New Build 41954: 01-09-2020-r41954

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
robbbaxley
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Apr 2013
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Fri Jan 10, 2020 15:33    Post subject: Netgear X10 r9000 issues Reply with quote
Upon loading this firmware version r41954 on my r9000, interface and device becomes non-responsive. Power-cycling successfully resets the device. Upon boot, it's still using the previous firmware version r41892.
Sponsor
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 8556
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Fri Jan 10, 2020 15:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
Vitello wrote:
What exactly made you cringe about that, Kernel-panic69? What am I missing?


Makes me think of enabling NetBEUI and NetBIOS on Windows and exposing it to the world. I still need to do some research on it before I have a good feeling about it.

_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines & Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum. ---------------------- Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7465
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Sat Jan 11, 2020 11:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
firewall problems https://svn.dd-wrt.com/ticket/6947 this will probably explain many things.... (that i havent mentioned yet)
_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S)

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

[x86_64] Haswell i3-4150/QCA9984/QCA9882 ------> r46450 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------------------------> r46450 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------------------------> r46450 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 --------------------------> r46350 std
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 ----------------------------> r46329 std


If you use DSLReports please enable hi-res bufferbloat.


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
jerrytouille
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Dec 2015
Posts: 1301

PostPosted: Sat Jan 11, 2020 14:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
egc wrote:
even normal WAN<>LAN throughput is hampered and not more than 650 Mb/s)


r7800 limit (wifi) is 1733 mbps so 650 is not even half of that. i assume this 650 apply to LAN<>LAN as well?
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 7532
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Jan 11, 2020 15:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
I am talking about WAN<>LAN throughput, so router performing NAT.
If you keep the up_threshold at default 80 throughput is around 650 Mb/s
If you lower the up_threshold to 35 or 20 you can get 900 Mb/s.

I am not talking about wireless.
I did test wireless 160 Mhz with 1733 Mb/s. But I did not get more than 700 Mb/s effective throughput WLAN<>LAN, but that could well be that the laptop is the bottleneck. The wifi 6 chipset should do more but I do not know how it is connected internally

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
WireGuard Documents & Guides:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327397
OpenVPN Documents & Guides: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327398
IPSET: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327261
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
ho1Aetoo
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2019
Posts: 612

PostPosted: Sat Jan 11, 2020 15:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
the WLAN/LAN routing performance of the R7800 is ~700mbit/sek

no further testing needed - the value is known
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 4291
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Sat Jan 11, 2020 17:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
ho1Aetoo wrote:
the WLAN/LAN routing performance of the R7800 is ~700mbit/sek

no further testing needed - the value is known


well with max CPU and some cores fiddling, using Kong firmware i managed to get up to 900-1000Mbit WAN to LAN in the past ...

the 900-1000 Mbit WAN performance value of R7800 is known....

haven't tested it now, I never had a chance to test that speed from my ISP, as i don't have it anymore...
performance also depends on settings, clients type/mode and ect.

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 -----DD-WRT 46446 BS AP,NAT
TP-Link WR740Nv4 -----DD-WRT 44251 BS WAP/Switch
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---DD-WRT 46446 BS AP,NAT,AP Isolation,Ad-Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---DD-WRT 46446 BS AP,NAT,AD/Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---Gargoyle OS 1.12.0 AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas
Qualcomm/IPQ8065
Netgear R7800 -----DD-WRT 46446 BS AP,NAT,AD-Block,AP&Net Isolation,VLAN's,Firewall,Local DNS,DoT
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 -----DD-WRT 46446 BS AP,Wi-Fi OFF,NAT,AD-Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,VLAN's,DoT,VPN
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stubby for DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 by mac913
ACwifidude
DD-WRT User


Joined: 18 Mar 2019
Posts: 56

PostPosted: Sat Jan 11, 2020 18:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
ho1Aetoo wrote:
the WLAN/LAN routing performance of the R7800 is ~700mbit/sek

no further testing needed - the value is known


With no CPU tweaks you’ll be stuck at 700mbps using the on demand governor. The default on demand up threshold is 95% (CPU default is 384 MHz, won’t turn up the frequency until the CPU is 95% in use!).

See for yourself with the on demand governor turned on:

cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu*/cpufreq/cpuinfo_cur_freq

cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpufreq/ondemand/up_threshold

The R7800 is capable of 800 to low 900 WAN => LAN with SFE turned on and the appropriate CPU settings.



Running the performance governor or setting the ondemand governor up threshold more aggressive consistently gives mid to high 800mbps. I’m personally running the following up threshold of 35% (similar to egc’s recommendation, lowers the threshold to turn the CPU frequency up to 1.7ghz on demand):

Code:
 echo 35 > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpufreq/ondemand/up_threshold; echo 10 > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpufreq/ondemand/sampling_down_factor
ho1Aetoo
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2019
Posts: 612

PostPosted: Sun Jan 12, 2020 9:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
i was talking about WLAN (not WAN) to LAN
WLAN is encrypted and needs more CPU cycles as unencrypted traffic

simple iperf3 test @500mbit between WLAN and LAN client results in nearly 100% CPU usage of 1 core

Code:
[SUM]   0.00-60.03  sec  3.53 GBytes   505 Mbits/sec                  sender
[SUM]   0.00-60.03  sec  3.50 GBytes   501 Mbits/sec                  receiver


 55.8% idle  0.0% io  0.0% irq 43.9% sirq
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7465
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Sun Jan 12, 2020 11:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
ho1Aetoo wrote:
i was talking about WLAN (not WAN) to LAN
WLAN is encrypted and needs more CPU cycles as unencrypted traffic

simple iperf3 test @500mbit between WLAN and LAN client results in nearly 100% CPU usage of 1 core

Code:
[SUM]   0.00-60.03  sec  3.53 GBytes   505 Mbits/sec                  sender
[SUM]   0.00-60.03  sec  3.50 GBytes   501 Mbits/sec                  receiver


 55.8% idle  0.0% io  0.0% irq 43.9% sirq


which isnt normal anyway, compare that to latest kong build, his has WAY less cpu. same as kong or BS k3.18 builds, but as usual BS doesnt believe k4.x broke ipq806x in multiple ways.. (including ondemand scaling, thresholds still dont fix it properly)

_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S)

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

[x86_64] Haswell i3-4150/QCA9984/QCA9882 ------> r46450 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------------------------> r46450 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------------------------> r46450 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 --------------------------> r46350 std
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 ----------------------------> r46329 std


If you use DSLReports please enable hi-res bufferbloat.


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 7532
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Jan 12, 2020 11:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
I did some limited testing between Kong and BS and was not able to find a difference with my limited testing and when looking at the load average: see: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=322366&postdays=0&postorder=asc&highlight=r7800&start=15 about the thenth post

Just a thought, when I started reading about the performance (CPU governor, core affinity etc) I noticed that that my interrupts and core affinity settings were different from the ones reported.
Maybe it is just updated and everyone else has the same settings but I post them here anyway for you to check.

Code:
root@R7800:~# cat /proc/interrupts
           CPU0       CPU1
 16:   44563361   44626855     GIC-0  18 Edge      gp_timer
 18:         65          0     GIC-0  51 Edge      qcom_rpm_ack
 19:          0          0     GIC-0  53 Edge      qcom_rpm_err
 20:          0          0     GIC-0  54 Edge      qcom_rpm_wakeup
 96:          0          0     GIC-0 210 Edge      tsens_interrupt
 97:   30350018          0     GIC-0  67 Edge      qcom-pcie-msi
 98:         26   18221903     GIC-0  89 Edge      qcom-pcie-msi
 99:     111226          0     GIC-0 202 Edge      adm_dma
100:   26158001          0     GIC-0 255 Level     eth0
101:          0    7453475     GIC-0 258 Level     eth1
102:          0          0     GIC-0 130 Level     bam_dma
103:          0          0     GIC-0 128 Level     bam_dma
104:          0          0   PCI-MSI   0 Edge      aerdrv
105:   30350018          0   PCI-MSI   1 Edge      ath10k_pci
137:          0          0   PCI-MSI   0 Edge      aerdrv
138:         26   18221904   PCI-MSI   1 Edge      ath10k_pci
170:       1213          0     GIC-0 184 Level     msm_serial0
171:          2          0     GIC-0 187 Level     1a280000.spi
IPI0:         0          0       CPU wakeup interrupts
IPI1:         0          0       Timer broadcast interrupts
IPI2:    787072    1092319       Rescheduling interrupts
IPI3:   3469021    7681973       Function call interrupts
IPI4:         0          0       CPU stop interrupts
IPI5:   2157958    2177411       IRQ work interrupts
IPI6:         0          0       completion interrupts
Err:          0
root@R7800:~#

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
WireGuard Documents & Guides:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327397
OpenVPN Documents & Guides: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327398
IPSET: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327261
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 4291
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Sun Jan 12, 2020 12:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
well... egc, do you use any core lines in start up?
or this is plain output....??
How does max CPU settings affect this performance or you are using ondemand...???

I was using MAX CPU for a bit of a time, but i have some
cooling mods and extra thermal pads here and there in my R7800, so never had an overheating issue..with max CPU

Currently still using few CPU core lines to balance cores, and ondemand CPU with 35 threshold, but haven't seen the recent CPU cores output, it seems BS does balancing and those lines my only become obsolete and interfere with the firmware builds...
I guess i have to be more observant on the subject...
So, far for my needs R7800 its working ok...

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 -----DD-WRT 46446 BS AP,NAT
TP-Link WR740Nv4 -----DD-WRT 44251 BS WAP/Switch
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---DD-WRT 46446 BS AP,NAT,AP Isolation,Ad-Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---DD-WRT 46446 BS AP,NAT,AD/Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---Gargoyle OS 1.12.0 AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas
Qualcomm/IPQ8065
Netgear R7800 -----DD-WRT 46446 BS AP,NAT,AD-Block,AP&Net Isolation,VLAN's,Firewall,Local DNS,DoT
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 -----DD-WRT 46446 BS AP,Wi-Fi OFF,NAT,AD-Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,VLAN's,DoT,VPN
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stubby for DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 by mac913
alain
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 06 Jun 2006
Posts: 601

PostPosted: Sun Jan 12, 2020 13:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
Unfortunately, since a few builds, clients cannot see the AP any more when Wireless encryption is active.
All clients (different brands) cannot see the Wifi Router any more
It seems the bug has been introduced with 12-21-2019-r41771. Build 12-10-2019-r41686 still works fine. For all later builds, Wifi is not visible if encryption active.

Router Model: TP-Link TL-WDR4300 v1
CPU Model: Atheros AR9344 ver 1 rev 1.2 (0x2122)
Wireless Chipset: AR934x 802.11n WiSOC
Wireless mode: AP (ath0 + ath1)
Encryption: WPA Personal + AES

Logfiles attached
aelfinn
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Feb 2008
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Sun Jan 12, 2020 16:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
alain wrote:
Unfortunately, since a few builds, clients cannot see the AP any more when Wireless encryption is active.
All clients (different brands) cannot see the Wifi Router any more
It seems the bug has been introduced with 12-21-2019-r41771. Build 12-10-2019-r41686 still works fine. For all later builds, Wifi is not visible if encryption active.

That seems to be exactly my experience (Router: TP-Link TL-WDR3600 v1).
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7465
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Sun Jan 12, 2020 17:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
<7>[ 6.880000] ieee80211 phy0: Selected rate control algorithm 'minstrel_ht'
<3>[ 6.890000] gpiochip_find_base: cannot find free range
<3>[ 6.890000] gpiochip_add: gpios -1..21 (ath9k-phy0) failed to register

<6>[ 6.900000] ieee80211 phy0: Atheros AR9340 Rev:0 mem=0xb8100000, irq=78
<4>[ 6.900000] PCI: Enabling device 0000:00:00.0 (0000 -> 0002)
<7>[ 6.920000] ath: EEPROM regdomain: 0x0
<7>[ 6.920000] ath: EEPROM indicates default country code should be used
<7>[ 6.920000] ath: doing EEPROM country->regdmn map search
<7>[ 6.920000] ath: country maps to regdmn code: 0x3a
<7>[ 6.920000] ath: Country alpha2 being used: US
<7>[ 6.920000] ath: Regpair used: 0x3a
<7>[ 6.930000] ieee80211 phy1: Selected rate control algorithm 'minstrel_ht'
<3>[ 6.930000] gpiochip_find_base: cannot find free range
<3>[ 6.940000] gpiochip_add: gpios -1..14 (ath9k-phy1) failed to register


well that looks like a problem..

_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S)

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

[x86_64] Haswell i3-4150/QCA9984/QCA9882 ------> r46450 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------------------------> r46450 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------------------------> r46450 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 --------------------------> r46350 std
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 ----------------------------> r46329 std


If you use DSLReports please enable hi-res bufferbloat.


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 2 of 3
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum