Archer C9/C1900 -5533 Error Flashing DD-WRT

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
jpalandra
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Aug 2012
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun Oct 28, 2018 2:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
alexboy wrote:
Hello guys!
I encountered the same problem as many of you, i.e.
I installed the latest US firmware (v3.17.1 2018-01-25) and it prevented me to switch to DD-WRT or any other FW, giving the "Error Code -5533".
Eventually I found the solution: you need to flash the following binary, it's stock UN version and it's quite new, so you may think to stay on it or flash DD-WRT next (http://support.tp-link.com/f/15b1b7ed92/).

So, my flashing log was:
- upgrade to 3.17.1 2018-01-25 (stuck here for some time)
- flash 4-1-0-P12002[20180223-rel35954] (upper link)
- recommended stable DD-WRT r29409 (by factory-to-ddwrt.bin)
- user-recommended DD-WRT r35531 (by archer-c9v1-webflash.bin)

Hope this will help you, guys.


Thanks for sharing, I believe you have found the fix for those on build 3.17.1.
Sponsor
RWElphinstone
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Jan 2015
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Oct 29, 2018 18:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
alexboy wrote:
I encountered the same problem as many of you, i.e. I installed the latest US firmware (v3.17.1 2018-01-25) and it prevented me to switch to DD-WRT or any other FW, giving the "Error Code -5533".
Eventually I found the solution: you need to flash the following binary, it's stock UN version and it's quite new, so you may think to stay on it or flash DD-WRT next (http://support.tp-link.com/f/15b1b7ed92/).


This is awesome, but here is the Million Dollar Question. Can you (in theory) Flash your UN stock version on a Canadian Archer C1900 without bricking it? If so, and it brings me back to a stock state, then I am definitely all for trying. (Especially if this is the pathway to the almighty DD-WRT on my router!)

If anyone can say that they've done this, then I'm game to do it myself. (And, of course, report back with any new information and/or a success post!)
alexboy
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Oct 2018
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue Oct 30, 2018 15:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
RWElphinstone wrote:
alexboy wrote:
I encountered the same problem as many of you, i.e. I installed the latest US firmware (v3.17.1 2018-01-25) and it prevented me to switch to DD-WRT or any other FW, giving the "Error Code -5533".
Eventually I found the solution: you need to flash the following binary, it's stock UN version and it's quite new, so you may think to stay on it or flash DD-WRT next (http://support.tp-link.com/f/15b1b7ed92/).


This is awesome, but here is the Million Dollar Question. Can you (in theory) Flash your UN stock version on a Canadian Archer C1900 without bricking it? If so, and it brings me back to a stock state, then I am definitely all for trying. (Especially if this is the pathway to the almighty DD-WRT on my router!)

If anyone can say that they've done this, then I'm game to do it myself. (And, of course, report back with any new information and/or a success post!)


Well, I think there is no difference between localizations, the main difference only HW revision. And mine is v.1.
I think it's quite safe to try, just do it Smile
yfz460
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Dec 2018
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat Dec 08, 2018 18:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
alexboy wrote:
Hello guys!
I encountered the same problem as many of you, i.e.
I installed the latest US firmware (v3.17.1 2018-01-25) and it prevented me to switch to DD-WRT or any other FW, giving the "Error Code -5533".
Eventually I found the solution: you need to flash the following binary, it's stock UN version and it's quite new, so you may think to stay on it or flash DD-WRT next (http://support.tp-link.com/f/15b1b7ed92/).

So, my flashing log was:
- upgrade to 3.17.1 2018-01-25 (stuck here for some time)
- flash 4-1-0-P12002[20180223-rel35954] (upper link)
- recommended stable DD-WRT r29409 (by factory-to-ddwrt.bin)
- user-recommended DD-WRT r35531 (by archer-c9v1-webflash.bin)

Hope this will help you, guys.


Any chance someone here has and can host firmware 4-1-0-P12002 (20180223-rel35954)? It's no longer on TPLink's site, and the oldest firmwares I've found all get the 5533 error. I have also contacted TPLink and their support was about as useful as anticipated.

Figures, the day I decide to finally OpenVPN this router, I upgrade to 3.17.1 expecting to see the capability in the OEM firmware and come to find out that function is only available to the V5 units... Evil or Very Mad
zensmooth
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Nov 2018
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2019 23:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
raz0r wrote:
I've got a C9 v1 today.
Which dd-wrt Release Version is supposed to be the most stable for the Archer C9 V1?


Depends on your use, if you want a basic gateway and AP (include KRACKs patch) then current beta build will do the job.

xoltrix2000 wrote:
Hello. I'm having issue with flashing.

I have Archer C1900 v1 (3.18.0 Build 20160201 Rel.42677n)
I downloaded and tried Build r37305, r38159 and r38155 for that router but still get this error:

Code:
Error code: -5533
Error occurred, please try again.


I'm not sure what else to do.
Your help is appreciated.


Have you followed the dd-wrt wiki?
noahns
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Jan 2019
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2019 16:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
zensmooth wrote:
raz0r wrote:
I've got a C9 v1 today.
Which dd-wrt Release Version is supposed to be the most stable for the Archer C9 V1?


Depends on your use, if you want a basic gateway and AP (include KRACKs patch) then current beta build will do the job.

xoltrix2000 wrote:
Hello. I'm having issue with flashing.

I have Archer C1900 v1 (3.18.0 Build 20160201 Rel.42677n)
I downloaded and tried Build r37305, r38159 and r38155 for that router but still get this error:

Code:
Error code: -5533
Error occurred, please try again.


I'm not sure what else to do.
Your help is appreciated.


Have you followed the dd-wrt wiki?


I am having this same problem. Any solutions?
zensmooth
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Nov 2018
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Sat Jan 12, 2019 16:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
noahns wrote:

I am having this same problem. Any solutions?


You've not following DD-WRT guide carefully in the flashing steps.
Pronto2
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Aug 2019
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat Aug 17, 2019 17:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi everyone! I've been trying to get DD-WRT working on my C1900 v1, but can't get anywhere. Like others I keep getting the -5533 errors. I've read on here how some people were successful in getting DD-WRT to work by first getting the UN version of the TPLink FW to work. I'm unable to do either. No matter what I do (even going back to the 2015 version of the C1900 v1 FW), I keep getting that -5533 error. I've tried trying changing the wifi name trying to unlock it, but no luck.
Can anyone provide any help? I'm hoping that I'm not out of luck, and there is some sort of a workaround.
crunchycorn
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Aug 2019
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat Aug 31, 2019 7:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
If you are getting 5533 error on web ui while flashing dd-wrt, follow instructions mentioned in this thread https://community.tp-link.com/en/home/forum/topic/109620?replyId=304479 . This will allow you to install a test firmware. From this firmware, you can flash factor-to-ddwrt.bin firmware.

Note: Only works for archer c9 v1 (other versions may have test firmware floating around too). My archer c9 v1 was on latest tp-link firmware and i was able to flash latest dd-wrt beta using the test firmware in above link.
xoltrix2000
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Apr 2016
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sun Nov 17, 2019 7:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
zensmooth wrote:
raz0r wrote:
I've got a C9 v1 today.
Which dd-wrt Release Version is supposed to be the most stable for the Archer C9 V1?


Depends on your use, if you want a basic gateway and AP (include KRACKs patch) then current beta build will do the job.

xoltrix2000 wrote:
Hello. I'm having issue with flashing.

I have Archer C1900 v1 (3.18.0 Build 20160201 Rel.42677n)
I downloaded and tried Build r37305, r38159 and r38155 for that router but still get this error:

Code:
Error code: -5533
Error occurred, please try again.


I'm not sure what else to do.
Your help is appreciated.


Have you followed the dd-wrt wiki?



I have. Since the C1900 is identical as per wiki, I downloaded the factory-to-ddwrt.bin file from the BrainSlayer list of approved betas (using the latest). On my TPLINK UI, I factory reset. I also factory reset via button to be sure. I then click on Firmware Upgrade, browse to the factory-to-ddwrt.bin file and then get that 5533 error. I factory reset again, still same issue. I am using FCC TE7C9 (which is v1).

Any help is greatly appreciated.

P.S. I already did try and flash the UN "test" version and it too gave me this error.
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 6429
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sun Nov 17, 2019 11:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
xoltrix2000 wrote:
zensmooth wrote:
raz0r wrote:
I've got a C9 v1 today.
Which dd-wrt Release Version is supposed to be the most stable for the Archer C9 V1?


Depends on your use, if you want a basic gateway and AP (include KRACKs patch) then current beta build will do the job.

xoltrix2000 wrote:
Hello. I'm having issue with flashing.

I have Archer C1900 v1 (3.18.0 Build 20160201 Rel.42677n)
I downloaded and tried Build r37305, r38159 and r38155 for that router but still get this error:

Code:
Error code: -5533
Error occurred, please try again.


I'm not sure what else to do.
Your help is appreciated.


Have you followed the dd-wrt wiki?



I have. Since the C1900 is identical as per wiki, I downloaded the factory-to-ddwrt.bin file from the BrainSlayer list of approved betas (using the latest). On my TPLINK UI, I factory reset. I also factory reset via button to be sure. I then click on Firmware Upgrade, browse to the factory-to-ddwrt.bin file and then get that 5533 error. I factory reset again, still same issue. I am using FCC TE7C9 (which is v1).

Any help is greatly appreciated.

P.S. I already did try and flash the UN "test" version and it too gave me this error.


See my reply in your other thread. Try using the version in the wiki for initial flash and upgrade from there.

_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
RTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse.
Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
“Suitcase” v5: 4x (2x Intel® E5645) on Intel® S5500HV
“Suitcase” v1: 4xQuad P6pro-200 SL25A SMP Proliant 7000s
xoltrix2000
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Apr 2016
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Nov 25, 2019 7:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
xoltrix2000 wrote:
Hello. I'm having issue with flashing.

I have Archer C1900 v1 (3.18.0 Build 20160201 Rel.42677n)
I downloaded and tried Build r37305, r38159 and r38155 for that router but still get this error:

Code:
Error code: -5533
Error occurred, please try again.


I'm not sure what else to do.
Your help is appreciated.


Have you followed the dd-wrt wiki?[/quote]

Aye, I have tried the UN test version mentioned here, still error 5533, tried via TFTP, it uploads but just boots back into the latest official TPlink firmware.

I also tried the recommended version from the wiki (r29409), still same error.
xmind
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Jan 2020
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun Jan 05, 2020 22:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
Just created this account to follow up that I was running into the same issue with the 5533 error and not being able to flash from the latest stock TP firmware.

I ended up finding a test file on a page where someone posted with the same issue here: https://community.tp-link.com/en/home/forum/topic/151501

The TP link for the file didn't work, but the Mega one did.

Flashed my router with this test file and once rebooted, it accepted the DD-WRT factory to wrt bin without issues.
CAPTawesome56
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Jan 2020
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Jan 22, 2020 21:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
Can anyone help me? I’ve been trying to flash my archer C9v1 and keep getting error -5533. The current firmware is 20180125, (not sure the rev as I’m at work). I’ve cleared browser cache, changed ports, restored to factory defaults, etc.

Do I need to downgrade firmware to a 2015ish?
adamscabana
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Jan 2020
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Jan 23, 2020 14:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
CAPTawesome56 wrote:
Can anyone help me? I’ve been trying to flash my archer C9v1 and keep getting error -5533. The current firmware is 20180125, (not sure the rev as I’m at work). I’ve cleared browser cache, changed ports, restored to factory defaults, etc.

Do I need to downgrade firmware to a 2015ish?


I did modified Bricked Router steps:
Install Solarwinds TFTP software (this was the first one I tried and it just worked)
Switch off the router
Plug in an ethernet cable into your pc and into an ethernet port on the router (not the wan port)
Download the original v1 firmware from tp-link
Rename the downloaded firmware as: archerc9v1_tp_recovery.bin
Put the firmware file in the TFTP path (check the tftp settings after installation, but I think it was c:\tftp)
Change your nic ip address to: 192.168.0.66
Switch on the router, holding the RESET button for 2-4 seconds (may need a few seconds more)
The firmware will be automatically downloaded and installed by the router.

This worked for me after numerous failed revert attempts.
I tried to use dd-wrt but the tp-link router was never connecting to the internet.
Reverting and going thru the tp-link setup just worked...in about 2 minutes.
Then I was able to upgrade the tp-link firmware to the latest version.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 4 of 5
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum