Internet connection disrupted hourly when DDNS is enabled

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
Betty_Nine
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Jul 2017
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Tue Jun 23, 2020 23:55    Post subject: Internet connection disrupted hourly when DDNS is enabled Reply with quote
Hello,

Please help me resolve the following issue:

I have Asus RT-N10U with DD-WRT v24-sp2 (03/25/13) mega installed. I have DDNS client enabled (Inadyn) in the router's settings, which constantly checks up for WAN IP changes and sends the new IP value to dynu.com. The DDNS client works flawlessly, no questions asked.

However, I have a very strange problem: when the DDNS client is enabled, my Internet connection gets disrupted hourly on the 31st minute of each hour (i.e. on 10:31, 11:31, 12:31 and so on). The disruptions take about 1 minute, then the connection restores and works normally for another hour. I have 2 lines in the DDNS client's log (the time changes hourly):

Code:
Tue Jun 23 10:30:59: INADYN: Started 'INADYN Advanced version 1.96-ADV' - dynamic DNS updater.
Tue Jun 23 10:30:59: INADYN: IP read from cache file is 'xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx'. No update required.


Please help to find the cause of these disruptions. I have no Cron jobs running on the 31st minute of the hour. My Inadyn settings (from /tmp/ddns/inadyn.conf) are as follows:

Code:
--background --dyndns_system custom@http_svr_basic_auth -a xxx.xxxxxxx.org --update_period_sec 600 --forced_update_period 864000 --log_file /tmp/ddns/ddns.log --cache_dir /tmp/ddns --exec ddns_success --dyndns_server_name api.dynu.com


My other logs are empty. Please help to identify and solve this issue. Just in case, here is a screenshot with the DDNS client's settings.

Thank you!
Fedor



DDNS - Settings.png
 Description:
DDNS client's settings
 Filesize:  186.61 KB
 Viewed:  981 Time(s)

DDNS - Settings.png


Sponsor
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7178
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Wed Jun 24, 2020 1:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
It looks as if that is updating every 10 minutes by default, and forced update is still the same as it should be, but
you may wish to upgrade to a more recent release (without reset) and test. Not sure you can override the default
10-minute update interval via startup script, that would have to be something to look at as far as how to replace
that line during startup (I am no scripting genius). How often is your WAN IP dhcp release renewed? I don't think
that is involved, but this may also be related to NTP and all the other processes being monitored by the firmware.
I have not looked to see if anyone else has had this issue with such an old build.

I presume you are using the initial K2.6 mega build. I recommend at least upgrading to 35531 or 40723 for K2.6:

https://download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/2018/03-26-2018-r35531/broadcom_K26/

or

https://download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/2019/08-21-2019-r40723/broadcom_K26/

Perhaps you may also get lucky on K2.6 with 41664 so you don't have to worry about the GTK issue:

https://download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/2019/12-06-2019-r41664/broadcom_K26/

Outside of that, it may be worth your while to cross over to K3.x builds at 35531 after updating to the K2.6 build:

https://download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/2018/03-26-2018-r35531/broadcom_K3X/

From there, you should be able to upgrade to 42954 (the last K3.x build with a 3.x kernel):

https://download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/2020/04-20-2020-r42954/broadcom_K3X/

Then upgrade to 43028:

https://download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/2020/04-29-2020-r43028/broadcom_K3X/

And then to the latest:

https://download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/2020/06-23-2020-r43502/broadcom_K3X/

References:

https://wikidevi.wi-cat.ru/ASUS_RT-N10U
https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Asus_RT-N10U
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1202179#1202130
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324506

_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
Betty_Nine
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Jul 2017
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Wed Jun 24, 2020 2:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:
It looks as if that is updating every 10 minutes by default


Thank you for your reply. Honestly, I do not really think that my problem is related to the 10 minute update interval, I think that there must be some other reason.

You see, I thought I had a buggy version of Inadyn in my firmware, so instead of using the built-in DDNS client, I went with using a Cron job invoking Dynu.com's API directly using wget:

Code:
*/5 * * * * root wget -O /dev/null -q "http://api.dynu.com/nic/update?hostname=my_hostname.freeddns.org&myip=`nvram get wan_ipaddr`&myipv6=no&username=my_username&password=my_password"


It works well and does update my IP record every 5 minutes as intended, but after it updated the IP for the first time (it happened on 15:50:06), all further updates made on the 51st minute of each next hour disrupt my internet connection as before Sad

I am really lost here, can't figure out what is my problem.. Possibly Dynu.com sends something back on the 12th attempt to update the IP which makes my router freeze for a minute... Do you have any idea what can it be?

Also, in regard of installing a newer version of DD-WRT on my router: can you please look here (https://dd-wrt.com/support/router-database/?model=RT-N10U_-) - what is the newest and most recent firmware for my ASUS RT-N10U? I am a bit lost because there are so many different versions and releases - where can I find more information about their differences and features?

Thank you!
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7178
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Wed Jun 24, 2020 2:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
I see you completely skipped reading this before looking up your router model on the outdated, unreliable router database:

Quote:
DISCLAIMER

This database may not have up-to-date information and may even recommend a build which might cause issues. As such, you should check the device specific forum (Broadcom, Atheros, MediaTek, etc.) first before flashing any build recommended in this database. There you will find build specific topics that discuss any issues with a particular build/release. For more up-to-date firmware files, please visit the firmware faq.

YOU HAVE BEEN GIVEN FRIENDLY AND FAIR NOTICE


Firmware FAQ

Where Do I Download Firmware?

Also, you asked about your issue with that screenshot, you didn't say that you switched to using a cron job. That may be part of the problem, especially if both configurations are in place.

_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
Betty_Nine
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Jul 2017
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Wed Jun 24, 2020 3:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:
I see you completely skipped reading this before looking up your router model on the outdated, unreliable router database:


I mean I just do not understand the DD-WRT's versioning whatsover(K24 vs K26 vs K3 vs various builds, etc). Also, how come there are ~8MB firmwares for my router which has only 4MB of flash? Maybe you could just refer me to a user-friendly source or suggest the latest firmware version that won't brick my router? (BTW, this is why I am using DD-WRT v24-sp2 (03/25/13) mega - I believe this is the latest version which can be installed on Asus RT-N10U, am I correct?)

In regard of the Cron job - no, you got my wrong, I tried using either the built-in DDNS client or requesting the API directly using a Cron job. In both cases, I begin experiencing hourly disruptions each 1, 2, 3, 4 etc. hour after the very first update of the IP data Sad I suspect the problem has something to do with the DDNS service provider (maybe some unusual API response which causes my router to hang for a minute)..
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7178
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Wed Jun 24, 2020 9:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
Please read the references I linked earlier as well as the information linked in the router database. Also, look at your screenshot in your original post. You are running a mega version, which is for 8MB flash devices. Your RT-N10U is *not* a 4MB flash device. I gave you a path that shouldn't brick you, but there is *always* a chance of bricking with custom firmware and you should *always* have means of recovery, which Asus devices are probably some of the easier to recover routers out there. I do know that there have been patches to inadyn and the rest of the firmware since the version you have installed that may help fix your problems. I understand your concerns, but it's either deal with the connectivity issues or take the risk and upgrade.

https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Asus_RT-N10U

_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
Betty_Nine
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Jul 2017
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Wed Jun 24, 2020 10:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:
Please read the references I linked earlier


Oh, thanks for pointing out RT-N10U is actually a 32MB RAM/8MB flash router, I referred to the router database which is apprently incorrect as you suggested (mistakenly stating that it has 16MB RAM and 4MB flash instead).

And it also looks like I am running a K24 firmware on my router which is not recommended. I will try to updated using the links you provided, thank you.
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7178
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Wed Jun 24, 2020 10:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
Please ensure you have the RT-N10U, first. You stated that is what you have, so that is what I went by. What does it say on the main router status page? What does it say on the router's label on the case?


rt-n10 versions.png
 Description:
RT-N10 versions listed in the router database
 Filesize:  48.72 KB
 Viewed:  909 Time(s)

rt-n10 versions.png



_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
Betty_Nine
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Jul 2017
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Wed Jun 24, 2020 10:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:
Please ensure you have the RT-N10U, first.


Yes, it is definitely RT-N10U. I was just confused do to the fact the router database states that it is a 16MB RAM/4MB flash unit (which is not true) here: https://dd-wrt.com/support/router-database/?model=RT-N10U_-

I will first try to use syslog to see if there are some visible errors appearing when the connection gets disrupted and then flash some newer firmware, if I won't be able to fix this issue without updating.
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7178
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Wed Jun 24, 2020 10:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
I just double-checked the router database output for RT-N10U, and yes, the information is incorrect. I guess I need to look through all of the N10 variations and verify the information and pass it along to the site admins.

Let us know in this topic if you run into any issues.

_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
Betty_Nine
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Jul 2017
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Wed Jun 24, 2020 10:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:
I just double-checked the router database output for RT-N10U, and yes, the information is incorrect. I guess I need to look through all of the N10 variations and verify the information and pass it along to the site admins.

Let us know in this topic if you run into any issues.


Surely will, thank you for your help.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum