HELP! wl BSSID's going to zero ?!!!

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
MrPete
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Jul 2013
Posts: 82

PostPosted: Fri Dec 13, 2019 4:42    Post subject: HELP! wl BSSID's going to zero ?!!! Reply with quote
I am tearing my few remaining hairs out Sad

I could use help from a hwaddr/mac expert or two...

- This is on Kong build 40270, R7000
- I do have some fancy stuff but never has been an issue until I had to rebuild the config today. Sad
(Multiple VLANs, 2+1 virtual AP's on 2.4G/5G)

What I see:
* On the surface: immediately after boot, all Wifi appears ok for a few seconds
* But then most disappear
(I have wifi on eth1, eth2, wl0.1, wl0.2, wl1.1)

Digging in, I noticed:
* nvram hwaddr's appeared ok, except def_hwaddr and def_whwaddr were 00:00:00:00:00:00
* wl -i xyz bssid is 00:00:00:00:00:00 for all wifi that disappears. (Disappeared: all but eth2?!)

* I tried replacing the 00:00 nvrams with the obvious default (pci/1/1/macaddr)
* After reboot, all looked good (all bssid's ok)...
* But a few seconds later, the 'bad' wifi bssid's went to zero again.

Any thoughts?

Here are all of my existing nvram hwaddr's:

50:6a:03:c9:f7:e5 et0macaddr
50:6A:03:C9:F7:E5 et0macaddr_safe
50:6A:03:C9:F7:E5 eth0_hwaddr
50:6A:03:C9:F7:E5 vlan10_hwaddr
50:6A:03:C9:F7:E5 vlan11_hwaddr
50:6A:03:C9:F7:E5 vlan12_hwaddr
50:6A:03:C9:F7:E5 vlan15_hwaddr
50:6A:03:C9:F7:E5 vlan1_hwaddr
50:6A:03:C9:F7:E5 vlan9_hwaddr
50:6A:03:C9:F7:E6 vlan2_hwaddr
50:6A:03:C9:F7:E7 br10_hwaddr
50:6A:03:C9:F7:E7 br11_hwaddr
50:6A:03:C9:F7:E7 br12_hwaddr
50:6A:03:C9:F7:E7 br15_hwaddr
50:6A:03:C9:F7:E7 br9_hwaddr
50:6A:03:C9:F7:E7 def_hwaddr
50:6A:03:C9:F7:E7 def_whwaddr
50:6A:03:C9:F7:E7 eth1_hwaddr
50:6A:03:C9:F7:E7 lan_hwaddr
50:6A:03:C9:F7:E7 pci/1/1/macaddr
50:6A:03:C9:F7:E7 wan_hwaddr
50:6A:03:C9:F7:E7 wl0_hwaddr
50:6A:03:C9:F7:F8 eth2_hwaddr
50:6A:03:C9:F7:F8 pci/2/1/macaddr
50:6A:03:C9:F7:F8 wl1_hwaddr
52:6A:03:C9:F7:E8 wl0.1_hwaddr
52:6A:03:C9:F7:E9 wl0.2_hwaddr
52:6A:03:C9:F7:F9 wl1.1_hwaddr
Sponsor
MrPete
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Jul 2013
Posts: 82

PostPosted: Fri Dec 13, 2019 5:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
OK, this is slightly good (I can go to sleep now) but even more concerning:

- I was staring at my mostly dead wifi...
- Went into ssh...

Did this:
wl -i wl0.1 down
wl -i wl0.1 up

Suddenly everything works and is 100% stable.

Why? I have no idea. That's scary.

I suspect the same thing is needed after each reboot.
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 7897
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Dec 13, 2019 12:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
Well @MrPete you have been sleeping Wink

This is a known problem:
From approximately mid 2018 VAP's on Broadcom units are problematic, you cannot connect or do not get an IP address. There are workarounds :
1) When VAP is not working at boot; workaround startup command Administrationn/Commands, Save as Startup:
sleep 10; stopservice nas; stopservice wlconf; startservice wlconf; startservice nas;
2) Alternative way to get VAP working: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=317181
3) An other user reports the following workaround (save as startup):
sleep 4; stopservice cron; stopservice wlconf; wlconf eth1 up; wlconf eth2 up; startservice cron;
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=319412
4)This one is from @Redhawk (guaranteed to work Wink ):
sleep 20; stopservice nas; wlconf eth1 down; wlconf eth2 down; wlconf eth1 up; wlconf eth2 up; startservice nas

Last BS builds are better and some can do without the workaround but YMMV

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
WireGuard Documents & Guides:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327397
OpenVPN Documents & Guides: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327398
IPSET: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327261
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
MrPete
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Jul 2013
Posts: 82

PostPosted: Fri Dec 13, 2019 18:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
egc wrote:
Well @MrPete you have been sleeping Wink

This is a known problem...:
From approximately mid 2018 VAP's on Broadcom units are problematic, you cannot connect or do not get an IP address. There are workarounds :
1) When VAP is not working at boot; workaround startup command Administrationn/Commands, Save as Startup:
sleep 10; stopservice nas; stopservice wlconf; startservice wlconf; startservice nas;
...
Last BS builds are better and some can do without the workaround but YMMV


Thanks for the reminder, egc Very Happy

Well, yes I've been quite out of it this year Wink
(If interested, my sweetie wrote a great blog post... just google: Pete tries to go to heaven... again -- there's a link at the end to why 'again' )

I do know about that, and the workarounds. I've had the workarounds in place ever since May, when BS fixed the 2.4GHz vs 5GHz MAC problem at my request.

Unfortunately, this is apparently a new/different issue.

Last night, I apparently chanced upon a workaround for the zero BSSID problem: wl down;wl up

I still have my "dumb" questions:
a) what is "Wireless: LAN" for on the VLAN/switch tab, and why does it revert to LAN no matter what I do...
b) Is there any way to use external DHCP with tagged (bridged) VLAN+VAP in DDWRT? It does seem to function if I just define everything static everywhere, but that's painful 12 months in the future, when someone (me!) doesn't remember how/why it was set up this way Smile
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 7897
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Dec 14, 2019 8:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
Well MrPete, quite a story, luckily you are still around.
AED's can be life saving we have them everywhere here in the Netherlands.

Regarding question 1: LAN means bridged to br0, you do not set it there the bridging is set on the Networking tab.
You can have external DHCP and VAP's (do not forget the workaround)
Set the router up as a WAP ( https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Wireless_access_point ) and take it from there.

A VAP in itself does not support VLAN tagging (it is not in the wifi spec) but create a bridge associate it with a LAN port with tagging and put the VAP on that bridge.

At least that is how I think it should work. Never tried it, I have one tagged port and used this to get it going: https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Switched_Ports

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
WireGuard Documents & Guides:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327397
OpenVPN Documents & Guides: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327398
IPSET: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327261
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum