Linksys WRT54GS V5 - LAN and WAN ports not Working

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
smyrna2020
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Jul 2020
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Sat Jul 11, 2020 20:04    Post subject: Linksys WRT54GS V5 - LAN and WAN ports not Working Reply with quote
I followed the steps to install DD-WRT on my router using the instructions here:
https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Linksys_WRT54GS_v5.0_&_5.1_&_6.0
At the last step, after flashing with
12548 Newd_Micro.bin firmware
I noticed I was not able to ping or access the router.
Then I realized I only was able to access through WIFI.
but LAN and WAN ports are not working. I flashed to the latest generic micro Firmware of 6-19-2020, but still LAN and WAN ports did not work. Did a hard Reset and still to no avail. Only able to access through WIFI but LAN and WAN Ports will not work. I read a few post on here to try to solve to no avail. I am about to give up on this router unless a kind soul would help me solve this puzzle. Thanks A lot.


Last edited by smyrna2020 on Sat Jul 11, 2020 21:04; edited 1 time in total
Sponsor
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7460
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sat Jul 11, 2020 20:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
Outside of 30/30/30, did you try resetting to defaults via the webUI in Administration->Factory Defaults ? It would help to know what forum threads you read, I can't just pick needles out of the haystack at random here.
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
smyrna2020
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Jul 2020
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Sun Jul 12, 2020 1:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
This is the post I was looking at to solve my issue but nothing worked.

https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=757147

https://superuser.com/questions/642517/dd-wrt-cannot-see-client-when-using-wired-ethernet

https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=941926


Last edited by smyrna2020 on Sun Jul 12, 2020 18:44; edited 2 times in total
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7460
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sun Jul 12, 2020 1:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
WRT54 uses vlan0 and vlan1, not vlan1 and vlan2. There's a few differences between the E1200 and the WRT54. NOW, that being said, after the VxWorks Killer and initial flash, you could've probably done a reset via webUI and possibly not faced the issue, but there is no guarantee. You may have to see what the nvram variables are and if they are askew:

https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Default_internal_device_network

https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Switched_Ports

https://openwrt.org/toh/linksys/wrt54g

As well as check the webUI for proper port assignments, etc. This is definitely not something normal, it seems.

_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
smyrna2020
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Jul 2020
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Sun Jul 12, 2020 2:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
This is what I got when I telnet to the router and
ran the nvram commands. See pic attached.



IMG_2382.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  121.4 KB
 Viewed:  1908 Time(s)

IMG_2382.jpg


kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7460
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sun Jul 12, 2020 2:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
What does the Setup->Switch Config tab in the WebUI look like? I think you can fix this without doing manual CLI changes. Post a screenshot of that, and please limit your images to 800 pixels wide max.
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
smyrna2020
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Jul 2020
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Sun Jul 12, 2020 15:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
Here is how the switch config looks like:


switch_config.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  87 KB
 Viewed:  1860 Time(s)

switch_config.jpg


arssant
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 Aug 2013
Posts: 145

PostPosted: Sun Jul 12, 2020 15:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
HI.

Just for reference, a working wr54g v2.

Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r43516 std (06/25/20)

Code:
root@DD-WRT:~# nvram show | grep port.*vlans
port5vlans=0 1 16
port3vlans=0
port1vlans=0
port4vlans=0
port2vlans=0
port0vlans=1

root@DD-WRT:~# nvram show | grep vlan.*ports
vlan0ports=1 2 3 4 5*
vlan1ports=0 5

root@DD-WRT:~# nvram show | grep vlan.*hwname
vlan1hwname=et0
vlan0hwname=et0


And your screenshot for switch config is the same as on my G 2.0 version
smyrna2020
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Jul 2020
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Sun Jul 12, 2020 16:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
What commands can I execute to fix the LAN / VLAN configuration?
arssant
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 Aug 2013
Posts: 145

PostPosted: Sun Jul 12, 2020 16:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
smyrna2020 wrote:
What commands can I execute to fix the LAN / VLAN configuration?


Hi..


to modify nvram params:

nvram set field_to_modify=value

ex:

Code:

nvram set vlan1hwname=et0

and for multiple data:

nvram set vlan0ports="1 2 3 4 5*"

for last:

nvram commit ( will keep modifications )
reboot


But as I said for reference only, my own wrt54G v2.0. So keep a note about any option you will modify, in case it goes worse, and you need to revert it.
smyrna2020
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Jul 2020
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Sun Jul 12, 2020 17:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
I executed the commands and now everything looks like your output but still none of the ports work. The only difference I see is in the vlan1ports=4 5 instead of what you have vlan1ports=0 5. See screen shoot .


nvram_output.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  83.11 KB
 Viewed:  1813 Time(s)

nvram_output.jpg


arssant
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 Aug 2013
Posts: 145

PostPosted: Sun Jul 12, 2020 17:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi

still this one:


Code:
root@DD-WRT:~# nvram show | grep vlan.*ports
vlan0ports=1 2 3 4 5*
vlan1ports=0 5   <--------


check these ones to:


Code:
nvram show | grep vlan0

vlan0ports=1 2 3 4 5*
vlan0_bridged=1
lan_ifnames=vlan0 eth1 eth2 eth3
probe_blacklist=vlan0
vlan0hwname=et0

nvram show | grep vlan1

wan_ifname2=vlan1
pppoe_wan_ifname=vlan1
pppoe_ifname=vlan1
wan_default=vlan1
wan_ifnames=vlan1
vlan1hwname=et0
vlan1ports=0 5
wan_iface=vlan1
wan_ifname=vlan1

smyrna2020
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Jul 2020
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Sun Jul 12, 2020 17:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
This is what I get: (see screen shot)


nvram_output6.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  100.09 KB
 Viewed:  1791 Time(s)

nvram_output6.jpg


arssant
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 Aug 2013
Posts: 145

PostPosted: Sun Jul 12, 2020 18:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi.

Modify this one: vlan1ports

Code:
nvram set vlan1ports="0 5"
nvram commit
reboot
smyrna2020
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Jul 2020
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Sun Jul 12, 2020 18:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
I executed and now it shows the same output as yours but I don't see the LAN or WAN ports working. Crying or Very sad


nvram_output7.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  63.98 KB
 Viewed:  1770 Time(s)

nvram_output7.jpg


Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 3
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum