U-Boot version command

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Author Message
magnum226
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Mar 2011
Posts: 58

PostPosted: Tue Nov 26, 2019 15:07    Post subject: U-Boot version command Reply with quote
Hi,

Is there a command I can run in DDWRT Web GUI or telnet to return the U-Boot version? I want to avoid opening and connecting serial for all the routers that I want to check.

I am specifically looking to run it on linksys EA8500 but I suppose it would work for any device running U-Boot.
Sponsor
bushant
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Nov 2015
Posts: 1401

PostPosted: Tue Nov 26, 2019 16:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
This may be router specific but this works on
wndr3700v4 and wzr-hp-ag300h.
Code:
strings /dev/mtd0|grep -i u-boot

_________________
STUBBY DoT install guide----Tips-DD-WRT

Forum Guide Lines (Please read!)----How to get help the right way
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 5316
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Tue Nov 26, 2019 17:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
bushant wrote:
This may be router specific but this works on
wndr3700v4 and wzr-hp-ag300h.
Code:
strings /dev/mtd0|grep -i u-boot

Razz
alright then, WTH
on EA8500 you gotta look in MTD9
Code:
root@EA8500:~# strings /dev/mtd9 | grep -i u-boot
U-Boot 2012.07 [Standard IPQ806X.LN,r40331] (Mar 16 2015 - 16:29:21)
Press any key within 10s to take control of U-Boot
CBT U-Boot ver: %s
** Invalid partition type "%.32s" (expect "U-Boot")
Warning: U-Boot configured device %s at address %llx,
u-boot
U-Boot BUG at %s:%d!
root@EA8500:~#

---------
you can get the u-boot date and go from that
U-Boot 2012.07 [Standard IPQ806X.LN,r40331] (Mar 16 2015 - 16:29:21) = CBT U-Boot ver: 1.0.9
from console-log_r31780M.txt
Twisted Evil
magnum226
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Mar 2011
Posts: 58

PostPosted: Tue Nov 26, 2019 17:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
mrjcd wrote:
bushant wrote:
This may be router specific but this works on
wndr3700v4 and wzr-hp-ag300h.
Code:
strings /dev/mtd0|grep -i u-boot

Razz
alright then, WTH
on EA8500 you gotta look in MTD9
Code:
root@EA8500:~# strings /dev/mtd9 | grep -i u-boot
U-Boot 2012.07 [Standard IPQ806X.LN,r40331] (Mar 16 2015 - 16:29:21)
Press any key within 10s to take control of U-Boot
CBT U-Boot ver: %s
** Invalid partition type "%.32s" (expect "U-Boot")
Warning: U-Boot configured device %s at address %llx,
u-boot
U-Boot BUG at %s:%d!
root@EA8500:~#

---------
you can get the u-boot date and go from that
U-Boot 2012.07 [Standard IPQ806X.LN,r40331] (Mar 16 2015 - 16:29:21) = CBT U-Boot ver: 1.0.9
from console-log_r31780M.txt
Twisted Evil

Absolutely right - I just tried it...damn you are fast.

I was hoping it would return the CBT U-Boot ver but I think I can infer by the date. If I am guessing right:
1.0.9 = U-Boot 2012.07 [Standard IPQ806X.LN,r40331] (Mar 16 2015 - 16:29:21)
1.0.12 = U-Boot 2012.07 [Standard IPQ806X.LN,r40331] (Oct 12 2015 - 17:00:55)

On the EA8500, the GUI/telnet reboot works fine with new BS releases on 1.0.9 but does not properly start up the wired switch on GUI/telnet reboot on 1.0.12 (a power cycle is needed to properly reboot with a working wired switch).
bushant
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Nov 2015
Posts: 1401

PostPosted: Tue Nov 26, 2019 18:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
mrjcd wrote:
alright then, WTH
on EA8500 you gotta look in MTD9


For 7800 it is mtd1
didn't tell me much.

Quote:
root@7802:~# strings /dev/mtd1 | grep -i u-boot
U-Boot 2012.07 [local,local] (Sep 03 2015 - 17:33:28)
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 5316
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Tue Nov 26, 2019 18:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
magnum226 wrote:
On the EA8500, the GUI/telnet reboot works fine with new BS releases on 1.0.9 but does not properly start up the wired switch on GUI/telnet reboot on 1.0.12 (a power cycle is needed to properly reboot with a working wired switch).

magnum226,

about what I was always thinking but still really don't know why Rolling Eyes
I think, Kong even said one time that the EA8500 had a buggy switch --- I never agreed with him 'bout that but maybe it just depends on what u-boot version the silly Linksys people used.
DD-WRT devs could prolly make it right for both EA8500 u-boot versions but I have NO ideal how to tell them how Twisted Evil
----
EDIT:
somebody might mention this in https://svn.dd-wrt.com//timeline
BS may look into it iffin he gets time for such.
However I have NO idea if he ever got an EA8500.

I don't have any EA8500 with U-Boot ver over 1.0.9 and mine seem fine so I couldn't test anything anyways.

If you mention in https://svn.dd-wrt.com//timeline just be brief about the problem and link this thread.

Most likely is some type race condition Twisted Evil


Last edited by mrjcd on Wed Nov 27, 2019 16:39; edited 1 time in total
magnum226
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Mar 2011
Posts: 58

PostPosted: Tue Nov 26, 2019 18:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
mrjcd wrote:
magnum226 wrote:
On the EA8500, the GUI/telnet reboot works fine with new BS releases on 1.0.9 but does not properly start up the wired switch on GUI/telnet reboot on 1.0.12 (a power cycle is needed to properly reboot with a working wired switch).

magnum226,

about what I was always thinking but still really don't know why Rolling Eyes
I think, Kong even said one time that the EA8500 had a buggy switch --- I never agreed with him 'bout that but maybe it just depends on what u-boot version the silly Linksys people used.
DD-WRT devs could prolly make it right for both EA8500 u-boot versions but I have NO ideal how to tell them how Twisted Evil


Bribe them with beer? It always works on me.. Laughing

The only reason it is a big deal for me is I schedule nightly reboots which on the slightly newer U-Boot versions would cause the switch to stop working if I upgrade to new BS releases.

Remember - a reboot a day keeps the router doctor away! (sorry, I am disappointed in myself that I actually typed that..) Embarassed Laughing
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7198
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Tue Nov 26, 2019 19:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
magnum226 wrote:
Remember - a reboot a day keeps the router doctor away! (sorry, I am disappointed in myself that I actually typed that..) Embarassed Laughing


You should never have to reboot any kind of Linux unless you upgrade the kernel, or in this case, upgrade the firmware. When I had my backup E2500 on stock firmware up all the time, the only time it got rebooted after configuration was to upgrade the firmware, and I think I only had to do that initially and one other time. The uptime between was over 60 days, IIRC. Kinda like what my uptime is currently on my R7000P on 40270M kongac. It's probably sitting at around 65 days uptime without a reboot and still works just fine. The same is true on several R7800s I manage these days, or was true. It hasn't been all that long since I switched most of them over to Kong's OpenWRT. If you have to reboot it daily, there is a problem.

_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
magnum226
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Mar 2011
Posts: 58

PostPosted: Tue Nov 26, 2019 19:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:
magnum226 wrote:
Remember - a reboot a day keeps the router doctor away! (sorry, I am disappointed in myself that I actually typed that..) Embarassed Laughing


You should never have to reboot any kind of Linux unless you upgrade the kernel, or in this case, upgrade the firmware. When I had my backup E2500 on stock firmware up all the time, the only time it got rebooted after configuration was to upgrade the firmware, and I think I only had to do that initially and one other time. The uptime between was over 60 days, IIRC. Kinda like what my uptime is currently on my R7000P on 40270M kongac. It's probably sitting at around 65 days uptime without a reboot and still works just fine. The same is true on several R7800s I manage these days, or was true. It hasn't been all that long since I switched most of them over to Kong's OpenWRT. If you have to reboot it daily, there is a problem.


I completely agree with all you said. I don't have to reboot daily, but I choose to as it can't hurt. I do so nightly in the wee hours of the morning when no one is awake.
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7198
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Tue Nov 26, 2019 20:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
Back in my Slackware PC router days, it was only when I did kernel upgrades, and I tried to only do those upgrades when absolutely necessary. Everything else was a matter of upgrading the package and at most, restarting the process on the fly. When I started using Debian on a separate PC, I was so glad to see how much easier those processes were. RedHat, before RHEL, well. RedHat is RedHat ... it's way too Windows. Couldn't do upgrades for anything without rebooting. Seemed like a waste of time. Anyhow, sorry for the tangent /ADHD sucks
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 3790
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Tue Nov 26, 2019 23:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
hmm on 1034v2 i got U-Boot 1.1.4 (Sep 10 2015 - 12:05:08 ), so diff compatibility i guess
_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 ------DD-WRT 44251 BS AP,NAT
TP-Link WR740Nv4 ------DD-WRT 44251 BS WAP/Switch
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ----DD-WRT 444406 BS AP,NAT,AP Isolation,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ----DD-WRT 44340 BS AP,NAT,AD Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ----Gargoyle OS 1.12.0 AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas
Qualcomm/IPQ8065
Netgear R7800 -------DD-WRT 44340 BS AP,NAT,AD-Block,AP&Net Isolation,VLAN's,Firewall,Local DNS,DoT
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 -------DD-WRT 44340 BS AP,Wi-Fi OFF,NAT,AD-Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stubby for DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 by mac913


Last edited by Alozaros on Wed Nov 27, 2019 5:39; edited 1 time in total
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7198
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Wed Nov 27, 2019 0:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
Alozaros wrote:
hmm on 1034v2 i got U-Boot 1.1.4 (Sep 10 2015 - 12:05:08 ), so diff compatibility i guess


More like not every router uses the same bootloader version lol

_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 1246
Location: Illinois Moderator

PostPosted: Wed Nov 27, 2019 15:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
FWIW, This is my R9000: U-Boot 2015.01-gd836bbb (Jul 22 2016 - 13:32:00)
_________________
TIPS/TRICKS: Best QCA Wifi Settings | QCA WIFI WIKI | Latency tricks | QoS Port priority | NEVER USE MU-MIMO |
Why to NOT use MU-MIMO | Max Wifi Pwr by Country | Linux Wifi Pwr | AC MCS & AX MCS | QCA 5Ghz chnls to use | WIFI Freq WIKI | TFTP R7800 | Don't buy AX | IPERF3 How-To

[R9000]44374 nightly (Main Router)
[EA8500]43192 nightly (2xOffsite)
[R7800]taking a nap
[WDR3600]BS 42567 (Offsite)
[A7v5]BS 43038 (Offsite+spare here napping)
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 5316
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Thu Mar 05, 2020 11:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
mrjcd wrote:
magnum226 wrote:
On the EA8500, the GUI/telnet reboot works fine with new BS releases on 1.0.9 but does not properly start up the wired switch on GUI/telnet reboot on 1.0.12 (a power cycle is needed to properly reboot with a working wired switch).

magnum226,

about what I was always thinking but still really don't know why Rolling Eyes
I think, Kong even said one time that the EA8500 had a buggy switch --- I never agreed with him 'bout that but maybe it just depends on what u-boot version the silly Linksys people used.
DD-WRT devs could prolly make it right for both EA8500 u-boot versions but I have NO ideal how to tell them how Twisted Evil
----
EDIT:
somebody might mention this in https://svn.dd-wrt.com//timeline
BS may look into it iffin he gets time for such.
However I have NO idea if he ever got an EA8500.

I don't have any EA8500 with U-Boot ver over 1.0.9 and mine seem fine so I couldn't test anything anyways.

If you mention in https://svn.dd-wrt.com//timeline just be brief about the problem and link this thread.

Most likely is some type race condition Twisted Evil

For EA8500 users with this problem it is now fixed, AFAIK Razz
see ---> https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1194062#1194062
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum