Netgear R9000: Please help with ISP configuration FTTH - ONT

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Author Message
netgearr9000
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Apr 2020
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed Apr 08, 2020 16:13    Post subject: Netgear R9000: Please help with ISP configuration FTTH - ONT Reply with quote
Hello,
I need help to configure my router Netgear R9000 with DD-WRT installed. Version: Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r42335 std (02/10/20).
My connection is FTTH Vodafone.
I've attached the scheme of my connection.
My ISP data are:

Mandatory:

PPPoE
Encapsulation - VLAN Ethernet 802.1q
VLAN TAG - 1036
Username - ***
Password - ***
Nat - Active

Optional parameters (if available):

- Packetization Time: 20ms
- Expire Time: 3600
- DSCP Marking (decimal): 34
- Resgister fetch/Fetching bindings: NO
-Tone support DTMF: RFC 2833, InBand, SIP INFO
- VAD (Voice Activity Detection): no present
- Support 100rel (message PRACK) second RFC3262: active
- Support UPDATE, second RFC3311:active

I can’t get my router working with my ISP, I’ve not found any guide to configure that. I think the main problem is VLAN (and VLAN tag configuration).
Can you help me please? I will be very very thankful for it!
Thanks
Best regards
Sponsor
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 1087
Location: Illinois Moderator

PostPosted: Wed Apr 08, 2020 16:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
Possible Solution

Let us know if it works or not, the other user never replied back if they got it working or not.

_________________
TIPS/TRICKS: Best QCA Wifi Settings | QCA WIFI WIKI | Latency tricks | QoS Port priority | NEVER USE MU-MIMO |
Why to NOT use MU-MIMO | Max Wifi Pwr by Country | Linux Wifi Pwr | MCS Index Speeds & AX MCS | Correct QCA 5Ghz chnls to use | WIFI Chnl Freq WIKI | TFTP R7800 | Don't buy wifi 6

[R9000]43651 nightly (Main Router)
[EA8500]43192 nightly (2xOffsite)
[R7800]taking a nap
[WDR3600]BS 42567 (Offsite)
[A7v5]BS 43038 (Offsite+spare here napping)
netgearr9000
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Apr 2020
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed Apr 08, 2020 16:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
ok, thanks, I will let you know as soon I will have tried it! Smile
netgearr9000
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Apr 2020
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed Apr 08, 2020 23:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
sorry, as promised this is test conclusion:
I've tried many times and in many ways, I've read everything carefully but it doesn't work for me
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 3642
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Thu Apr 09, 2020 19:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
if you have Vodafone ISP in UK...nope they do not allow
3rd party routers (non vodafone)...at least ive spent some time in the past with no avail...tagging to 1036 will not help too...
however you can pull IP from modem LAN port to their router and run N9000 in double NAT gateway or WAP...

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 ------DD-WRT 43334 BS AP,NAT
TP-Link WR740Nv4 ------DD-WRT 43028 BS WAP/Switch
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ----DD-WRT 43516 BS AP,NAT,AD Block,AP Isolation,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ----DD-WRT 43334 BS AP,NAT,AD Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ----Gargoyle OS 1.12.0 AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas
Qualcomm/IPQ8065
Netgear R7800 -------DD-WRT 43334 BS AP,NAT,AD-Block,AP&Net Isolation,VLAN's,Firewall,Local DNS,DoT
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 -------DD-WRT 43334 BS AP,Wi-Fi OFF,NAT,AD-Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stubby for DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 via Entware by mac913
netgearr9000
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Apr 2020
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu Apr 09, 2020 20:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hello,
thanks for your reply. No, it is not Vodafone UK, it is Vodafone Italy and it was very easy to configure the Nergear R9000 Stock firmware Router. It is a right in Italy to choose a free router.
I've understood that the problem is the VLAN tag, it is very complicate in DD-WRT routers...at least in R9000.
I spent over than 2 hours at the phone to a computer technician by Vodafone and he wasn't able to configure the router...He was blocked by too many configuration and combinations of VLAN tag etc...With anydesk he tried some script on remote too, from this website, but no luck.
Today I had your same idea, to install the R900 after the Vodafone Power Station and it works like a charm! It is very very easy, in this way I was able to install flashrouter privacy app too!
I've followed this guide: https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Wireless_Access_Point
and above all these instructions:

Secondary Router on a Separate Subnet

This is simply a gateway router that is downstream of a primary gateway router.
If you want a secondary router to be on a separate subnet from the primary, just hard reset the router and set the router's IP to, e.g., 192.168.5.1 on the basic setup page. Then set security and SSID on the Wireless tab, hit Save then Apply, and finally plug the LAN cable from your primary to the WAN of the second router.
If you wish to be able to access your secondary router from devices on your primary LAN, enable Web GUI management in the Remote Access section of the Administration/Management page. You should then be able to access the secondary router by typing in its WAN IP. Setting up a static lease for the second router's WAN interface in Services on the first router will allow you to always know where the second one is to access it. This is the usual router/gateway mode, which is NOT the main goal of this Wiki.

Results:
Connection: ok
Speed on LAN: very very good, I can say better than directly connected to Vodafone Power Station...I know it is impossible, at least, strange. About 670 mbps connected to R900 and about 605 connected directly to Vodafone Power Station.
Speed on Wireless 5G: Very good. About 310 mbps.
Speed with VPN (PIA) lan: 110 mbps. Tested only one server until now. (Raspberry PI 3B= 25-30 mbps)
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 6373
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Thu Apr 09, 2020 20:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
If there isn't anything special that you would need as far as functionality in DD-WRT, you could use Voxel. Oh, I know, I shouldn't suggest such things on the DD-WRT forum and all, but it is modified stock firmware and would probably work and give you extra functionality. VLANs are currently not useable in DD-WT. Not sure if it is lack of the essentials in the firmware or that it is just that tricky to set up and make work.
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
RTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse.
Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
“Suitcase” v5: 4x (2x Intel® E5645) on Intel® S5500HV
“Suitcase” v1: 4xQuad P6pro-200 SL25A SMP Proliant 7000s
netgearr9000
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Apr 2020
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu Apr 09, 2020 20:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
oh, very interesting! I will take a look at your advice! Thanks!
ddaniel51
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2013
Posts: 1378

PostPosted: Fri Apr 10, 2020 6:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
If you have a managed ethernet switch avilable you can create a private switch group on it with two ports. One port untagged and connected to the router WAN port while the second port is tagged with the vlan number of your choice and connected to the ONT. This way the ONT gets a vlan tag and you don't have to play vlan games with the router.
_________________
Segment 1 R9000 10Gb LAN, 1Gb ISP BS
Test Bed R9000 10Gb LAN
Wired AP 1 R9000 10Gb LAN
Wired AP 2 R9000 1Gb LAN
Wired AP 3 R9000 1Gb LAN
Test Bed R7800 1Gb LAN OpenWRT Kong
download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/ (Brain Slayer)
www.desipro.de/openwrt/ (Kong's)
YAMon usage-
www.monitoring.com/manualInstall.php
netgearr9000
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Apr 2020
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri Apr 10, 2020 8:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thank you very much for your reply...but I have to ask you to explain it in a easier way because...I have to be honest...I haven't understood so much...I'm not an expert and I'm trying to understand how DD-WRT works from no more than 4 days...
I will be very thankful if you can do a newbie guide of what you said!
Thank you very much!
yodog
DD-WRT User


Joined: 04 Mar 2017
Posts: 74

PostPosted: Fri Apr 10, 2020 13:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
netgearr9000 wrote:
oh, very interesting! I will take a look at your advice! Thanks!


Voxel is legit and solid and fast if you care about any of the original R9000 features. I prefer the DD-WRT layout more, particularly the “Save” function versus the “Apply” function. Voxel only has apply like in the original netgear firmwares. Also one other drawback about voxels firmware and original netgear firmware is there is no way to turn off “Scan/auto switch off current channel for radar when using DFS channels on 5Ghz network.” DD-WRT has option and has the option disabled as the default setting.
netgearr9000
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Apr 2020
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2020 11:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
I will give it a try. Honestly I liked a lot the Stock Netgear R9000 Firmware and I was able to connect my router to my ISP so my connection worked. So I really like the idea of an evolved Netgear firmare.
I've installed DD-WRT because my VPN service provider provided the install instruction about DD-WRT through Flashrouter Privacy App.
This is the link:
https://www.privateinternetaccess.com/helpdesk/guides/routers/dd-wrt-3/dd-wrt-flashrouter-privacy-application

I guess I will not able ti install Flashrouter Privacy App in Voxel Firmware...I know I could use OpenVpn but what I like about Flashrouter Privacy App is its features: Global Kill Switch (the most important for me)
Bypass list to exclude VPN (Policy Based Routing)
Server switching

Is it possible to use at least VPN Kill Switch in. Voxel Firmware?
Thanks
Regards
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 6373
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2020 12:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
https://www.voxel-firmware.com/Downloads/Voxel/html/index.html
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
RTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse.
Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
“Suitcase” v5: 4x (2x Intel® E5645) on Intel® S5500HV
“Suitcase” v1: 4xQuad P6pro-200 SL25A SMP Proliant 7000s
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 6373
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Tue Apr 21, 2020 19:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
Per Yngve Berg wrote:
You have to do things in the correct order not cut off the branch you are sitting on.

Configure the switches from a client connected to Switch A (LAN1/2)

Configure Switch B first, then A. Nothing will take action before the set 'apply'

swconfig dev switch1 set enable_vlan 1
swconfig dev switch0 set enable_vlan 1
swconfig dev switch1 set apply
swconfig dev switch0 set apply

This will enable 802.1Q tagging on the switches.

By the way, where is this SFP port connected?

_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
RTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse.
Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
“Suitcase” v5: 4x (2x Intel® E5645) on Intel® S5500HV
“Suitcase” v1: 4xQuad P6pro-200 SL25A SMP Proliant 7000s
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum