WRT 32x unusal CPU load

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.)
Author Message
Monocle
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Jan 2020
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun Jun 28, 2020 6:42    Post subject: WRT 32x unusal CPU load Reply with quote
Hello,

I have a Linksys WRT32x currently on v3.0-r43443 std (06/17/20).

My issue is that my CPU usage is consistently at 50 percent. Load average is: 1.00, 1.00, 1.00.

This issue has lasted for a few months now and across updated versions of firmware even across NVRAM clearings.

The router is currently functioning as an AP only meaning it's running as a DHCP forwarder.

I am at a loss at this point. If anyone can help this would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Sponsor
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7260
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sun Jun 28, 2020 10:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
This is a known "issue". Check the output of top via ssh/telnet. Not sure why you have dhcp forwarder enabled if it is set up as a wired AP. https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Wireless_access_point
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
SurprisedItWorks
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Aug 2018
Posts: 948
Location: Appalachian mountains, USA

PostPosted: Sun Jun 28, 2020 14:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
To add to kp69's good start here... See recent new-build threads in the Marvell forum. Many are reporting that the GUI says the load is 50% when checking with top verifies that actually the load is very low. The problem is in the reporting, not in the load itself. So no worries really.
_________________
Five WRT1900ACSv2's on 42926, 44048.
VLANs, multiple VAPs, NAS, client-mode travel router, OpenVPN client (AirVPN), DDNS, wireguard server, two wireguard clients (AzireVPN), use of two DNSCrypt DNS providers (inc Quad9) through OpenVPN and wireguard clients.
Monocle
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Jan 2020
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun Jun 28, 2020 22:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thank you guys very much for your replies. I will ignore it since it's a reporting issue. I will check /ssh output when I get home. Also it is set up as a DHCP forwarder as I am using a pfsense firewall as the main routing platform since I have 2 other AP's in my home running on the same DHCP layer.
Yemble
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Feb 2010
Posts: 608
Location: Yorkshire (GOC)

PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2020 11:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
So what particular feature of DD-WRT is causing this?

I never see this issue on my WRT32X, running as a bog standard router, without VPN.

_________________
Linksys WRT32X v1 - r44628
Linksys WRT1900AC v1 - r44628
TP-Link Archer C9 v1 - r44628
Firmware: ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2020/
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7260
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2020 12:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
Good question. On your WRT32X, are you running the ttraf daemon / WAN traffic counter?
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
Yemble
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Feb 2010
Posts: 608
Location: Yorkshire (GOC)

PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2020 15:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:
Good question. On your WRT32X, are you running the ttraf daemon / WAN traffic counter?


You ask like I know what you are talking about Laughing

Like I said, bog standard, Brain Slayer build with nothing fancy added...

I do not use VHT160 and have ATH2 disabled.

Also, I NEVER re-initialise settings, I just upgrade from the previous F/W build, since March 2019 with my WRT32X and MUCH longer on my WRT1900AC. Countless F/W builds applied.

_________________
Linksys WRT32X v1 - r44628
Linksys WRT1900AC v1 - r44628
TP-Link Archer C9 v1 - r44628
Firmware: ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2020/
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7260
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2020 16:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
Services tab, all the way at the bottom. Usually enabled by default. I usually disable it. I think most of the folks having issues are running network attached storage (NAS) with Samba.
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
Yemble
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Feb 2010
Posts: 608
Location: Yorkshire (GOC)

PostPosted: Wed Jul 01, 2020 16:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:
Services tab, all the way at the bottom. Usually enabled by default. I usually disable it. I think most of the folks having issues are running network attached storage (NAS) with Samba.

ttraff and Samba both enabled.

_________________
Linksys WRT32X v1 - r44628
Linksys WRT1900AC v1 - r44628
TP-Link Archer C9 v1 - r44628
Firmware: ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2020/
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7260
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Wed Jul 01, 2020 16:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hmm. So, that leads me to wonder what everyone with this "issue" has configured specifically, and which wireless clients they have connected, etc. Maybe that should be looked at as far as what could be culprit. ALSO, I am wondering if this is a Chromium-based browser being used for the webUI issue. Or accessing the webUI with the same browser as the rest of one's internet traffic issue. Both are suspect.
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
Yemble
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Feb 2010
Posts: 608
Location: Yorkshire (GOC)

PostPosted: Thu Jul 02, 2020 10:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:
Hmm. So, that leads me to wonder what everyone with this "issue" has configured specifically, and which wireless clients they have connected, etc. Maybe that should be looked at as far as what could be culprit. ALSO, I am wondering if this is a Chromium-based browser being used for the webUI issue. Or accessing the webUI with the same browser as the rest of one's internet traffic issue. Both are suspect.

I certainly do not use Chrome on my PCs for anything other than accessing my Synology NAS GUI. However, for router configuration I tend to favor Edge (beta), although I also use Firefox. I have separate SSIDs for my wireless 2.4GHz and 5GHz bands.

All my wireless access is either Windows 10 or Android 7...10 (NO Apple)

Most of my Windows devices are hard-wired (NO Linux).

ISP is VirginMedia 200Mbps circuit.

_________________
Linksys WRT32X v1 - r44628
Linksys WRT1900AC v1 - r44628
TP-Link Archer C9 v1 - r44628
Firmware: ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2020/
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.) All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum