Static IP and gateway noob questions

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
coletrain
DD-WRT User


Joined: 01 Oct 2016
Posts: 163
Location: St.louis, MO USA

PostPosted: Tue Jul 14, 2020 12:41    Post subject: Static IP and gateway noob questions Reply with quote
Hello. I have been at this a while, but am absolutely a noob. I understand a lot of pieces to this puzzle, but I am missing something vital.

Router assigned static IP vs Windows static IP.

I am currently using DD Wrt to assign a static IP to my computer. (and have been for a long time)

But I am unable figure out how to assign a static IP in windows. I have googled and just can't grasp /figure it out.

-First, you could advise the best choice and why between those.

-Next, on to static IP in windows. I think gateway is my problem. In dd wrt, my gateway field is blank. I looked up my internet ISP and have that. But I am just not sure what to put in windows to get it to work.

Let's say my router is 192.168.1.5
Let's say my dhcp range is 192.168.1.1 + 50.
Lets say I currently have static IP in dd wrt set to 192.168.1.151.

What do I need to figure this out?

Sorry, I have googled and tried and just can't figure it.

_________________
[MAIN GATEWAY] Netgear R7000 DD-WRT v3.0-r43324 std (06/02/20)
[AP1-wired] Asus RT-AC68U - DD-WRT v3.0-r33770M kongac (11/15/17)
[AP2-wired] Asus RT-AC68RDD-WRT v3.0-r33770M kongac (11/15/17)
(switch) 1 AP WRT160N v3 - DD-WRT v3.0-r30731 mini (10/06/16)
==
YOU CAN'T STOP THE COLETRAIN BABY!
Sponsor
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 6944
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Tue Jul 14, 2020 13:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
First Google result:

https://pureinfotech.com/set-static-ip-address-windows-10/

Windows 8.1, 7, XP, 2000, Me, 98*, NT4, 95 ain't much different, nor is any version of Windows Server.

P.S. Your gateway IP is your router's LAN IP (192.168.1.5)

_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
coletrain
DD-WRT User


Joined: 01 Oct 2016
Posts: 163
Location: St.louis, MO USA

PostPosted: Thu Jul 16, 2020 2:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:
First Google result:


P.S. Your gateway IP is your router's LAN IP (192.168.1.5)


Thank you for your response. Typing can come off wrong sometimes but I felt "first Google result" was a bit snarky.

However, your advice about my gateway was good as I was unsure about that, I had tried a few things there. As well as "preferred dns server" I think i tried 192.168.1.1 in one or the other or both, I tried my ISP ip... Quite a few things. I guess I never set them both to 192.168.1.5 (in the example) to get it right. So I thank you, mission accomplished. Up and running now.

_________________
[MAIN GATEWAY] Netgear R7000 DD-WRT v3.0-r43324 std (06/02/20)
[AP1-wired] Asus RT-AC68U - DD-WRT v3.0-r33770M kongac (11/15/17)
[AP2-wired] Asus RT-AC68RDD-WRT v3.0-r33770M kongac (11/15/17)
(switch) 1 AP WRT160N v3 - DD-WRT v3.0-r30731 mini (10/06/16)
==
YOU CAN'T STOP THE COLETRAIN BABY!
coletrain
DD-WRT User


Joined: 01 Oct 2016
Posts: 163
Location: St.louis, MO USA

PostPosted: Thu Jul 16, 2020 2:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
Is there a preferred method?

Setting in router vs in windows? Does it matter?

_________________
[MAIN GATEWAY] Netgear R7000 DD-WRT v3.0-r43324 std (06/02/20)
[AP1-wired] Asus RT-AC68U - DD-WRT v3.0-r33770M kongac (11/15/17)
[AP2-wired] Asus RT-AC68RDD-WRT v3.0-r33770M kongac (11/15/17)
(switch) 1 AP WRT160N v3 - DD-WRT v3.0-r30731 mini (10/06/16)
==
YOU CAN'T STOP THE COLETRAIN BABY!
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 6944
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jul 16, 2020 2:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
Only time you'd need to set gateway address in the router is when it is configured as a switch or wired AP in router mode, OR, when your upstream gateway is not in the same subnet as your wan IP and causes connectivity issues...
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
coletrain
DD-WRT User


Joined: 01 Oct 2016
Posts: 163
Location: St.louis, MO USA

PostPosted: Thu Jul 16, 2020 11:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
Let me rephrase.

What is preferred or recommended concerning static IP:

-setting router to assign the static IP
(services, services in the dd-wrt router)

-or-

-using windows (process above) to set the static IP

***and should you do both, or not?

_________________
[MAIN GATEWAY] Netgear R7000 DD-WRT v3.0-r43324 std (06/02/20)
[AP1-wired] Asus RT-AC68U - DD-WRT v3.0-r33770M kongac (11/15/17)
[AP2-wired] Asus RT-AC68RDD-WRT v3.0-r33770M kongac (11/15/17)
(switch) 1 AP WRT160N v3 - DD-WRT v3.0-r30731 mini (10/06/16)
==
YOU CAN'T STOP THE COLETRAIN BABY!
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 6944
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jul 16, 2020 12:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
You set "static leases" on the router, and "static IP" on the Windows client. Static leases are in the DHCP range of served IP addresses. Static IPs, not so much.
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
coletrain
DD-WRT User


Joined: 01 Oct 2016
Posts: 163
Location: St.louis, MO USA

PostPosted: Thu Jul 16, 2020 17:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:
You set "static leases" on the router, and "static IP" on the Windows client. Static leases are in the DHCP range of served IP addresses. Static IPs, not so much.


I did not "love" my Google results, but let me tell you what I found. Thank you for giving me the correct verbiage to use in my search. And just to clarify, they were calling it "static reservation" and only clarifing to be sure I was reading the right thing.

In short, set a static IP on my server, NAT etc. and use the reservation for everything else, therefore it's easier to controll from one hub, the router.


Thanks again for your help. You have aided me greatly on my journey. I also like your bike shed link in your signature.

_________________
[MAIN GATEWAY] Netgear R7000 DD-WRT v3.0-r43324 std (06/02/20)
[AP1-wired] Asus RT-AC68U - DD-WRT v3.0-r33770M kongac (11/15/17)
[AP2-wired] Asus RT-AC68RDD-WRT v3.0-r33770M kongac (11/15/17)
(switch) 1 AP WRT160N v3 - DD-WRT v3.0-r30731 mini (10/06/16)
==
YOU CAN'T STOP THE COLETRAIN BABY!
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum