WRT54GSv1 HEX Edit CFE??

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
Veritech
DD-WRT User


Joined: 02 Jan 2007
Posts: 181

PostPosted: Thu Feb 20, 2020 2:22    Post subject: WRT54GSv1 HEX Edit CFE?? Reply with quote
I've been reading about HEX editing these older routers to aid in preventing bricking when testing new firmware builds (see here:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=143775)

I have seen topics elsewhere covering other hardware versions newer than mine (version 1.0). I dumped the CFE and was able to view the data. I compared this dump to the closest revision 1.1 and the sdram_init= data is different. Is my version 1.0 more at risk than a version 1.1 with the HEX edit or is there a value I can drop in here that is safe? I like to give this router the best recovery options I can just in case.

Thanks

.:EDIT:. make subject more clear
Sponsor
redhawk0
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 11472
Location: Wherever the wind blows- North America

PostPosted: Fri Feb 21, 2020 19:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
For the GSv1 unit...sdram_init should be set to 0x0008

Attached is a working CFE for the GSv1.0 unit. Feel free to change the MAC address (location 1E00H)...or use it as is (your mac will not match your sticker)

redhawk



CFE-GSv1.0-Loaded.BIN
 Description:
from a scrapped unit.

Download
 Filename:  CFE-GSv1.0-Loaded.BIN
 Filesize:  256 KB
 Downloaded:  16 Time(s)


_________________
I do NOT provide personal assistance through chat or phone....so please don't ask.
Veritech
DD-WRT User


Joined: 02 Jan 2007
Posts: 181

PostPosted: Sat Feb 22, 2020 3:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
My current sdram_init is set to 0x0008 already. Should I change the boot_wait to on like the v1.1?
redhawk0
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 11472
Location: Wherever the wind blows- North America

PostPosted: Sun Feb 23, 2020 13:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
I never did. My unit worked just fine without it set to ON.

Its been so long....I don't even remember why the unit died. I probably tried to make it into something it wasn't and the attempt broke the unit.

Sorry I can't be more help...I do remember that I didn't do anything special. BTW...that CFE I posted came from Tornado when we were doing development work.

None of the GS1.0 units that I worked with ever had the boot_wait set to on.

redhawk

_________________
I do NOT provide personal assistance through chat or phone....so please don't ask.
Veritech
DD-WRT User


Joined: 02 Jan 2007
Posts: 181

PostPosted: Mon Feb 24, 2020 2:55    Post subject: @redhawk0 Reply with quote
I won't change the boot wait setting since all seems well and good. Thank you for your responses redhawk0.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum