Installation on Netgear Nighthawk R7000p

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
avok00
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 May 2013
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Jan 16, 2020 18:45    Post subject: Installation on Netgear Nighthawk R7000p Reply with quote
Hey,

My router is Netgear AC2300
Hardware Version R7000P
Firmware Version V1.3.1.64_10.1.36
GUI Language Version V1.3.1.64_2.1.38.1

I am a bit confused about the right package to download and install for this router. There is a installation instructions here: https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Netgear_R7000P

It says to:

1. GUI reset then flash factory-to-dd-wrt.chk
2. Upgrade: netgear-r8000-webflash.bin (BS)

- There is no GUI reset menu on that router that I can find, I did a reset with the hardware reset button on the back. Not this 30/30 procedure, just a regular 7 second press and release. Is that good enough?
- Where do I get the factory-to-dd-wrt.chk package?
- Where do I get the webflash?

there are two locations that seem to be relevant:

Have not tried this yet:
https://dd-wrt.com/support/other-downloads/?path=betas%2F2020%2F01-14-2020-r41986%2Fnetgear-r7000P%2F

Tried the factory-to-dd-wrt.chk from here, but it did not work:
https://dd-wrt.com/support/other-downloads/?path=betas%2F2020%2F01-14-2020-r41986%2Fnetgear-r8000%2F

The confusion is because it says to use the webflash from r8000, so I wanted to make sure, from someone that did it.

EDIT: I tried https://dd-wrt.com/support/other-downloads/?path=betas%2F2020%2F01-14-2020-r41986%2Fnetgear-r7000P%2F and it did work.


Last edited by avok00 on Thu Jan 16, 2020 22:22; edited 1 time in total
Sponsor
tinkeruntilitworks
Guest





PostPosted: Thu Jan 16, 2020 21:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
it is confusing. i believe it was just for that specific build it used the other firmware.

use the link for the R7000P
check the build threads before hand to make sure its a good build

last year
https://download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/2019/
this year
https://download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/2020/


Last edited by tinkeruntilitworks on Thu Jan 16, 2020 22:29; edited 2 times in total
avok00
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 May 2013
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Jan 16, 2020 22:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
tinkeruntilitworks wrote:
it is confusing. i believe it was just for that specific build it used the other firmware.

use the link for the R7000P
check the build threads before hand to make sure its a good build

last year
https://download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/2019/
this year
https://download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/2020/


Thanks! I resolved an IP conflct and the connection to the router is stable for now
jac daniel
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Feb 2020
Posts: 6
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu Feb 27, 2020 0:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi,

I have a Netgear R7000P and want to set it up as a repeater.

I understand that the router files to upgrade the router to dd-wrt router control panel are the .chk file and the .bin file located either here:
https://dd-wrt.com/support/other-downloads/?path=betas%2F2020%2F02-25-2020-r42514%2Fnetgear-r7000P%2F
or here: https://download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/2020/02-25-2020-r42514/netgear-r7000P/

Installing the .chk file to the router is pretty staightforward, but not sure what needs to be done in
order to install the .bin file (or even which .bin file i should use??)

(In the 1st instance) - Reason being that this link: https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Netgear_R7000P
states do not 30/30/30 (hard reset) ARM routers - which is what the R7000P (AC2300) is.

But 'The Peacock thread' states to definitely do a hard reset to 'routers' when upgrading an existing dd-wrt build.


(In the second instance) - I noticed user avok00 above mentioned using 'netgear-r8000-webflash.bin (BS)', but i assume that's because he was talking about
an older build? I was thinking I need to use netgear-r7000p-webflash.bin to go with the factory-to-dd-wrt.chk file located at
https://download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/2020/02-25-2020-r42514/netgear-r7000P/

Any help much appreciated
nolimitz
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Nov 2010
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Thu Feb 27, 2020 3:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
jac daniel wrote:
Hi,

I have a Netgear R7000P and want to set it up as a repeater.

I understand that the router files to upgrade the router to dd-wrt router control panel are the .chk file and the .bin file located either here:
https://dd-wrt.com/support/other-downloads/?path=betas%2F2020%2F02-25-2020-r42514%2Fnetgear-r7000P%2F
or here: https://download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/2020/02-25-2020-r42514/netgear-r7000P/

Installing the .chk file to the router is pretty staightforward, but not sure what needs to be done in
order to install the .bin file (or even which .bin file i should use??)

(In the 1st instance) - Reason being that this link: https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Netgear_R7000P
states do not 30/30/30 (hard reset) ARM routers - which is what the R7000P (AC2300) is.

But 'The Peacock thread' states to definitely do a hard reset to 'routers' when upgrading an existing dd-wrt build.


(In the second instance) - I noticed user avok00 above mentioned using 'netgear-r8000-webflash.bin (BS)', but i assume that's because he was talking about
an older build? I was thinking I need to use netgear-r7000p-webflash.bin to go with the factory-to-dd-wrt.chk file located at
https://download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/2020/02-25-2020-r42514/netgear-r7000P/

Any help much appreciated



Forget about R8000 builds,

With recent builds, go to R7000P folder, and use factory to ddwrt if you are flashing from Netgear stock firmware. The bin file is for the flash if you already have ddwrt installed.

i flash my R7000P using the chk file anyway from Netgear stock or ddwrt so just get the chk file it works for both scenarios.

No need for hard reset on ARM. Peacock thread should really be updated to avoid the confusion.
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7444
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Thu Feb 27, 2020 4:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
R7000P will not do repeater modes. It will bootloop. Do not 30-30-30 an R7000P, either. You can do wired AP or gateway or wireless client/gateway modes. I didn't test client bridge(d) after client worked for me after bootlooping trying to set up repeater/RB.
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
jac daniel
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Feb 2020
Posts: 6
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu Feb 27, 2020 10:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:
R7000P will not do repeater modes. It will bootloop. Do not 30-30-30 an R7000P, either. You can do wired AP or gateway or wireless client/gateway modes. I didn't test client bridge(d) after client worked for me after bootlooping trying to set up repeater/RB.


I would like a wireless solution, so from what I can make out I think you suggest I should use stock firmware and set the r7000p as wireless client/gateway mode?

Well I came across this video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yvUuV72YITM

From 5:03 he explains setup of router as repeater using dd-wrt. I think it might work. However, don't know why he downloaded a .bin file though and how he even got it to work??- Maybe due to the type of router he had?
I would use the .chk file I mentioned earlier for the r7000p.

Shall I just generally follow this method in the video with the r7000P to set it up as a wireless repeater?

Don't really want to get Netgear Powerline - want to utilise the r7000p.

nb. Forgot to mention the host router will be r8000p (X6S)
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 6625
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Feb 27, 2020 10:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
Regarding .bin vs .chk file, have a look at the R6400 install guide, link in my signature at the bottom of this page.
_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
OpenVPN Policy Based Routing: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321686
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN Server Setup:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Wireguard Server setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1183135
Wireguard Client setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324624
Wireguard Advanced setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324787
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
jac daniel
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Feb 2020
Posts: 6
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu Feb 27, 2020 13:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks for the guide egc. Looks like another complication to add to the mix is the CLI. Shocked

I was hoping that things would be more 'simplistic' like in that youtube video I posted - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yvUuV72YITM
I'm tempted to follow that guide instead.

Thoughts on whether that would work Question
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7444
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Thu Feb 27, 2020 14:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
You will not get repeater or WDS modes working on Broadcom ARM. Period. You can do client mode in DD-WRT on at least the 2.4 band, which is how my R7000P is configured. Wireless client on 2.4, AP on 5GHz. I guess I wasn't clear enough. But go ahead if you want to follow that guide.
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 6625
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Feb 27, 2020 14:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
The install guide is just for information about installation and when to use .chk and when to use.bin files and how to setup and for first use (nvram erase && reboot)

Linking routers can be found here:
https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Linking_Routers

I avoid repeater bridge setup like the plaque, pull a cable or use power line adapters.
Repeater bridge setup is a kind of hack, and will not always work reliably.

Repeater usually will work, in your case dedicate one radio for the upstream connection and the other radio for use by the clients so use Client mode setup (avoid the bridged setup), take note: repeater or client will use separate subnets so there is no windows discovery and no easy seamless media streaming, for that you need a bridged setup , but as said that is not always reliable but YMMV

Take note of the advice of @kp69, if he says repeater mode will boot loop I would not go that route, his advice is almost always reliable and accurate!!

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
OpenVPN Policy Based Routing: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321686
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN Server Setup:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Wireguard Server setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1183135
Wireguard Client setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324624
Wireguard Advanced setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324787
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7444
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Thu Feb 27, 2020 14:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
egc wrote:
Take note of the advice of @kp69, if he says repeater mode will boot loop I would not go that route, his advice is almost always reliable and accurate!!


I spent an hour trying repeater and repeater bridge and getting it out of the bootloops, and I followed the wikis to the letter. If someone doesn't want to listen to my own personal experience with this device, I'll let them learn the hard way Evil or Very Mad Laughing Wink

_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
tinkeruntilitworks
Guest





PostPosted: Thu Feb 27, 2020 16:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
i tried

on the 2nd router setting 2.4GHz to Client

then ran AP 5GHz

it worked fairly good


i ended up connecting them via ethernet though


the 2nd router was a bit laggy when running wirless. could be many factors though. as kp says your mileage may very


*
i also had fun bootlooping it a couple days also lol
it was bootlooping for at least 2 different reaaons. all sorts of fun lol
jac daniel
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Feb 2020
Posts: 6
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu Feb 27, 2020 18:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks for all the advice.

I've just come across the 'TX (Transmit) Power' setting in 'advanced wireless' which should boost the wireless range; and if not cranked up too high won't adversely affect the router.
I might just forget about the 2nd router and instead just install dd-wrt on the main router, and then -say-double the default TX Power figure.
This should then make the Wi-Fi much stronger upstairs which is the problem - clearly a 2.4Ghz issue.

Would this be a good idea guys?



2.jpg
 Description:
Tx Power setting
 Filesize:  32.6 KB
 Viewed:  5150 Time(s)

2.jpg


Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 3958
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Thu Feb 27, 2020 18:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
yep you can triple it and will have a wi-fi on the Moon Razz
wi-fi power is limited by county domains

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 -----DD-WRT 44538 BS AP,NAT
TP-Link WR740Nv4 -----DD-WRT 44251 BS WAP/Switch
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---DD-WRT 44715 BS AP,NAT,AP Isolation,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---DD-WRT 44772 BS AP,NAT,AD Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---Gargoyle OS 1.12.0 AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas
Qualcomm/IPQ8065
Netgear R7800 -----DD-WRT 44849 BS AP,NAT,AD-Block,AP&Net Isolation,VLAN's,Firewall,Local DNS,DoT
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 -----DD-WRT 44849 BS AP,Wi-Fi OFF,NAT,AD-Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stubby for DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 by mac913
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum