R9000 : Switch config for fiber optic ISP connexion

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Author Message
PierrotLux
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Mar 2020
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Mar 27, 2020 19:04    Post subject: R9000 : Switch config for fiber optic ISP connexion Reply with quote
Hello,
I'm not an expert, so sorry if my langage is not always adapted (moreover, english is not my native speaking...)

I had before a Netgear N600WNDR3700v2 (v3.0-r40559 std 08/06/19 :
- it was connected directly to my fiber optic box
- with a pppoe configuration and vlan tagging : VLAN 0 Interface / eth0 / Tag number 35 / Prior 0
- with mac adress cloned
- the ethernet cable from the fiber optic box was connected to my router on a LAN port (it was not working on the WAN port). Notice that when I had my ISP's modem, I also had to connect it to a LAN port
- I had a good internet connexion, the WAN IP was well attributed
- there wasn't a tab "Switch config" under Setup of my router

I have changed for a Netgear R9000 :
- I made the exact same configuration
- but on the R9000, I have this tab "Switch config" : cf attachment
- the internet connexion is not made, there no WAN IP attributed
- so I presume that I have to do something under Switch config...?
- but I don't what nor how

Can you help please Rolling Eyes Razz

Here's what I was able to get via SSH of my actual configuration :
- Switch config :
- VLAN 1 : 1,2,3,4,5,,6 / assigned to bridge : none
- VLAN 2 : 5
- Networking :
- Tagging Clan 0 interface : eth0, tag number 35, prio 0
- Port Setup : WAN Port Assignment : eth0

Many many thanks
Pierre
Sponsor
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 1092
Location: Illinois Moderator

PostPosted: Fri Mar 27, 2020 19:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
I pray you can get it working... VLAN's on the R9000 are very tricky because there are two switches on this router and not one switch like on the R7800 and like on your older router... This makes tagging a VLAN for PPPOE very hard.

Try here first start reading from user "ibreakit" post. You'll need to scroll up a little.

then read more here

if it works, post your solution for others.

That's the best I can help you with unless someone with an R9000 and PPPOE who has been successful will chime in.

_________________
TIPS/TRICKS: Best QCA Wifi Settings | QCA WIFI WIKI | Latency tricks | QoS Port priority | NEVER USE MU-MIMO |
Why to NOT use MU-MIMO | Max Wifi Pwr by Country | Linux Wifi Pwr | MCS Index Speeds & AX MCS | Correct QCA 5Ghz chnls to use | WIFI Chnl Freq WIKI | TFTP R7800 | Don't buy wifi 6

[R9000]43698 nightly (Main Router)
[EA8500]43192 nightly (2xOffsite)
[R7800]taking a nap
[WDR3600]BS 42567 (Offsite)
[A7v5]BS 43038 (Offsite+spare here napping)
PierrotLux
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Mar 2020
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun Mar 29, 2020 17:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks a lot for these links
If I succeed, I will post it

Any other advices are welcome ! Wink
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum