[SOLVED] New R7800 Web GUI and telnet keep dropping

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Author Message
krby
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Apr 2020
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Sun Apr 05, 2020 22:03    Post subject: [SOLVED] New R7800 Web GUI and telnet keep dropping Reply with quote
I followed the instructions in the R7800 install thread, using the R7800-factory-to-ddwrt-40270.img file in that thread. I changed the password, rebooted, telnet'd in to do:
Code:
nvram erase && reboot

rebooted, changed the password again.

Before I changed any settings, WebUI and telnet keeps shutting down. Here are the symptoms:
    * Connected via Ethernet from OSX. IP settings on the Mac are static 192.168.1.9/24.
    * Plugged into one of the LAN ports (I've tried several) on the R7800
    * From power on, if point a browser at 192.168.1.1, eventually, the WebUI will stop responding within a minute, often less. I'm using Chrome 80.0.3987.163 on OSX <--- This appears to be the issue!
    * If I had a telnet session open, it will drop at the same time.
    * After this has happened, I can still ping the R7800, but can't get telnet or the browser to respond.
    * If I connect via telnet but never touch the WebUI, everything stays happy for at least 15min (running a test now), which is much longer than the WebUI will stay alive once I use it. As soon as I start using the WebUI, it all comes down.
    * If I am quick, I can get into the WebUI, change something, and hit apply. It sometimes works.


Is this a known problem? Is there a different stable build? I think I can use telnet and scp from the router to flash a new firmware from the cmdline. My planned use for this is to be just and AP, no routing. I want to have it broadcast multiple SSIDs on the same 5G channel tagging each SSID with a different VLAN (I've got this VLAN setup working already on my existing switches and router). I don't really need any other features besides those.

One more thing: When I started this morning, I mistakenly downloaded the firmware "recommended" by the supported router database, without realizing I shouldn't be using those. That was a v3 build-40559 img file. I ran into the above problem right away, but I hoped it was because I was using the wrong firmware. Using telnet and scp'ing the file from my laptop I was able to use the "back to stock Netgear" bin file in the R7800 install thread to get back to a Netgear firmware, then started the "first flash" install instructions again with that thread's recommended 40270.img file, both have the same webUI issue.[/b]


Last edited by krby on Mon Apr 06, 2020 2:30; edited 3 times in total
Sponsor
blkt
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2019
Posts: 1612

PostPosted: Sun Apr 05, 2020 22:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
https://download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/2020/03-30-2020-r42819/netgear-r7800/

ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2020/03-30-2020-r42819/netgear-r7800/

I don't know what browser you are using but I use Waterfox, Pale Moon, Firefox portable Legacy (ESR 45/52).

I've never heard of that problem with Kong's r40270M.
krby
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Apr 2020
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Sun Apr 05, 2020 23:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
blkt wrote:
https://download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/2020/03-30-2020-r42819/netgear-r7800/

ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2020/03-30-2020-r42819/netgear-r7800/

I don't know what browser you are using but I use Waterfox, Pale Moon, Firefox portable Legacy (ESR 45/52).


Thanks for link, was this a known issue fixed in the above build?
Re: Browser, Chrome 80.0.3987.163 on OSX.
blkt
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2019
Posts: 1612

PostPosted: Sun Apr 05, 2020 23:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
I would avoid anything Chrome or Chromium based to see if the problem disappears.

Generally, if you do firmware upgrade from GUI don't use these browsers either.

Leave the dropdown selection for "After flashing, reset to" on "Don't reset" too.
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7257
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sun Apr 05, 2020 23:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
The first flash I did on my R7800 was <Kong> 40270M, and didn't have these issues. But I didn't use Chrome, and my router browsers have no add-ons or extensions loaded, either, among other things.
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
krby
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Apr 2020
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Sun Apr 05, 2020 23:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
blkt wrote:
I would avoid anything Chrome or Chromium based to see if the problem disappears.


Well, now. So far this seems to have helped. I'm still on build 40270 from the R7800 install page. Using Firefox 74.0.1 on OSX. I've been able to navigate various pages and I've successfully been able to disable the wireless radios and turn on sshd, applying each of those changes...all without crashing! Thanks!

So, really Chrome is the problem? I'll go put the Chrome details in my original post in case someone else comes searching

Quote:

Generally, if you do firmware upgrade from GUI don't use these browsers either.

Leave the dropdown selection for "After flashing, reset to" on "Don't reset" too.


Will do.

So about that 2020-03-30 build. Is it considered stable on the R7800? Anything to watch out for with it?
blkt
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2019
Posts: 1612

PostPosted: Sun Apr 05, 2020 23:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
I'm running r42819 right now with no issues.

The only potential problems for you are the new in-kernel Samba (work in progress).

Also if you plan on using Client Mode, Client Bridge or WDS and create a VAP then radio interface(s) ath0/ath1 will break.

Here is the current build thread.

New Build - 03/30/2020 - r42819
foz111
DD-WRT User


Joined: 01 Oct 2017
Posts: 344
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Mon Apr 06, 2020 9:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
just clean chrome cache and it will work fine, only issues i've had with chrome is it has failed to flash a few times so i never use for flashing now.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum