planning to buy Netgear r7800 router some queries.

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Author Message
abhijitat
DD-WRT User


Joined: 06 Feb 2020
Posts: 143
Location: Maharashtra, India

PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2020 15:03    Post subject: planning to buy Netgear r7800 router some queries. Reply with quote
Hi I am new here, I already have R7000P router which uses DDWRT firmware, now I am planning to buy new router. i have short listed R8000 and R7800.

I am in a dilemma on which one to buy. R7800 seems to be a good processes and Qualcomm one.

I use 2.4/5GHz and wireguard. I researched through the forums on which one is better, found one where BS has recommended R7800. then this router must be better over R8000.

I have one query, as I am not a linux guy, i am not aware of many command line parameters and uses. does this router has networking tab now in GUI, i need this to setup wireguard setting. rest of the settings i don't use much so its ok. but need switch config & networking tab as i am used to GUI (side effects of being windows users for decades)

i apologize in advance if I offend any Guru here but i got more confused as most results were atleast 2yrs old.
Sponsor
CantRepeat
DD-WRT User


Joined: 18 Oct 2017
Posts: 153

PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2020 15:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
Wireguard setup.

https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324624

_________________
-Tim
abhijitat
DD-WRT User


Joined: 06 Feb 2020
Posts: 143
Location: Maharashtra, India

PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2020 15:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks for guide, but I am already using wireguard on my other device. my query is regarding the availability of Tabs in teh R7800 GUI.
"Does this router has Switch Config & networking tab now in GUI"
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 6190
Location: Romerike, Norway

PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2020 19:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
abhijitat wrote:
"Does this router has Switch Config & networking tab now in GUI"


Yes, but it's limited what you can do in the GUI. With SWCONFIG you have full control.
CantRepeat
DD-WRT User


Joined: 18 Oct 2017
Posts: 153

PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2020 21:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
abhijitat wrote:
Thanks for guide, but I am already using wireguard on my other device. my query is regarding the availability of Tabs in teh R7800 GUI.
"Does this router has Switch Config & networking tab now in GUI"


On my Netgear r7800 running:

DD-WRT v3.0-r43171 std (05/16/20)

There are both a Switch Config & a Network tab under setup.

_________________
-Tim
abhijitat
DD-WRT User


Joined: 06 Feb 2020
Posts: 143
Location: Maharashtra, India

PostPosted: Thu May 21, 2020 2:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks a lot for clearing my doubts, I will now proceed to buy this router
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum