Intelbras WRN 240 Slim (Broadcom) with DD-WRT

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
Valdemir
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Jun 2020
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Mon Jul 06, 2020 15:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:
Was the pc you were using have a 192.168.1.x IP address when you tried to access it at 192.168.1.1?


no, there was no fixed ip because it was in automatic but when I tried to find the default gateway I couldn't go in cmd and typed ipconfig but the router's ip does not appear, I typed any ip to test but the gateway also does not appear
Sponsor
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7213
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Mon Jul 06, 2020 16:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
Try setting a static IP to your PC/laptop of 192.168.1.10, 255.255.255.0 netmask (prefix 24), gateway 192.168.1.1. Try pinging the router @ 192.168.1.1. If you get nothing, then you should sniff packets with wireshark to see if the router is broadcasting anything.

If there is nothing, then it may be time to open up the case and investigate to see if there are any headers, whether or not they are populated with pins. I can help, if you post pictures no larger than 800 pixels wide. I probably need to split the "Slim" discussion to Broadcom forum at some point.

May have to figure out how to TFTP flash back to stock firmware.

_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
Valdemir
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Jun 2020
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Mon Jul 06, 2020 20:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
I configured with the ip, mask and gateway you indicated I went in cmd ping 192.168.1.1 destination host unreachable and packets sent = 4, received = 1 and lost = 3, I decided to change the ip to 10.1.31.56 mask 255.255.255.0 and gateway 10.1.31.1 and the following unreachable destination host appeared and packets sent = 4, received = 4 and lost = 0, I did not use wireshark because I am not aware of the program, I am sending attached photos of the router and also the ping that I performed


20200706_164257.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  540.45 KB
 Viewed:  1203 Time(s)

20200706_164257.jpg



20200706_164241.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  449.08 KB
 Viewed:  1217 Time(s)

20200706_164241.jpg


Valdemir
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Jun 2020
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Mon Jul 06, 2020 20:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ping results


ping 10.1.31.1.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  112.98 KB
 Viewed:  1200 Time(s)

ping 10.1.31.1.png



ping = 192.168.1.1.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  56.79 KB
 Viewed:  1213 Time(s)

ping = 192.168.1.1.png


kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7213
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Tue Jul 07, 2020 2:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
I see test points, I don't think those are for the serial console. May have to pull the board out of the case, if possible and check the underside to see if there is anything.
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
arssant
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 Aug 2013
Posts: 125

PostPosted: Tue Jul 07, 2020 9:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:
I see test points, I don't think those are for the serial console. May have to pull the board out of the case, if possible and check the underside to see if there is anything.


Hi.

Could be. As they claim ( BR ) is a clone of a 741nd. 741nd use these look like test-point TP as well for serial.

https://openwrt.org/_media/media/tplink/tp-link-v2.4-serial-pins.jpg?w=400&tok=e71e46

And as we can see over original tplink 2 TP, on user pic, much more TP are present.
So guessing, not an option, but a multimeter could be useful for the user.
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7213
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Tue Jul 07, 2020 13:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
The device in question is not Atheros, it's Broadcom. But that could be also true on this version of the device. But without seeing the bottom side of the board, I can't be certain. I don't have one of these in hand to check.
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
Valdemir
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Jun 2020
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Tue Jul 07, 2020 14:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:
The device in question is not Atheros, it's Broadcom. But that could be also true on this version of the device. But without seeing the bottom side of the board, I can't be certain. I don't have one of these in hand to check.


Attached is the bottom of the device



20200707_111359.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  263.32 KB
 Viewed:  1220 Time(s)

20200707_111359.jpg


kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7213
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Tue Jul 07, 2020 14:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
Not seeing anything that stands out. It will require a multimeter to figure out which test points would possibly be able to be used as a serial header. You would need to know which one is a direct link to the negative power supply / ground point. Then, you would need to find which one is the 3.3v point. RX and TX may be tricky to discern.
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
Valdemir
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Jun 2020
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Tue Jul 07, 2020 16:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:
Not seeing anything that stands out. It will require a multimeter to figure out which test points would possibly be able to be used as a serial header. You would need to know which one is a direct link to the negative power supply / ground point. Then, you would need to find which one is the 3.3v point. RX and TX may be tricky to discern.



I can send a bigger picture if you think it is necessary to have more details, I don't have a multimeter and I also believe that it doesn't pay to buy for that purpose and I still don't understand much about it.
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7213
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Tue Jul 07, 2020 18:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
Only thing that would help is having one of those devices in hand to figure out how to connect serial and how to de-brick.
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
Valdemir
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Jun 2020
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Wed Jul 08, 2020 15:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:
Only thing that would help is having one of those devices in hand to figure out how to connect serial and how to de-brick.



right, thanks friend for the help, hugs and stay with God, then I'll see if I can get another router to install the dd wrt
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7213
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Wed Jul 08, 2020 16:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks. If it weren't for possible logistics obstacles, my not being closer to you geographically, I would say send it here. I don't know what is available in your area, but you could probably find a good new or used TP-Link router that may suffice that doesn't cost you too much. I've split and moved the discussion for the slim version to the Broadcom forum so that maybe further discussion can happen.
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
Valdemir
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Jun 2020
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Wed Jul 08, 2020 17:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:
Thanks. If it weren't for possible logistics obstacles, my not being closer to you geographically, I would say send it here. I don't know what is available in your area, but you could probably find a good new or used TP-Link router that may suffice that doesn't cost you too much. I've split and moved the discussion for the slim version to the Broadcom forum so that maybe further discussion can happen.


We are really distant geographically because I am in Brazil, thanks again for the tips and may God bless you, congratulations on the dd wrt project and much success
Valdemir
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Jun 2020
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Wed Jul 08, 2020 20:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
Valdemir wrote:
kernel-panic69 wrote:
Thanks. If it weren't for possible logistics obstacles, my not being closer to you geographically, I would say send it here. I don't know what is available in your area, but you could probably find a good new or used TP-Link router that may suffice that doesn't cost you too much. I've split and moved the discussion for the slim version to the Broadcom forum so that maybe further discussion can happen.


We are really distant geographically because I am in Brazil, thanks again for the tips and may God bless you, congratulations on the dd wrt project and much success


It will be if I can recover the original fimware by the program tftpd32, I do not know the program and I do not know if it is reliable, but there are people who recover the firmware through this program, but some people say that they can only do it with Realtek RTL8186 processor, what is yours opinion?
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 2 of 3
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum