New Build - 06-04-2020-r43334

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7213
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Fri Jun 05, 2020 13:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
moisesmcardona wrote:
Router/Version: Linksys EA6500 v1
File: dd-wrt-43334-ea6500.trx
Reset?: N
Status: Bootloop

Fails to boot. Same behavior of 43324. Went back to 43320.


No reset, no serial or syslog files to help troubleshoot. This one and your 43324 reports are useless. You should try backing up your configuration for 43320 if you have to revert to it, reset completely, flash, do your configuration in steps until you figure out what boot loops it. Otherwise, just saying it boot loops is not very helpful.

_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
Sponsor
Veritech
DD-WRT User


Joined: 02 Jan 2007
Posts: 181

PostPosted: Fri Jun 05, 2020 15:55    Post subject: E1200v2 Reply with quote
Router/Version: E1200v2
File/Kernel: dd-wrt.v24-43334_NEWD-2_K3.x_mega-nv64k.bin
Previous/Reset: 43290 nv64k build no reset
Mode/Status: Working for now
Issues/Errors: Initial flash the router did not boot right away. The WebUI was unresponsive and ssh and telnet did not accept any connections. It did allow Wifi connections but no internet access. I have not power cycled the router but let it sit all night and in
the morning it showed the WebUI and allowed internet access. I have attached the syslog dumps I can get from the router after the flash. Current uptime is approximately 12 hours.



syslogs.txt
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  syslogs.txt
 Filesize:  61.12 KB
 Downloaded:  61 Time(s)


_________________
Buffalo WZR-600DHP 43516 std
Asus RT-N66R 43516 big
Netgear WNDR4500v2 43516 mega
Linksys WRT-54GSv1 43516 std
mwchang
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Mar 2013
Posts: 693
Location: Hung Hom, Hong Kong

PostPosted: Fri Jun 05, 2020 17:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
iFrog wrote:
I can't answer for Samba, as I don't use router level Samba. However, my smart lights have been acting funny (especially with the Google Assistant).

I rolled back to build 43217 and was surprised that the Samba also rebooted when I tried to access it after some idle period of not using Samba. It gave me an false impression that I was hit by a Samba "virus" from build 43320.... well.. sort of.

I think it's a very very bad idea to embed Samba into the kernel! Samba should stay in user-space...

And I am wondering how much junk had been added to the Linux kernel core .... Smile


_________________
Router: Asus RT-N18U (rev. A1)

May the Force and farces be with you! Live long and proper!

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/changmanwai
Website: https://sites.google.com/site/changmw
SETI@Home profile: http://setiathome.berkeley.edu/view_profile.php?userid=211832
iFrog
DD-WRT User


Joined: 10 Apr 2019
Posts: 90

PostPosted: Fri Jun 05, 2020 17:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
mwchang wrote:
iFrog wrote:
I can't answer for Samba, as I don't use router level Samba. However, my smart lights have been acting funny (especially with the Google Assistant).

I rolled back to build 43217 and was surprised that the Samba also rebooted when I tried to access it after some idle period of not using Samba. It gave me an false impression that I was hit by a Samba "virus" from build 43320.... well.. sort of.

I think it's a very very bad idea to embed Samba into the kernel! Samba should stay in user-space...

And I am wondering how much junk had been added to the Linux kernel core .... Smile



I seem to have sorted out my smart home issues, and they didn't appear to be related to DD-WRT. I tried the router NAS features about a year or so back, and I just find it a bad idea overall to depend on these limited devices for something a dedicated NAS, or even desktop computer are better suited for. With that said, It is a quick solution, and when I tried it, it worked ok. I would personally just rather head a dedicated NAS, or desktop for a full operating system. Maybe I'm misunderstanding that DD-WRT is a full linux environment, but for some things compared to a desktop / server install, it feels limited, if nothing more, by the CPU, and not having internal storage, if nothing else.
twindragon6
DD-WRT User


Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 131

PostPosted: Fri Jun 05, 2020 18:42    Post subject: Re: Netgear Nighthawk R7000 Reply with quote
mwchang wrote:
twindragon6 wrote:
Is Beamforming working in this build? There have been a lot of changes on the SVN lately! I kinda don't wanna flash anything that isn't at least semi stable.

Out of curiosity:

How do you test beam-forming?
How do you prove that a beam has been formed?
Using EM radiation meters? :)



https://www.rohde-schwarz.com/us/product/fsw-productstartpage_63493-11793.html

https://shop.metageek.com/products/chanalyzer-essential

https://greatscottgadgets.com/hackrf/one/


https://www.wireshark.org/

https://www.wireshark.org/docs/dfref/w/wlan_radio.html
eolo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Dec 2016
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sat Jun 06, 2020 10:17    Post subject: Netgear R7000 - VAP failure Reply with quote
Router: R7000
Firmware: 06/04/2020 -r43334
Previous: stock Netgear
Mode: Gateway/AP
Errors/Issues: VAP fail
Uptime: About 15 minutes
Reset: no

fresh install on a new stock Netgear R7000.
nvram erase && reboot
All configuration set from dd-wrt GUI
guest Network (configured on br1, dhcp, nat, iptables) working on lan
guest VAP working on br0
guest VAP NOT working when associated to br1 (Wifi client don't connect)

--------------------------------
Netgear R7000 43334 std
Netgear R6400v1 30910M Kongac
Netgear WNDR3700v1 33257 std
TP-link WR841N 39144 std
eolo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Dec 2016
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sat Jun 06, 2020 11:28    Post subject: UPDATE: Workaround for Netgear R7000 - VAP failure Reply with quote
eolo wrote:
Router: R7000
Firmware: 06/04/2020 -r43334
Previous: stock Netgear
Mode: Gateway/AP
Errors/Issues: VAP fail
Uptime: About 15 minutes
Reset: no

fresh install on a new stock Netgear R7000.
nvram erase && reboot
All configuration set from dd-wrt GUI
guest Network (configured on br1, dhcp, nat, iptables) working on lan
guest VAP working on br0
guest VAP NOT working when associated to br1 (Wifi client don't connect)


The workaround of the first post " Workaround startup command:
sleep 10;stopservice nas;stopservice wlconf;startservice wlconf;startservice nas
" doesn't work for me Sad.

Found this working workaround Very Happy: "Startup command:
sleep 10;stopservice nas;wlconf eth1 down;wlconf eth1 up;wlconf eth2 down;wlconf eth2 up;startservice nas
"

Hope it helps who needs VAP

--------------------------------
Netgear R7000 43334 std
Netgear R6400v1 30910M Kongac
Netgear WNDR3700v1 33257 std
TP-link WR841N 39144 std
iFrog
DD-WRT User


Joined: 10 Apr 2019
Posts: 90

PostPosted: Sat Jun 06, 2020 13:04    Post subject: Re: UPDATE: Workaround for Netgear R7000 - VAP failure Reply with quote
eolo wrote:
eolo wrote:
Router: R7000
Firmware: 06/04/2020 -r43334
Previous: stock Netgear
Mode: Gateway/AP
Errors/Issues: VAP fail
Uptime: About 15 minutes
Reset: no

fresh install on a new stock Netgear R7000.
nvram erase && reboot
All configuration set from dd-wrt GUI
guest Network (configured on br1, dhcp, nat, iptables) working on lan
guest VAP working on br0
guest VAP NOT working when associated to br1 (Wifi client don't connect)


The workaround of the first post " Workaround startup command:
sleep 10;stopservice nas;stopservice wlconf;startservice wlconf;startservice nas
" doesn't work for me Sad.

Found this working workaround Very Happy: "Startup command:
sleep 10;stopservice nas;wlconf eth1 down;wlconf eth1 up;wlconf eth2 down;wlconf eth2 up;startservice nas
"

Hope it helps who needs VAP

--------------------------------
Netgear R7000 43334 std
Netgear R6400v1 30910M Kongac
Netgear WNDR3700v1 33257 std
TP-link WR841N 39144 std


I wanted to get some Clarification on this issue since I also have an R7000: Do VAPs apply to guest networks, or are they more involved with that? While it wasn't on this particular build, I was able to create a guest network, but then after talking to people more experienced in what I was doing, found I didn't need to bother with guest networks. With this said, If I did want to do a single guest network would the VAPs issue described here affect me?

Thanks
mwchang
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Mar 2013
Posts: 693
Location: Hung Hom, Hong Kong

PostPosted: Sat Jun 06, 2020 13:18    Post subject: Re: Netgear Nighthawk R7000 Reply with quote
twindragon6 wrote:
https://www.rohde-schwarz.com/us/product/fsw-productstartpage_63493-11793.html
https://shop.metageek.com/products/chanalyzer-essential
https://greatscottgadgets.com/hackrf/one/
https://www.wireshark.org/
https://www.wireshark.org/docs/dfref/w/wlan_radio.html

Special tools are really needed... thanks!


_________________
Router: Asus RT-N18U (rev. A1)

May the Force and farces be with you! Live long and proper!

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/changmanwai
Website: https://sites.google.com/site/changmw
SETI@Home profile: http://setiathome.berkeley.edu/view_profile.php?userid=211832
eolo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Dec 2016
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sat Jun 06, 2020 14:17    Post subject: R6400 - VAP workong only with woraround Reply with quote
Router: R6400v1
Firmware: 06/04/2020 -r43334
Previous: 30910M Kongac
Mode: Gateway/AP
Errors/Issues: VAP fail
Uptime: About 90 minutes
Reset: yes

Upgrade from Kongac 30910M, with reset
All configuration set from dd-wrt GUI
guest Network (configured on br1, dhcp, nat, iptables) working on lan
guest VAP working on br0
guest VAP NOT working when associated at br1 (client don't connect)

Same issue as R7000, solved with same workaround: "Startup command:
sleep 10;stopservice nas;wlconf eth1 down;wlconf eth1 up;wlconf eth2 down;wlconf eth2 up;startservice nas"

--------------------------------
Netgear R7000 43334 std
Netgear R6400v1 43334 std
Netgear WNDR3700v1 33257 std
TP-link WR841N 39144 std
eolo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Dec 2016
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sat Jun 06, 2020 16:43    Post subject: Re: UPDATE: Workaround for Netgear R7000 - VAP failure Reply with quote
iFrog wrote:
eolo wrote:
eolo wrote:
Router: R7000
Firmware: 06/04/2020 -r43334
Previous: stock Netgear
Mode: Gateway/AP
Errors/Issues: VAP fail
Uptime: About 15 minutes
Reset: no

fresh install on a new stock Netgear R7000.
nvram erase && reboot
All configuration set from dd-wrt GUI
guest Network (configured on br1, dhcp, nat, iptables) working on lan
guest VAP working on br0
guest VAP NOT working when associated to br1 (Wifi client don't connect)


The workaround of the first post " Workaround startup command:
sleep 10;stopservice nas;stopservice wlconf;startservice wlconf;startservice nas
" doesn't work for me Sad.

Found this working workaround Very Happy: "Startup command:
sleep 10;stopservice nas;wlconf eth1 down;wlconf eth1 up;wlconf eth2 down;wlconf eth2 up;startservice nas
"

Hope it helps who needs VAP

--------------------------------
Netgear R7000 43334 std
Netgear R6400v1 30910M Kongac
Netgear WNDR3700v1 33257 std
TP-link WR841N 39144 std


I wanted to get some Clarification on this issue since I also have an R7000: Do VAPs apply to guest networks, or are they more involved with that? While it wasn't on this particular build, I was able to create a guest network, but then after talking to people more experienced in what I was doing, found I didn't need to bother with guest networks. With this said, If I did want to do a single guest network would the VAPs issue described here affect me?

Thanks


Hi iFrog,
you need VAP only if you want to have more than 1 SSID on a wireless interface.
If you use your WiFi router/AP only with 1 SSID there is no need of VAP. For example, if you dedicate a router for Wifi guest access, you don't need to use VAP.

The need of a separate SSID (and consequently VAP) is for not sharing the WPA2 password with guest, and for isolating guest from your home network.

My home setup is an AP with 3 SSID:
1) WiFi for me and my family, bridged on the home LAN
2) WiFi for guest, no access to home network, only internet access
3) WiFi for IoT, no access to home network, only internet access

So I need 2 VAP.

Regards.
iFrog
DD-WRT User


Joined: 10 Apr 2019
Posts: 90

PostPosted: Sat Jun 06, 2020 16:49    Post subject: Re: UPDATE: Workaround for Netgear R7000 - VAP failure Reply with quote
eolo wrote:
iFrog wrote:
eolo wrote:
eolo wrote:
Router: R7000
Firmware: 06/04/2020 -r43334
Previous: stock Netgear
Mode: Gateway/AP
Errors/Issues: VAP fail
Uptime: About 15 minutes
Reset: no

fresh install on a new stock Netgear R7000.
nvram erase && reboot
All configuration set from dd-wrt GUI
guest Network (configured on br1, dhcp, nat, iptables) working on lan
guest VAP working on br0
guest VAP NOT working when associated to br1 (Wifi client don't connect)


The workaround of the first post " Workaround startup command:
sleep 10;stopservice nas;stopservice wlconf;startservice wlconf;startservice nas
" doesn't work for me Sad.

Found this working workaround Very Happy: "Startup command:
sleep 10;stopservice nas;wlconf eth1 down;wlconf eth1 up;wlconf eth2 down;wlconf eth2 up;startservice nas
"

Hope it helps who needs VAP

--------------------------------
Netgear R7000 43334 std
Netgear R6400v1 30910M Kongac
Netgear WNDR3700v1 33257 std
TP-link WR841N 39144 std


I wanted to get some Clarification on this issue since I also have an R7000: Do VAPs apply to guest networks, or are they more involved with that? While it wasn't on this particular build, I was able to create a guest network, but then after talking to people more experienced in what I was doing, found I didn't need to bother with guest networks. With this said, If I did want to do a single guest network would the VAPs issue described here affect me?

Thanks


Hi iFrog,
you need VAP only if you want to have more than 1 SSID on a wireless interface.
If you use your WiFi router/AP only with 1 SSID there is no need of VAP. For example, if you dedicate a router for Wifi guest access, you don't need to use VAP.

The need of a separate SSID (and consequently VAP) is for not sharing the WPA2 password with guest, and for isolating guest from your home network.

My home setup is an AP with 3 SSID:
1) WiFi for me and my family, bridged on the home LAN
2) WiFi for guest, no access to home network, only internet access
3) WiFi for IoT, no access to home network, only internet access

So I need 2 VAP.

Regards.


Thanks, I understand what you're saying. So If I want to setup a guest network, on the same router ,as the physical SSIDs then I would be using VAPs. If I were to connect separate access point with it's own login separate from the router's built in wireless I would not be using VAPs, and if I just want the physical interfaces on the main router, then I wouldn't be using VAps either. I'm just making sure I'm understanding what I read here. As the term VAps and other things aren't really mentioned with proprietary firmware. I see it mostly with open firmwares.

Thanks again.
701b84b9ff
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Apr 2019
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat Jun 06, 2020 17:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
mwchang wrote:
I think it's a very very bad idea to embed Samba into the kernel! Samba should stay in user-space...



Ever since in-kernel samba has been implemented, I lost smb access from my mobile devices and have been experiencing bugs trying to access the file system (incomplete file listing, router crashes/reboots, etc). I had to migrate my media server setup over to a linux system (from windows server) to get crap to work. It's been frustrating to say the least but things appear to be more stable on my new linux server. However, I still lost smb access from my android devices (used for ebook/calibre server) Sad
Wildlion
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 24 May 2016
Posts: 817

PostPosted: Sat Jun 06, 2020 20:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
Router: Buffalo WZR-1750DHP
Firmware: buffalo-wzr-1750dhp-webflash.bin (v3.0-r43334 std)
Kernel: Linux 4.4.226 #304 SMP Thu Jun 4 07:59:59 +04 2020 armv7l

Deployment #1:

Status: Working
Reset: No
Notes on configuration:

    Media Network
    DNSMasq
    Port Forwarding
    DHCP reservation
    DNSSEC

Errors:

    None


Deployment #2:

Status: Working
Reset: No
Notes on configuration:

    FTP server
    DNSMasq
    DNSSEC
    USB v3.0
    DHCP reservation

Errors:

    None


Thanks Devs!
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7213
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sat Jun 06, 2020 21:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
nchillsdale wrote:
kernel-panic69 wrote:
nchillsdale wrote:
Router: Nighthawk Pro Gaming XR700


R9000 Clone. If you'd been lurking properly, you'd know that you report in the Atheros forum. https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=325175

https://wikidevi.wi-cat.ru/Netgear_XR700


My mistake! I'm usually just on here to read the changelog and check for new versions. Embarassed


So, copy and post your report in the right place....

_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 2 of 3
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum