YAMon 3.4 - usage monitoring for your router

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> General Questions
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 38, 39, 40, 41, 42  Next
Author Message
JosephAE
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Jan 2015
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Sun Feb 09, 2020 6:23    Post subject: YAMon4 Installation Reply with quote
I may have had an installation hiccup. YAMon4 after the installation isn’t using my old file for Group & Devices and all the usage history copied over form YAMon3 isn’t visible. I think because YAMon4 had created a data/2020/02 folder and only sees that history.
Sponsor
al_c
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Apr 2013
Posts: 2134
Location: Ottawa Canada

PostPosted: Sun Feb 09, 2020 22:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
If you are experiencing the users_created not found issue... the problem likely is in your users.js

Some bonehead left some old code in one of the files... (and you will only encounter it if users.js does not already exist.

Your users.js likely looks like this:
Code:
var users_version="4.0.6"
var users_created="2020-01-31 05:37:08"
var users_updated="2020-01-31 12:28:52" >> /opt/YAMon4/data/users.js
//MAC -> Groups
mac2group({ "mac":"5c:ad:cf:b1:84:92", "group":"Unknown" })
mac2group({ "mac":"44:91:60:85:fd:aa", "group":"Unknown" })
mac2group({ "mac":"f8:ff:c2:55:d5:da", "group":"Unknown" })
mac2group({ "mac":"f4:f5:d8:d1:ac:c6", "group":"Unknown" })
m
...


The offending bit is the
Code:
  >> /opt/YAMon4/data/users.js


If you delete that text, things (hopefully) should work (a lot better). Unfortunately the change has to be made on your router (in /opt/YAMon4/data/users.js) I cannot fix the issue from within the reports.

Sorry for the grief. Thanks to tvlz for spotting the error.

Sorry for the grief!

Al

_________________
Thanks to everyone for supporting YAMon!

If you use and like YAMon and have not done so recently, please consider making a donation - thanks!
YAMon GitHub Repository
veekay
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Mar 2009
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Fri Feb 28, 2020 17:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
Is there any function to either have Yamon restart itself at certain times or to ensure it is running?

I just went to check some usage logs and found out Yamon hasn't been running for the past 3 weeks. This has happened before, but I usually catch it after a few days.
scope2
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Jul 2017
Posts: 90

PostPosted: Fri Feb 28, 2020 18:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
veekay wrote:
Is there any function to either have Yamon restart itself at certain times or to ensure it is running?

I just went to check some usage logs and found out Yamon hasn't been running for the past 3 weeks. This has happened before, but I usually catch it after a few days.


I had this happen to me a few times and ended up setting up a cron job in the end, i now restart Yamon every night and haven't had any issues since.
veekay
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Mar 2009
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Fri Feb 28, 2020 18:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
scope2 wrote:

I had this happen to me a few times and ended up setting up a cron job in the end, i now restart Yamon every night and haven't had any issues since.


Would you mind sharing what you have been using?
scope2
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Jul 2017
Posts: 90

PostPosted: Fri Feb 28, 2020 19:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
veekay wrote:
scope2 wrote:

I had this happen to me a few times and ended up setting up a cron job in the end, i now restart Yamon every night and haven't had any issues since.


Would you mind sharing what you have been using?


Not at all.. I use the following commend under
Administrator/Management in DD-WRT:

0 3 * * * root /opt/YAMon3/restart.sh > /opt/YAMon3/log.file

No reason why it couldnt be added to the /tmp/crontab file on DD-WRT I suppose. (the location on other router OS might differ).

This above command will restart YAMon every night at 3am.
veekay
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Mar 2009
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Fri Feb 28, 2020 19:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
scope2 wrote:


Not at all.. I use the following commend under
Administrator/Management in DD-WRT:

0 3 * * * root /opt/YAMon3/restart.sh > /opt/YAMon3/log.file

No reason why it couldnt be added to the /tmp/crontab file on DD-WRT I suppose. (the location on other router OS might differ).

This above command will restart YAMon every night at 3am.


Thanks - hopefully this will solve the problem!
croweater
DD-WRT User


Joined: 28 Dec 2019
Posts: 59

PostPosted: Sat Feb 29, 2020 14:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sadly, I have to stop using YAMon because mounting a USB at /opt kills my 4 ethernet ports on the back of my router.

I don't suppose there is a way to run YAMon without using USB mount?
al_c
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Apr 2013
Posts: 2134
Location: Ottawa Canada

PostPosted: Sat Feb 29, 2020 14:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
veekay wrote:
scope2 wrote:


Not at all.. I use the following commend under
Administrator/Management in DD-WRT:

0 3 * * * root /opt/YAMon3/restart.sh > /opt/YAMon3/log.file

No reason why it couldnt be added to the /tmp/crontab file on DD-WRT I suppose. (the location on other router OS might differ).

This above command will restart YAMon every night at 3am.


Thanks - hopefully this will solve the problem!


I'm perplexed as to why the main YAMon process dies on you... that is a little distressing. It is also why I moved to a cron based system in YAMon v4.

_________________
Thanks to everyone for supporting YAMon!

If you use and like YAMon and have not done so recently, please consider making a donation - thanks!
YAMon GitHub Repository
al_c
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Apr 2013
Posts: 2134
Location: Ottawa Canada

PostPosted: Sat Feb 29, 2020 14:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
croweater wrote:
Sadly, I have to stop using YAMon because mounting a USB at /opt kills my 4 ethernet ports on the back of my router.

I don't suppose there is a way to run YAMon without using USB mount?


Inserting a USB drive into your router prevents your Ethernet ports from working?!? If yes, it sounds like you might have a larger hardware issue

If the issue is mounting the USB drive to /opt, you can change the mount point (to /mnt or /jffs) perhaps. But again, I don't see how the mount point would prevent the Ethernet ports from working

It is (theoretically) possible to run YAMon from a network share (simba or similar) but I have no idea how to do that.

Al



If you can figure

_________________
Thanks to everyone for supporting YAMon!

If you use and like YAMon and have not done so recently, please consider making a donation - thanks!
YAMon GitHub Repository
veekay
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Mar 2009
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Sat Feb 29, 2020 17:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
al_c wrote:

I'm perplexed as to why the main YAMon process dies on you... that is a little distressing. It is also why I moved to a cron based system in YAMon v4.


I still plan to move to 4 and now is probably a good time since the first of the month is here.

Will installing 4 move the 3 data over or will they be separate processes?
croweater
DD-WRT User


Joined: 28 Dec 2019
Posts: 59

PostPosted: Sat Feb 29, 2020 18:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
It is strange. All four ports stop working after a day or two. Reboot is a temporary fix.

I will try a remote mount, like NFS or Samba. Thanks
ddaniel51
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2013
Posts: 1384

PostPosted: Sun Mar 01, 2020 6:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
croweater wrote:
Sadly, I have to stop using YAMon because mounting a USB at /opt kills my 4 ethernet ports on the back of my router.


What router and firmware are you running?

I have used a number of Netgear routers running DD-WRT firmware with USB sticks and now USB SSD drives that contain 2 partitions labeled opt and jffs and never had a problem with the ethernet ports.

_________________
Segment 1 R9000 10Gb LAN, 1Gb ISP BS
Test Bed R9000 10Gb LAN
Wired AP 1 R9000 10Gb LAN
Wired AP 2 R9000 1Gb LAN
Wired AP 3 R9000 1Gb LAN
Test Bed R7800 1Gb LAN OpenWRT Kong
download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/ (Brain Slayer)
www.desipro.de/openwrt/ (Kong's)
YAMon usage-
www.monitoring.com/manualInstall.php
croweater
DD-WRT User


Joined: 28 Dec 2019
Posts: 59

PostPosted: Sun Mar 01, 2020 15:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
Netgear 7800
Firmware r42557
al_c
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Apr 2013
Posts: 2134
Location: Ottawa Canada

PostPosted: Sun Mar 01, 2020 22:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
croweater wrote:
Netgear 7800
Firmware r42557

Wow... that's odd! Your firmware is current and the r7800 is one of the most common routers using YAMon (see https://usage-monitoring.com/router-tally.php). I've never heard of this issue from any of them .

However, a quick google and it seems like it is a known issue:
https://community.netgear.com/t5/Nighthawk-WiFi-Routers/Nighthawk-R7800-keeps-dropping-Ethernet-devices/td-p/1263954

Good luck![/url]

_________________
Thanks to everyone for supporting YAMon!

If you use and like YAMon and have not done so recently, please consider making a donation - thanks!
YAMon GitHub Repository
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 38, 39, 40, 41, 42  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 39 of 42
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> General Questions All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum