Linksys EA6900 stuck in boot cycle

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
unvaare
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Aug 2018
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2020 11:59    Post subject: Linksys EA6900 stuck in boot cycle Reply with quote
Hello everyone!

Till yesterday it was working perfectly fine, after messing up with few configuration i reset the router to default from management page. After that the router keeps rebooting. The light blinks as it used to be till it stabilizes and then reboots again.

I tried 30/30/30 hard reset but that didn't work either, can someone please help me with this :S
Sponsor
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 6944
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2020 18:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
You don't 30/30/30 a Broadcom ARM router. Which firmware did you flash? What revision number?
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
unvaare
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Aug 2018
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Tue Jul 14, 2020 6:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:
You don't 30/30/30 a Broadcom ARM router. Which firmware did you flash? What revision number?

Thanks for your quick reply. I did the dd-wrt 2 years and now since i don't have access to router through web or putty, i am not sure which version it was. I think it was Xvortex CFE, not sure if that helps :/
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 5913
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Jul 14, 2020 7:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
See EA6900 install guide: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=291230#291230

When you use the XVortex CFE you should be able to recover

First start with resetting to defaults by
To reset and clear the NVRAM: power the router off, press and hold the blue WPS button, power on and hold the WPS button for approximately 20 seconds until the Linksys logo starts flashing.

If that does not help use the mini CFE webserver
Read the guide

For posterity just read the forum guide lines:
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
Those will lead you to the supported devices and via that to the install guide, it is as simple as that Smile

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, Netgear R6400v1, Netgear R6400v2, Linksys EA6900 (XvortexCFE), Linksys E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
OpenVPN Policy Based Routing guide: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321686
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN Server Setup:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Wireguard server setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1183135
Wireguard client setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324624
Wireguard Advanced setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324787
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
unvaare
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Aug 2018
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Sat Jul 18, 2020 18:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
egc wrote:
See EA6900 install guide: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=291230#291230

When you use the XVortex CFE you should be able to recover

First start with resetting to defaults by
To reset and clear the NVRAM: power the router off, press and hold the blue WPS button, power on and hold the WPS button for approximately 20 seconds until the Linksys logo starts flashing.

If that does not help use the mini CFE webserver
Read the guide

For posterity just read the forum guide lines:
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
Those will lead you to the supported devices and via that to the install guide, it is as simple as that Smile


I really appreciate your help and extremely sorry for replying so late.

As you suggested to wipe NVRAM, i did try that method and it didn't work. I then tried following recovery method suggested in the following link using Asus Recovery Utility:
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=291230

When I turn on the router with reset button pressed the logo just disappears, I waited for 30+ seconds and it didn't go in recovery/rescue mode (tried multiple times with different duration too). As soon as i release the reset button, it starts booting as it would normally do when powered up and the reboot cycle continues.

I run the ping on it and it gives following pattern:
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Reply from 192.168.1.103: Destination host unreachable.
Reply from 192.168.1.103: Destination host unreachable.

I would really appreciate your help as i am completely noob in routing world.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum