r7800 QoS speeds halved [SOLVED]

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
CrasH_CTB
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Jul 2020
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Wed Jul 29, 2020 17:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
I initially tried 90% of my upload and download so I put 450000bps and 45000bps. But it seems that it maxed out my cpu on router and speeds drop under half (below 250-200mbps). That is my my current set up was at 200mbps and 30mbps.

Yep my provider is shitty Vodafone, DOCSIS 3.1, modem is set up in bridge mode so my r7800 should be doing NAT.

With ACK RST ICMP on and everything else off. HFSC FQ_CODEL_FAST and 400000/30000 I am getting 211mbps/28mbps. So still same results.
Sponsor
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 5703
Location: Akershus, Norway

PostPosted: Wed Jul 29, 2020 18:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
What is your CPU settings on the router?

I have good experience with 800 Mhz on demand and a threshold of 35.


for CPUFREQ in /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu*/cpufreq/scaling_governor; do [ -f $CPUFREQ ] || continue; echo -n ondemand > $CPUFREQ; done
echo 35 > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpufreq/ondemand/up_threshold
ho1Aetoo
DD-WRT User


Joined: 19 Feb 2019
Posts: 271

PostPosted: Wed Jul 29, 2020 18:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
BS once said that in his current builds the performance governor is always active and the CPU is always running at full speed

you can't get more out of it anyway
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 5703
Location: Akershus, Norway

PostPosted: Wed Jul 29, 2020 19:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
I don't think it's CPU related, but the fact that DOCSIS is a shared media. The throughput changes with the traffic generated by your neighbours.
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7342
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Jul 29, 2020 19:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
looks like k4.x is still crap on ipq806x.. well if u want better qos perf ull have to go to an (now old) kong build or scrap the r7800 for an x86 instead, as BS still maintains that theres "no issue" with ipq806x, i gave up on it months ago.
_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S)

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

[x86_64] Haswell i3-4150/QCA9984/6174 ---> DD-WRT v3.0-r44112 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r44148 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r44148 std
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 ------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r44148 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 -------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r44048 std


If you use DSLReports please enable hi-res bufferbloat.


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
CrasH_CTB
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Jul 2020
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Wed Jul 29, 2020 20:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
Per Yngve Berg wrote:
I don't think it's CPU related, but the fact that DOCSIS is a shared media. The throughput changes with the traffic generated by your neighbours.

I can definitely feel internet speeds being throttled on weekends evening, when overal usage by nighbours picks.

That being said no matter what I set in my QoS options it instantly drops dead to 200down and 40up MAX. As soon as I turn QoS off it is back to full speed (600down 50up) but with bufferbloat issues.
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 1127
Location: Illinois Moderator

PostPosted: Thu Jul 30, 2020 1:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
What happens on HTB and PIE? Those consume the least CPU...maybe will bump qos speed throughput by allowing more free cpu resources?

Post your TOP screen capture from telnet or ssh session.
compare top results during download portion using the above and then using HFSC and FQ_Codel... not the fast.

do at least three-five tests back to back to get an average cpu and speed test results. watch the latency too... see which of the two above yield lower ping latency.

_________________
TIPS/TRICKS: Best QCA Wifi Settings | QCA WIFI WIKI | Latency tricks | QoS Port priority | NEVER USE MU-MIMO |
Why to NOT use MU-MIMO | Max Wifi Pwr by Country | Linux Wifi Pwr | AC MCS & AX MCS | QCA 5Ghz chnls to use | WIFI Freq WIKI | TFTP R7800 | Don't buy AX | IPERF3 How-To

[R9000]43874 nightly (Main Router)
[EA8500]43192 nightly (2xOffsite)
[R7800]taking a nap
[WDR3600]BS 42567 (Offsite)
[A7v5]BS 43038 (Offsite+spare here napping)
CrasH_CTB
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Jul 2020
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Thu Jul 30, 2020 18:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
msoengineer wrote:

Post your TOP screen capture from telnet or ssh session.
compare top results during download portion using the above and then using HFSC and FQ_Codel... not the fast


You will need to be more specific with this request since I don't really know what should I be posting exactly.
I did set up a ssh connection with putty and publickey autentication succesfully, but I don't know what should I do next?

Also with dslreports and QoS on with 400mbps/40mbps:
-HTB and PIE 286mbps/29mbps with A+/A+/A+ rating.
-HFSC and FQ_CODEL 194mbps/34mbps with A+/A+/A+ rating.
With QoS off:
- 379mbps/50mbps with A+/A/A+ rating (it is evening).
- during day i get usually up to 600mbps/51mbps with A+/B or C/A+ rating.
ho1Aetoo
DD-WRT User


Joined: 19 Feb 2019
Posts: 271

PostPosted: Thu Jul 30, 2020 19:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
Quote:
With QoS off:
evening 379mbps/50mbps with A+/A/A+
daytime i get usually up to 600mbps/51mbps with A+/B or C/A+


is not really worded intelligibly

1st letter is the bufferbloat
2. The packet retransmissions are somewhere on an internet router
3. is the target speed that you can set yourself on DSL reports

so "A+/C/A+" means

A+ top Bufferbloat (no QoS needed)
C Quality is shit (somewhere on the long route, packets are dropped *mostly happens with overloaded internet routers)
A+ irrelevant because you can set the target value yourself


please post the dslreports links so that we can take a look at it ourselves

without QoS
with htb+fq_codel
with htb+pie
with htb+fq_codel_fast

apart from that you can be satisfied with "290Mbit"
The CPU does not do much more and there are no resources left for other things like WLAN at full load
CrasH_CTB
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Jul 2020
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Fri Jul 31, 2020 16:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
ho1Aetoo wrote:


1st letter is the bufferbloat
2. The packet retransmissions are somewhere on an internet router
3. is the target speed that you can set yourself on DSL reports



2nd letter is bufferbloat. Letters are described on dslreports.

With QoS off


HTB and PIE


Dunno what is going on now but dslreports doesnt work for me to well right now. On ovh.com I got 658 mbps down and 37mbps up average with QoS off.
Also I am aware that pings are very high for dslreports and without QoS tested only on 1 stream (so speed is bottlenecked by it). I don't know why I have so high ping towards dslreports.
ho1Aetoo
DD-WRT User


Joined: 19 Feb 2019
Posts: 271

PostPosted: Fri Jul 31, 2020 18:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
well you test with the american servers
test with Amsterdam, that's a little closer

http://www.dslreports.com/speedtest/65054672
http://www.dslreports.com/speedtest/65054629

and please post the complete links, then I don't have to copy the links myself

but Amsterdam is also overloaded

test with 12/8 or 24/8 streams
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 5703
Location: Akershus, Norway

PostPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2020 9:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
Dlsreports is not reliable as only one server in Europe is online.

I get a different result with https://www.speedtest.net
CrasH_CTB
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Jul 2020
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2020 11:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
There was some outage yesterday with dslreports, or overall overload of servers. It usually tests with american servers since more are available and i dont have more than standard 100+ ping on them. It was just yesterday that I had 400+, even on amsterdam.

DSL is still dead for me.

QoS OFF
https://www.nperf.com/r/3269184579177263-WmsDoZxm

QoS ON - HTB FQ_CODEL
- 270/30 mbps https://www.nperf.com/r/3269184889689053-vXxX1B1r
- 450/45 mbps https://www.nperf.com/r/3269186392649550-6T5MLh1M

QoS ON - HTB PIE
- 270/30 mbps https://www.nperf.com/r/3269185260517971-TWyHnFEz
- 450/45 mbps https://www.nperf.com/r/3269186679921244-1jyAoUxM

QoS ON - HTB FQ_CODEL_FAST
- 270/30 mbps https://www.nperf.com/r/3269185960048086-GCRdhxU2
- 450/45 mbps https://www.nperf.com/r/3269187132689453-nKUhPA9H

Also I have currently only 5 services priorities ON and eth port priority ON (1st port maximum - my main pc, rest 3 ports set to standard).

TCP-Packets are all off right now should I prioritize any of them?
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7342
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2020 19:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
CrasH_CTB wrote:

TCP-Packets are all off right now should I prioritize any of them?


all. they are tiny packets but have a large effect on throughput, responsiveness, and latency

_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S)

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

[x86_64] Haswell i3-4150/QCA9984/6174 ---> DD-WRT v3.0-r44112 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r44148 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r44148 std
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 ------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r44148 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 -------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r44048 std


If you use DSLReports please enable hi-res bufferbloat.


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
CrasH_CTB
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Jul 2020
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2020 9:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
I did a little read up on those packets just wasn't sure if I want to prioritize any above another one.

Well as a summary I've ended up on using HTB and CODEL_FAST. Considering that it gives me right now about 400/40 Mbps is probably about how much I can get from my current hardware. Thanks you very much for all the helpful responses and hopefully this topic will help any new users as well. Wink
CHEERS ALL!!!

One last question - I would like to mark my post as solved I am dummy and can't see option to do it or find a way to edit post topic to ad solved at the front.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 2 of 3
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum