Archer C5 v1 Problems MiniDLNA .mp4 files & Samba linux

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
wonder_wonder
DD-WRT User


Joined: 06 Jun 2016
Posts: 76

PostPosted: Sat May 16, 2020 13:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
joedow wrote:
Im on phone, i cannot quote like i whould wanted.

1. Entware apps its not the same as dd wrt firmware apps. U need to in stall minidlna in entware, not invdd wrt (well in older build that is stable for me), newer builds have minidlna at NAS tab but i dont use newer builds

2. opkg update (click enter)
opkg upgrade (click enter)

Is for entware, not dd wrt apps.

Hi,
Again, thanks.
Ok, entware apps its not the same as ddwrt firmware apps, then, I we install entware and her apps, the ddwrt firmware apps are not used? Because when start router, work the apps of entware, not of the ddwrt firwmare, is correct?
Quote:
(well in older build that is stable for me), newer builds have minidlna at NAS tab but i dont use newer builds

Yes, for my lasts tests, also like you, the older build is stable for me (of ddwrt) the newer builds (before ends 2018) aren't stables for me.
But I use the tab of NAS for minidlna and samba shared, if I install this in entware, how manage this apps, from the tab of ddwrt?
Quote:
2. opkg update (click enter)
opkg upgrade (click enter)

Ok, perfect!, I understand.

Again, thank you very very much! Really, I apreciate a lot your help and responses.

Regards!
Sponsor
wonder_wonder
DD-WRT User


Joined: 06 Jun 2016
Posts: 76

PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2020 23:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have been reading more on the subject, I do not know if I commented, I have an archer c5 that I plan to pass it to C7 (same hardware) although I will not have any benefit because the only one that gives tplink is greater range in the 5Ghz band of wifi, which with dd-wrt I already have it, so maybe I'll even leave it.

Sorry if the post is external, and "abusing" a little of your kindness and answers Smile to see if I manage to understand or rather, learn certain things that are being left in the air, where you say:

Quote:
(well in older build that is stable for me), newer builds have minidlna at NAS tab but i dont use newer builds


I get the feeling that your ddwrt build does not have minidlna or nas tabs, but with entware you install it (entware is only for installing apps), correct me if I'm wrong.
That's where my first question arises, I use your same build, it really works for me in all aspects and it has a mini-line in the nas tabs, from there I manage it.

If I'm not mistaken in what I think, install the minidlna app for not having it in your ddwrt build, is that so?
In my case, what if I have it, if I install entware and later minidlna, what benefits would it get and from where would I manage it? I mean if entware has a different or similar menu.
I need, apart from minidlna, samba share, ftp server and sshd, I imagine that I can install all this with entware, but I wouldn't know where to handle it ...

Sorry if it's a stupid or silly question, but I can't get out of this doubt ...

As always, thank you and I hope you are well!
joedow
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Feb 2018
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Thu May 21, 2020 3:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi,

Minidlna is samba share.

I used this tutorial for install
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1119262
wonder_wonder
DD-WRT User


Joined: 06 Jun 2016
Posts: 76

PostPosted: Thu May 21, 2020 18:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
joedow wrote:
Hi,

Minidlna is samba share.

I used this tutorial for install
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1119262

Thanks for reply.
Yes, the tuto I have in favorites for when I go to install.
When are install, on manage minidlna? In the tab nas for gui of ddwrt or have other gui entware? This is my first or "imporant" doubt...after this, the rest, I know how made or work...

Again, thanks!
joedow
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Feb 2018
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Thu May 21, 2020 18:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
Minidlna installed in entware does not show up in gui.
Only way to edit is through config file.
You might have different mnt routes, drive names than the tutorial, keep in mind. It took me a lot of trial and error to succed.
Make download folder same as media folder for easy use.
Good luck
wonder_wonder
DD-WRT User


Joined: 06 Jun 2016
Posts: 76

PostPosted: Thu May 21, 2020 19:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
joedow wrote:
Minidlna installed in entware does not show up in gui.
Only way to edit is through config file.
You might have different mnt routes, drive names than the tutorial, keep in mind. It took me a lot of trial and error to succed.
Make download folder same as media folder for easy use.
Good luck

Ok, thanks, now I can understand the procedure of entware versus ddwrt.
Any other service, like ftp or sshd, is "canceled" in ddwrt and / or should it be done in entware when we have it installed?

As you say, it is based on testing, error and learning, thanks for the advice on the folder, it is easier as well.

Thank you!
joedow
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Feb 2018
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Thu May 21, 2020 19:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
You can use ftp service in gui. I use it. It works. I dont know what is sshd.

The beautigull thing is that dd wrt coexist with entware.
wonder_wonder
DD-WRT User


Joined: 06 Jun 2016
Posts: 76

PostPosted: Thu May 21, 2020 19:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
joedow wrote:
You can use ftp service in gui. I use it. It works. I dont know what is sshd.

The beautigull thing is that dd wrt coexist with entware.

Ohh, perfect! if ddwrt can and coexist with entware...fantastic!!!
For me its important ftp service, and if I can manage in gui, fantastic.

sshd is the daemon of ssh for you can connect via ssh to the router (dd-wrt).

Again,thanks!
joedow
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Feb 2018
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Thu May 21, 2020 19:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
You have the ssh connection in gui. You can even change port. This is not new
wonder_wonder
DD-WRT User


Joined: 06 Jun 2016
Posts: 76

PostPosted: Thu May 21, 2020 19:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
joedow wrote:
You have the ssh connection in gui. You can even change port. This is not new

Yes, I know, I have enabled sshd in gui and change the port, but I was don't know if, with entware, I need install sshd in entware or can use the sshd of ddwrt.
I don't use ssh, but use sshd of ddwrt, but for that I view, I can continue using sshd of ddwrt like ftp with entware installed.

Thanks.
Goto page Previous  1, 2 Display posts from previous:    Page 2 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum