[SOLVED] Netgear R6300v2 COX

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
mjforan
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Feb 2020
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Fri Feb 07, 2020 13:34    Post subject: [SOLVED] Netgear R6300v2 COX Reply with quote
The wiki page for the R6300v2 lists three variants, but it seems I have found a new one. The sticker says the model is R6300v2 with FCC ID PY313200227. However, the firmware is V1.0.3.48_10.0.85COX. Apparently ISPs like to put out their own versions of this router so it is locked to their management tools. The wiki points to firmware for Charter and Spectrum versions, but not Cox. I tried using the firmware for standard 6300v2 as well as the "ch" version used for Charter and Spectrum. I also tried flashing the stock Netgear OEM firmware. Each time the router GUI says the firmware file is incorrect and the upgrade fails. Does anyone have experience with this variant or advice on how to flash it?

Last edited by mjforan on Sat Feb 08, 2020 23:50; edited 1 time in total
Sponsor
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 5764
Location: Romerike, Norway

PostPosted: Fri Feb 07, 2020 14:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
Put the router in recovery mode and flash with TFTP.
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7221
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Fri Feb 07, 2020 23:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
As far as I know it doesn’t have a recovery mode.
_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7183
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sat Feb 08, 2020 0:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
You need to know which board id it is. Probably have to use telnetenable for that. If it's actually the AC1450, you don't want to try to convert it to an R6300v2.

http://en.techinfodepot.shoutwiki.com/wiki/Netgear_AC1450

http://en.techinfodepot.shoutwiki.com/wiki/Netgear_R6300_v2

Only thing I could suggest is to try using nmrpflash or TFTP to flash OEM stock firmware on it and go from there.

_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
mjforan
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Feb 2020
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sat Feb 08, 2020 15:31    Post subject: Netgear R6300v2 COX Reply with quote
Thank you for the replies! I followed this guide to access the serial port and start the TFTP server. Then I used tftp2 to flash the OEM stock firmware. tftp2 claimed it was flashed successfully, but it is still running the Cox firmware.

I tried using the reset button as well as "nvram erase && reboot" as suggested on the wiki page, but it still shows Cox. I don't think the nvram command works on the current firmware because "nvram erase" caused the command usage line to display.

The board ID is actually U12H240T33, which does not appear on either of the pages you linked. I searched for that ID online and the only results were some Chinese sites discussing how it overheats.

Since I have serial and telnet access now I can give you any other information that might be helpful.
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 5764
Location: Romerike, Norway

PostPosted: Sat Feb 08, 2020 16:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
The board ID does not match.

R6300V2: U12H240T00
AC1450: U12H240T99
R6300V2-CH: U12H240T70
mjforan
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Feb 2020
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sat Feb 08, 2020 16:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
Per Yngve Berg wrote:
The board ID does not match.

R6300V2: U12H240T00
AC1450: U12H240T99
R6300V2-CH: U12H240T70


I know it doesn't match any of the other boards -- that's the problem. The model is R6300v2 but it is a Cox-specific version. That's why it won't accept the usual R6300v2 firmware.
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 5764
Location: Romerike, Norway

PostPosted: Sat Feb 08, 2020 17:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
duntuk wrote:
SOLVED:

I was able to update my router by telneting into it, and changing the boardid from AC1450 to R6300v2 by doing:


Code:
burnboardid U12H240T00_NETGEAR
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7183
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sat Feb 08, 2020 18:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
Per Yngve Berg wrote:
duntuk wrote:
SOLVED:

I was able to update my router by telneting into it, and changing the boardid from AC1450 to R6300v2 by doing:


Code:
burnboardid U12H240T00_NETGEAR


That was my next suggestion, although <Kong> advised against doing that to an AC1450 at one point.

_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
mjforan
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Feb 2020
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sat Feb 08, 2020 23:48    Post subject: Netgear R6300v2 COX Reply with quote
Thank you all for your help! On the My Open Router forum I found someone else who changed the board ID from the Charter/Spectrum version, so I was encouraged to try it on mine. I was able to successfully flash the OEM firmware, then DD-WRT. I haven't tested every feature but it is working well so far.
redhawk0
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 11472
Location: Wherever the wind blows- North America

PostPosted: Sun Feb 09, 2020 20:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
mjforan....I added a link to this thread in the wiki page for the R6300v2 unit.

much appreciated information.

redhawk

_________________
I do NOT provide personal assistance through chat or phone....so please don't ask.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum