TP-Link WDR4300 Support

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 47, 48, 49  Next
Author Message
drdedus
DD-WRT User


Joined: 31 Dec 2013
Posts: 141
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Sat May 04, 2019 5:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
hello
i just bought the tp-link wdr4300.
Whats the latest version you suggest or you using?
Sponsor
adent
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Feb 2018
Posts: 43
Location: Vienna, Austria

PostPosted: Mon May 06, 2019 11:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
I'm on r39572 on my v1.8 device. Works so far.
CarnegieJ
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Jun 2016
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Tue Jun 11, 2019 22:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
I recommend current build r39956 BS. Thus far, running with no errors.

DD-WRT v3.0-r39956 std (c) 2019 NewMedia-NET GmbH
Release: 06/06/19
Board: TP-Link TL-WDR4300 v1

~ # ash
BusyBox v1.30.1 (2019-06-06 02:24:37 CEST) built-in shell (ash)

~ # uname -a
Linux myRouter 3.10.108-d8 #10906 Thu Jun 6 02:24:15 CEST 2019 mips DD-WRT

~ # uptime
18:35:42 up 2 days, 8:58, load average: 0.00, 0.01, 0.04

Cheers,
CJ

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link TL-WDR4300 v1 ----- DD-WRT 39956 BS (AP, VAP, Router, AP Isolation, Firewall, VLAN, QoS)
TP-Link TL-WDR3600 v1 ----- DD-WRT 41517 BS (AP, VAP, Router, AP Isolation, Firewall, VLAN, QoS)
Ralink/RT2880
AirLink101 150N (AR670W) --DD-WRT ??? BS (AP,NAT,Firewall)
kubaxvx
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Jun 2019
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Jun 26, 2019 10:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
Currently running DD-WRT v3.0-r40009 std (06/11/19) on two TP-Link TL-WDR4300 v1.7 (both configured as APs, no WAN) — so far, so good.
servicetech
DD-WRT User


Joined: 26 Jun 2019
Posts: 136

PostPosted: Sun Oct 06, 2019 17:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
drdedus wrote:
hello
i just bought the tp-link wdr4300.
Whats the latest version you suggest or you using?


Don't own this router
Reported working is r39855 and r39956, so I suggest to start with one of these builds, the r39572 was mentioned in a previous post.
Older builds are more often flashed and tested on older hardware and running long term, offering more stability and functionality compared to newer builds
you then try the suggestion from msoengineer for r36808 build

The older and low flash/ram devices are a bit out of scope of development, so newer builds are some sort of try and miss, but to my opinion is not the best entry to dd-wrt to start with latest and more "experimental" builds for old hardware, but decision it is up to you, as every flashing includes risk to brick a device.


Last edited by servicetech on Sun Oct 06, 2019 20:39; edited 2 times in total
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 1067
Location: Illinois Moderator

PostPosted: Sun Oct 06, 2019 18:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
I'm running 36808 on my old wdr3600 it was the most stable wifi...It's a remote device so I don't mess with the firmware...the wdr4300 is nearly the same hardware...try 36808.
_________________
TIPS/TRICKS: Best QCA Wifi Settings | QCA WIFI WIKI | Latency tricks | QoS Port priority | NEVER USE MU-MIMO |
Why to NOT use MU-MIMO | Max Wifi Pwr by Country | Linux Wifi Pwr | MCS Index Speeds & AX MCS | Correct QCA 5Ghz chnls to use | WIFI Chnl Freq WIKI | TFTP R7800 | Don't buy wifi 6

[R9000]43256 nightly (Main Router)
[EA8500]43158 nightly (Offsite)
[R7800]taking a nap
[WDR3600]BS 42567 (Offsite)
[A7v5]BS 43038 (Offsite+spare here napping)
shadyjoin
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Oct 2019
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue Oct 08, 2019 20:05    Post subject: OpenVPN client unstable? Reply with quote
Hey there. I'm still running r40009 and I believe the OpenVPN client may be seizing up from time to time.

Can any of you with a stable OpenVPN client tell me what build you're on? TIA.
01wolf
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Oct 2019
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Oct 09, 2019 22:51    Post subject: Low speed with QoS Reply with quote
Hi, i recently install DD-WRT v3.0-r40559 std (08/06/19) , on my WDR4300, it's work great , less QoS.
When I activate QoS my internet is limited to 100mb, without QoS I can fully use the 200 hired.
Here are 2 examples Without QoS and QoS On!
QoS OFF


QoS On


Any tips? any other QoS scripts?

Ty!
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7323
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Oct 10, 2019 1:26    Post subject: Re: Low speed with QoS Reply with quote
01wolf wrote:
Hi, i recently install DD-WRT v3.0-r40559 std (08/06/19) , on my WDR4300, it's work great , less QoS.
When I activate QoS my internet is limited to 100mb, without QoS I can fully use the 200 hired.
Here are 2 examples Without QoS and QoS On!
QoS OFF


QoS On


Any tips? any other QoS scripts?

Ty!


cpu not powerful enough. best u can do is use pie + htb for least cpu load with qos. try it with hfsc too and compare as some say thats better..

or if u dont care about download qos, can try enabling sfe, but then qos will only work on upload

_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S)

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

[x86_64] Haswell i3-4150/QCA9984 ---> DD-WRT v3.0-r43334 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L -----------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r43334 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L -----------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r43334 std
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 -----------> DD-WRT v3.0-r43334 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 -------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r43281 std


If you use DSLReports please enable hi-res bufferbloat.


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
01wolf
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Oct 2019
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Oct 10, 2019 5:42    Post subject: Re: Low speed with QoS Reply with quote
tatsuya46 wrote:
01wolf wrote:
Hi, i recently install DD-WRT v3.0-r40559 std (08/06/19) , on my WDR4300, it's work great , less QoS.
When I activate QoS my internet is limited to 100mb, without QoS I can fully use the 200 hired.
Here are 2 examples Without QoS and QoS On!
QoS OFF


QoS On


Any tips? any other QoS scripts?

Ty!


cpu not powerful enough. best u can do is use pie + htb for least cpu load with qos. try it with hfsc too and compare as some say thats better..

or if u dont care about download qos, can try enabling sfe, but then qos will only work on upload

Ty for response!
I test PIE+HTB and work a better that others...


I want use it to limit others workstations band to half of total speed and allow total priority to my Game/stream machine packet's!
Have any way to install Cake QoS on DDWRT ? i read some good stuff about this QoS.
Ty!
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7323
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Oct 10, 2019 5:52    Post subject: Re: Low speed with QoS Reply with quote
01wolf wrote:
tatsuya46 wrote:
01wolf wrote:
Hi, i recently install DD-WRT v3.0-r40559 std (08/06/19) , on my WDR4300, it's work great , less QoS.
When I activate QoS my internet is limited to 100mb, without QoS I can fully use the 200 hired.
Here are 2 examples Without QoS and QoS On!
QoS OFF


QoS On


Any tips? any other QoS scripts?

Ty!


cpu not powerful enough. best u can do is use pie + htb for least cpu load with qos. try it with hfsc too and compare as some say thats better..

or if u dont care about download qos, can try enabling sfe, but then qos will only work on upload

Ty for response!
I test PIE+HTB and work a better that others...


I want use it to limit others workstations band to half of total speed and allow total priority to my Game/stream machine packet's!
Have any way to install Cake QoS on DDWRT ? i read some good stuff about this QoS.
Ty!


cake is already here, update to latest build, i think this unit has enough flash for it to be included. but cake has higher load than pie, i would expect less speed though

_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S)

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

[x86_64] Haswell i3-4150/QCA9984 ---> DD-WRT v3.0-r43334 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L -----------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r43334 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L -----------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r43334 std
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 -----------> DD-WRT v3.0-r43334 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 -------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r43281 std


If you use DSLReports please enable hi-res bufferbloat.


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
01wolf
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Oct 2019
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Oct 10, 2019 16:08    Post subject: Re: Low speed with QoS Reply with quote
tatsuya46 wrote:

cake is already here, update to latest build, i think this unit has enough flash for it to be included. but cake has higher load than pie, i would expect less speed though


ty for tip! i testing new betas, FQ_codel_fast give some improvements , some variant in download speed, very stable on ping and bufferbloat!

i go make more test's to decide Discipline!

Last question: I can use a Usb driver to get extra performance or it wont go make any difference? any tutorial about it?

Ty so Much for all info tatsuya46! you help-me a lot!
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7323
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Oct 10, 2019 17:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
usb wont help, opposite if anything as usb operations require cpu cycles
_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S)

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

[x86_64] Haswell i3-4150/QCA9984 ---> DD-WRT v3.0-r43334 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L -----------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r43334 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L -----------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r43334 std
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 -----------> DD-WRT v3.0-r43334 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 -------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r43281 std


If you use DSLReports please enable hi-res bufferbloat.


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
fathroen
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Aug 2012
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Oct 22, 2019 8:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
WDR4300v1 user here.

I did dirty flash from r38302 to the latest r41328.

Everything seems to work properly. Web GUI feels snappier. 5GHz wifi more stable. With previous firmware, 5GHz randomly died and needs reboot to turn back on.

I also get a good result with QOS HTB Cake.

shadyjoin
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Oct 2019
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue Oct 22, 2019 12:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
fathroen wrote:
WDR4300v1 user here.

I did dirty flash from r38302 to the latest r41328.

Everything seems to work properly. Web GUI feels snappier. 5GHz wifi more stable. With previous firmware, 5GHz randomly died and needs reboot to turn back on.

I also get a good result with QOS HTB Cake.



Are you using VPN services? FTP/SMB services?

If so, are they stable?
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 47, 48, 49  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 48 of 49
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum