How to add a VLAN tag to a VAP

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
petes
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Jun 2006
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Sat Oct 12, 2019 18:10    Post subject: How to add a VLAN tag to a VAP Reply with quote
I want to add a second wifi SSID to an router I have configured as an access point. However, I want this to be in a VLAN which will get it's DHCP from a VLAN on my router. So, on the router, I have a VLAN=10 which has a DHCP server for 192.168.2.x, where untagged traffic is on 192.168.1.1. I have an access point connected to the router via a single cable., and I can connect to the main untagged SSID, which gets its 192.168.1.x from the router no problem. I want to create a second SSID on this router, isolated from the main SSID, which will get its addresses from the second vlan on the router 192.168.2.x. I think all I need to do is tag all the traffic from the second ssid with the right vlan tag and send it down the trunk to the router, but I've tried things through the UI, but can't make anything work. Anyone know how to do this?
Sponsor
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 4170
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Oct 13, 2019 14:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
Create a bridge and put the VAP and the VLAN10 on that bridge.

I do not think you can tag wifi traffic.

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, Netgear R6400v1, Netgear R6400v2, Linksys EA6900 (XvortexCFE), Linksys E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide Linksys EA6900: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=291230
OpenVPN Policy Based Routing guide: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321686
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN Server Setup:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
slice1900
DD-WRT User


Joined: 18 Feb 2013
Posts: 99

PostPosted: Sun Oct 13, 2019 21:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
egc wrote:
Create a bridge and put the VAP and the VLAN10 on that bridge.

I do not think you can tag wifi traffic.



Of course you can. It just isn't commonly done because many wireless routers don't support VLANs at all. But DD-WRT does, and VLAN tagged traffic over wifi works fine. I've even had use for it on a few occasions.
petes
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Jun 2006
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Mon Oct 14, 2019 8:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
slice1900 wrote:
egc wrote:
Create a bridge and put the VAP and the VLAN10 on that bridge.

I do not think you can tag wifi traffic.



Of course you can. It just isn't commonly done because many wireless routers don't support VLANs at all. But DD-WRT does, and VLAN tagged traffic over wifi works fine. I've even had use for it on a few occasions.


Thanks guys, but I don't want to send vlan tags over wifi. Rather, I want to tag all traffic on the VAP from one of the guest SSIDs with VID=10, and then route everything over one trunk to the router (tagged from the guest SSID and untagged from the other SSID and lan ports on the VAP).
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 4170
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Oct 14, 2019 11:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
slice1900 wrote:
egc wrote:
Create a bridge and put the VAP and the VLAN10 on that bridge.

I do not think you can tag wifi traffic.



Of course you can. It just isn't commonly done because many wireless routers don't support VLANs at all. But DD-WRT does, and VLAN tagged traffic over wifi works fine. I've even had use for it on a few occasions.


I was under the distinct impression that standard 802.1q vlan tagging frames were not supported under the wireless 802.11 standard because the standard 802.11 mac layer doesnt have support for the insertion of a vlan tag.

So of course you can send traffic over wifi but the tag is no longer there (at least that is what I always thought).

So to circumvent this you had to make a VAP for each VLAN and then bridge the VLAN with the VAP on the router level.
At least that is how I setup my VLAN's and VAP's

But I am no networking engineer/expert, so thank you for pointing out I am wrong (learn something new everyday)

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, Netgear R6400v1, Netgear R6400v2, Linksys EA6900 (XvortexCFE), Linksys E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide Linksys EA6900: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=291230
OpenVPN Policy Based Routing guide: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321686
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN Server Setup:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum