp -i 192.168.10.1 put .\code.bin
Transfer successful: 14733332 bytes in 30 second(s), 491111 bytes/s
PS C:\temp>

<wait 15 min for .. meh.. intird maybe?>

power cycle..

No change.


I wish I knew more about what gets this router out of "recover mode" .. typically recovery mode kernel is micro backup boot space.. but you would have to change mode / boot bit / order for it to revert to the "normal" kernel. Is that some kind of reset+ power + holy water dashing three times process?
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7246
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2020 2:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
Why do you have two IPv4 addresses? Default DD-WRT IPv4 address is 192.168.1.1 ... not sure what firmware is on it now or your router's configuration, but it seems like something ain't right.
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
penguinpages
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Feb 2018
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2020 12:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
Two IPs bound to same nic is just convenience of not having to unbind and rebind during firmware. They are on seperate LANs so it should nto matter.

But ... I did remove that.. flash.. transfer was accepted but still no change.
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7246
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2020 13:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
TFTP recovery usually only accepts firmware that contains a header with device information. So, stock firmware would probably be the only way to recover AFAIK. I don't have one of these to be sure. I don't know why there is only a webflash file. Again, these just seem to be a complete pain in the ass, and nobody else seems to be offering any guidance.
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum