Buffalo WHR-600D

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Ralink SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Author Message
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7260
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Wed Jul 01, 2020 1:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
I am going to presume that the same result would happen with the firmware.uimage file with 43516 via TFTP. Going to link this thread and attach your logs to an email to the developer to see if we can't get this sorted out. Looking at OpenWRT downloads, I have a feeling that the factory firmware may be like TP-Link, OpenWRT-based. Wondering if there is a magic transition build somewhere along the way that is required as a stepping stone. There has been mention in this thread and others about encrypted firmware. Still, the kernel panic in your log file is not a good thing.
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
Sponsor
adrian6275
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 Aug 2013
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Wed Jul 01, 2020 2:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
the kernel panic also happens when trying to update from DDWRT gui r24461 webflash to r43516. so there may be a stepping stone like you said.
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7260
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Wed Jul 01, 2020 4:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
~6 years' worth of firmware images is a lot to go through to find 'the one'. It's still early morning in Dresden, so it will be a bit before I get a reply from the developer. Not sure why you chose firmware(us).bin to TFTP instead of firmware.uimage, but that is what I was suggesting for 43516 to see if it would take. I'm thinking it would be moot if all other methods and files have not worked.
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
adrian6275
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 Aug 2013
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Wed Jul 01, 2020 5:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
in order for me to flash firmware.uimage i had to hook up serial to interrupt the boot up process. every time i flashed firmware-us.bin i use the Buffalo UI. the buffalo UI would not take firmware.uimage it would give me an error message saying "invalid firmware"

When i didnt have the serial connection the only way to restore the router to factory is to hold a AOSS button infront of the router so that it can start to look for a file called "firmware_WHR-600D.ram" which is stock buffalo firmware. at one point i did try to rename firmware.uimage to firmware_WHR-600D.ram but it didnot like that.

since i got the adapter now i was able to flash firmware.uimage r43516 thru the serial terminal however i get the same result
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7260
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Wed Jul 01, 2020 8:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
Quote:
install the working older firmware, do

Code:
nvram set console_debug=1
nvram commit

(via telnet/ssh)
upgrade to newer firmware and show the log again.

_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7260
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Wed Jul 01, 2020 9:20    Post subject: 43625 test image (WORKS!) Reply with quote
Try this firmware image for upgrading from 24461 and report. The issue should be fixed in the next public release.

https://svn.dd-wrt.com/changeset/43638
https://svn.dd-wrt.com/changeset/43640
https://svn.dd-wrt.com/changeset/43641

_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net


Last edited by kernel-panic69 on Wed Jul 01, 2020 13:56; edited 2 times in total
adrian6275
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 Aug 2013
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Wed Jul 01, 2020 13:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
I was able to flash new webflash.bin r43625 and router has been up now for about 10 minutes with no issues.

this bug was in there for a while. i guess this router isnt popular. lol
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7260
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Wed Jul 01, 2020 13:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
Apparently not. Thank you for your help getting this sorted out. I hope that the wi-fi issues that the early builds had are fixed now, too.
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
adrian6275
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 Aug 2013
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Wed Jul 01, 2020 13:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
both radios are broadcasting like they should. thanks for your help
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7260
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Wed Jul 01, 2020 13:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
You're quite welcome, and again, thank YOU! Future releases may have newer wifi drivers, just as an FYI, so feedback in the build release threads would be appreciated Smile
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
adrian6275
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 Aug 2013
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Wed Jul 01, 2020 15:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
ill keep an eye on it for the next few days and report any issue i encounter.

edit:
Some thing Ive notices on virtual all builds, When i used routers as access points. Ill disable Wan, set a static IP,Assign WAN Port to Switch, and set dhcp forwarder to my main router. the time settings will not update the time on the router. ive tried adding different ntp server. enable/dissable NTP Client.
the only way it updates the time is if i use as a router.
Not major just something i saw.
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7260
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Wed Jul 01, 2020 17:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
There's a specific method on how to set it up as a wired access point:

  1. Main Setup Page:

    1. disable WAN
    2. assign WAN port to switch (may or may not work)
    3. set local IP within main router network
    4. set gateway to main router IP
    5. NTP set Time Zone to my local, leave Server IP/Name blank
    6. set DHCP Sever to disabled and uncheck everything under it
    7. Click "Save"

  2. Advanced Networking Page:

    1. set mode to "router"
    2. Click "Save"

  3. Services page:

    1. set Dnsmasq to disabled and uncheck everything
    2. Click "Save"
    3. Click "Reboot"


REF:
https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Linking_Routers
https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Wireless_access_point

_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
adrian6275
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 Aug 2013
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Wed Jul 01, 2020 20:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
all this time. i was just a few extra clicks away. Thanks time is working
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7260
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Wed Jul 01, 2020 20:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
It happens. I have one that I'm about to purge the config mess from via reset to defaults to configure as a managed switch as a stop gap until I get more things done, so I was looking at this information to refresh my memory Wink
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7260
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Fri Jul 03, 2020 10:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have one of these in hand now, and am on the test build I posted. After I did all my configurations - especially for the 5GHz radio - saved and rebooted, the 5Ghz radio is broadcasting, but cannot connect and the settings in webUI are missing. I've emailed the developer about it and he is looking into it. Just wanted to share this in case you ran into the same issue. Hopefully this will be resolved soon enough and I can post another test image.
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 5 of 6
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Ralink SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum