E3000 Client Bridge setup issue?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
Badger101
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Mar 2020
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri Mar 27, 2020 19:25    Post subject: E3000 Client Bridge setup issue? Reply with quote
Hello,

I have had a Netgear E3000 running for a while using dd-wrt.v24-15962_NEWD-2_K2.6_mega-e2k-e3k.

I thought it was about time I upgraded to the latest version (dd-wrt.v24-42803_NEWD-2_K3.x_mega-e3000) following the advice on the wiki page:
https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Linksys_E3000

All upgraded Smile
So then I followed the Client Bridge wiki to get it setup to how it was (N-Only 5Ghz, 2.4GHz disabled):
https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Client_Bridged

It all works, however in the Status->Sys-Info tab the rate will only max out at 150Mbps where it used to be 300Mpbs.

Is there a setting I've missed or is it due to the two channels listed now?

Thanks for your help.



einfonew.PNG
 Description:
New Setup
 Filesize:  148.55 KB
 Viewed:  3969 Time(s)

einfonew.PNG



einfo.PNG
 Description:
Old Setup
 Filesize:  194.99 KB
 Viewed:  3965 Time(s)

einfo.PNG


Sponsor
mac913
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 02 May 2008
Posts: 1595
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sat Mar 28, 2020 22:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have the same issue where 40Mhz Wireless-N Client-Bridge mode on newer builds in limited to 150Mbps.

I do have an off-site WRT610v1 on build 33679 from 2017. This would be lowest build I run on a wireless router since it has the WiFi CRACK Fixes. With this build the Client-Bridge shows as 300Mbps, see attachment...



Screenshot_2020-03-28 WRT610v1 (build 33679) - Wireless Status.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  282.33 KB
 Viewed:  3918 Time(s)

Screenshot_2020-03-28 WRT610v1 (build 33679) - Wireless Status.png



_________________
Home Network on Telus PureFibre - 10GbE Copper Backbone
2x R7800 - Gateway & WiFi & 3xWireGuard - DDWRT r44483 Std
R7000 - Wired ISP 4K IPTV Gateway - DDWRT r44483 Std

Off Site 1

R7000 - Gateway & WiFi & WireGuard - DDWRT r44483 Std
WRT610Nv1 - Client Bridge - DDWRT r33679 Mega K2.4

Off Site 2

R7000 - Gateway & WiFi - DDWRT r44483 Std
E2000 - Wired ISP IPTV PVR Blocker - DDWRT r35531


YAMon 3.4.6 | DNSCrypt-Proxy V2
Badger101
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Mar 2020
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2020 11:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi mac913,

Thanks for your reply, so build 33679 is the latest which will work?
So this is an ongoing issue for three years using them in client bridge mode..
I'll see if I can report it somewhere to see if there is a possible fix.

I'll downgrade and see if that fixes the issue.
Smile
mac913
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 02 May 2008
Posts: 1595
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2020 15:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
Badger101 wrote:
Hi mac913,

Thanks for your reply, so build 33679 is the latest which will work?
So this is an ongoing issue for three years using them in client bridge mode..
I'll see if I can report it somewhere to see if there is a possible fix.

I'll downgrade and see if that fixes the issue.
:)


I would say that build 33679 would be the lowest build number to use on any wifi enabled router since a Major Security Issue - Wifi CRACK was fixed to every new build since.

I don't know when or what build started to limit Client Bridge to 150Mbps. You will have to test/experiment newer builds for yourself.

_________________
Home Network on Telus PureFibre - 10GbE Copper Backbone
2x R7800 - Gateway & WiFi & 3xWireGuard - DDWRT r44483 Std
R7000 - Wired ISP 4K IPTV Gateway - DDWRT r44483 Std

Off Site 1

R7000 - Gateway & WiFi & WireGuard - DDWRT r44483 Std
WRT610Nv1 - Client Bridge - DDWRT r33679 Mega K2.4

Off Site 2

R7000 - Gateway & WiFi - DDWRT r44483 Std
E2000 - Wired ISP IPTV PVR Blocker - DDWRT r35531


YAMon 3.4.6 | DNSCrypt-Proxy V2
Badger101
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Mar 2020
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri Apr 03, 2020 9:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks, I've noticed that the 33679 build doesn't have the K3X folder.
I'll try and go backwards to see which build works - is there any builds that you know of that I should stay away from?
Also is there any way to test and see what is wrong with this build?
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7274
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Fri Apr 03, 2020 16:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
I may have to setup/test CB mode on my E4200 to see if it is a K3.x build issue or not. I do know that Client and Client Bridged modes DO work on K2.6 builds. AFAIK, you really do NOT have to mess with much on the wireless settings for the interface that is being used as Client Bridge, except maybe channel width. Everything else takes the channel, etc. of the AP it is connecting to.
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7274
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Fri Apr 03, 2020 23:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ok, since I figured I might as well investigate, I did manage to successfully setup Client Bridge on my E4200 on 42819 K3.x. I chose "Mixed" with 40MHz channel width in Client Bridge mode. The only thing is, channel width is irrelevant, apparently. 72/144 is my connection speed.

What I did:

1) Wireless->Security tab, set the wireless security accordingly, "save".

2) Wireless-> Basic wireless tab, set "Client Bridge", channel "Auto", network mode "Mixed", channel width 40, and SSID to match primary; "save".

3) Setup->Basic setup, I entered the local router IP, but I did NOT setup the gateway address (I may change that), assign wan port to switch, , etc.; "save".

4) Security->Firewall, I unchecked everything but "Filter Multicast", save, then "Disable SPI Firewall"; "save".

5)Setup->Advanced Routing, set it to "router"; "save".

6 "Services" tab, clicked "reboot". Done.

FWIW, I did NOT do a complete reset to defaults, I just changed the configuration on the fly from my previous configs. Hopefully, this helps you on your E3000. I am tempted to re-attempt this on my R7000P.

_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
Badger101
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Mar 2020
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon Apr 06, 2020 13:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi kernel-panic69,

Thank you for your interest in this topic, and reply.

So these are the steps I've just done:

1. Reset Router
2. Set IP of P.C. to 192.168.1.10
3. Changed Passwords, etc
4. Wireless->Security tab, set the wireless security accordingly, "save". (WPA2-PSK)
5. Wireless-> Basic wireless tab, set "Client Bridge", channel "Auto", network mode "Mixed", channel width 40, and SSID to match primary; "save". (Also Disabled wl0 2.4GHz)
6. Setup->Basic setup, I entered the local router IP, but I did NOT setup the gateway address (I may change that), assign wan port to switch, , etc.; "save". (assigned gateway address)
7. Security->Firewall, I unchecked everything but "Filter Multicast", save, then "Disable SPI Firewall"; "save".
8. Setup->Advanced Routing, set it to "router"; "save"
9. "Services" tab, clicked "reboot". Done.

I still get TX Rate 150M RX Rate 300M



Capture.PNG
 Description:
 Filesize:  27.39 KB
 Viewed:  3728 Time(s)

Capture.PNG


kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7274
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Mon Apr 06, 2020 15:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
I am not bridging the 5GHz band, I am bridging the 2.4GHz band here, but it could be likely the settings on your AP as far as channel, etc. Are you bridging to another DD-WRT router or? Some channels work better than others on the 5Ghz band.
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
Badger101
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Mar 2020
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue Apr 07, 2020 16:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
No, it is a Netgear D7000 5GHz side on Channel 40.
Nothing on the Netgear side has been touched since updating.
I'll check some other channels (Didn't change anything)

Thanks
Badger101
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Mar 2020
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue Apr 14, 2020 10:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi kernel-panic69,

Have you had a chance to see if it does work for you on the 5GHz band?

Hopefully I will start to have a look at different builds this week, but if you think it is a bug in the K3.x builds, there might not be any point.

Thanks
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7274
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Tue Apr 14, 2020 12:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
If it's connecting as CB on 5GHz band for you, WYSIWYG. I really don't go by the webUI display on data rates, I have never seen full duplex rates, no matter what mode the radios are in on my E4200.
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
redhawk0
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 11475
Location: Wherever the wind blows- North America

PostPosted: Tue Apr 14, 2020 13:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
I just checked my E3000.

I have it setup as CB on the 5GHz radio which won't Tx over 150Mbs but says its 162+Mbs on the Rx side. N-Only.

The 2.4GHz radio is setup as the AP repeating the signal from the CB side and it will max out at 300Mbs when setup on a channel with 40MHz width set. NG Mixed.

I've never seen my CB side reporting over 150Mbs. I'm guessing its a driver issue.

redhawk

_________________
I do NOT provide personal assistance through chat or phone....so please don't ask.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum