New BrainSlayer Build: 2019-10-01 r41218

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 1692
Location: Illinois Moderator

PostPosted: Tue Oct 08, 2019 19:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
tatsuya46 wrote:
htb + pie is the highest line utilization + lowest cpu combo u can get. 750mhz single core mips will get about 90mbps htb + pie on ethernet, 80mbps wifi. 560mhz maybe about 55-60mbps (ethernet).


In theory HTB should be lower mem/cpu, but see this:
https://svn.dd-wrt.com/ticket/6798#comment:14

There are other variables at play, too, that will affect CPU/Mem usage like other services running on the router.

Also, here are some results I had when testing my buddy's Archer A7 a few weeks ago using build 41113 showing it's limits are around 150mbps when QOS is on:
1- https://www.dslreports.com/speedtest/54597048


2- https://www.dslreports.com/speedtest/54597146


3- https://www.dslreports.com/speedtest/54597195


If you're really concerned about the lowest latency possible, don't use home/office (HoMo) routers and buy some higher end networking gear and/or build your own router x86/64 box... none of these HoMo routers are truely worried about gig speed and good qos performance... They use the lowest grade components inside to save on cost and maximize profit... Some of the Ubiquiti stuff starts to border on decent hardware, but you will pay for it... some dd-wrt stuff will run on it too. I know BS uses the edgerouter for his FTP server for this site.

The other issue is that some of the high-end HoMo routers use proprietary hardware for Q.o.S and Crypto engines, yet dd-wrt can't use them to offload the work and so latency and cpu performance is eaten up.

_________________
FORUM RULES

TIPS/TRICKS: Best QCA Wifi Settings | Latency tricks | QoS Port priority | NEVER USE MU-MIMO |
Why to NOT use MU-MIMO | Max Wifi Pwr by Country | Linux Wifi Pwr | AC MCS & AX MCS | QCA 5Ghz chnls to use | WIFI Freq WIKI | TFTP R7800 | Don't buy AX | IPERF3 How-To

[R9000]46450 nightly (Main Router)
[EA8500]43192 & 45493 (2xOffsite)
[R7800]napping
[WDR3600]BS 44715 (Offsite)
[A7v5]BS 43038 (Offsite+spare napping)
Sponsor
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 5404
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Wed Oct 09, 2019 1:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
WNDR3700v4
he's just a 560 MHz CPU
50/50 fiber line
HFSC CAKE
http://www.dslreports.com/speedtest/55153903
https://www.nperf.com/r/3216550336193729-t2vdDuVL

HFSC FQ_CODEL
http://www.dslreports.com/speedtest/55154654
https://www.nperf.com/r/3216553093069356-YFAjJGtV
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 1692
Location: Illinois Moderator

PostPosted: Wed Oct 09, 2019 1:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
mrjcd wrote:
WNDR3700v4
he's just a 560 MHz CPU
50/50 fiber line
HFSC CAKE
http://www.dslreports.com/speedtest/55153903
https://www.nperf.com/r/3216550336193729-t2vdDuVL

HFSC FQ_CODEL
http://www.dslreports.com/speedtest/55154654
https://www.nperf.com/r/3216553093069356-YFAjJGtV


That's cause your router is smoking with 128mb of ram vs the 32mb the TL-WR841ND v9 has! Laughing ROFL.... and the 1gig ethernet vs. 100mbps...

_________________
FORUM RULES

TIPS/TRICKS: Best QCA Wifi Settings | Latency tricks | QoS Port priority | NEVER USE MU-MIMO |
Why to NOT use MU-MIMO | Max Wifi Pwr by Country | Linux Wifi Pwr | AC MCS & AX MCS | QCA 5Ghz chnls to use | WIFI Freq WIKI | TFTP R7800 | Don't buy AX | IPERF3 How-To

[R9000]46450 nightly (Main Router)
[EA8500]43192 & 45493 (2xOffsite)
[R7800]napping
[WDR3600]BS 44715 (Offsite)
[A7v5]BS 43038 (Offsite+spare napping)
robbbaxley
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Apr 2013
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Wed Oct 09, 2019 1:36    Post subject: Netgear X10 r9000 Reply with quote
I have been observing this build and found that, over time, the memory completely fills up and the router slows to a crawl or completely locks-up in about 24 hours or so. I have not had this issue in previous builds.
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 1692
Location: Illinois Moderator

PostPosted: Wed Oct 09, 2019 2:43    Post subject: Re: Netgear X10 r9000 Reply with quote
robbbaxley wrote:
I have been observing this build and found that, over time, the memory completely fills up and the router slows to a crawl or completely locks-up in about 24 hours or so. I have not had this issue in previous builds.


I have the exact same R9000 as my main router and have zero issues. I suggest a factory reset and re-enter your settings.

Otherwise, more info about your settings and what you're using please.

_________________
FORUM RULES

TIPS/TRICKS: Best QCA Wifi Settings | Latency tricks | QoS Port priority | NEVER USE MU-MIMO |
Why to NOT use MU-MIMO | Max Wifi Pwr by Country | Linux Wifi Pwr | AC MCS & AX MCS | QCA 5Ghz chnls to use | WIFI Freq WIKI | TFTP R7800 | Don't buy AX | IPERF3 How-To

[R9000]46450 nightly (Main Router)
[EA8500]43192 & 45493 (2xOffsite)
[R7800]napping
[WDR3600]BS 44715 (Offsite)
[A7v5]BS 43038 (Offsite+spare napping)
robbbaxley
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Apr 2013
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Wed Oct 09, 2019 13:50    Post subject: Re: Netgear X10 r9000 Reply with quote
I have attached my configuration for your review. If you see anything odd please let me know. r40527 was the last firmware that worked pretty well for me. Since then most of the firmware builds have been buggy especially with SAMBA & DNSMasq. The current build is the first one where I am having lock-ups/memory issues. I have previously cleared the NVRam without anything getting better but I will try again to make sure I didn't miss something.

msoengineer wrote:
robbbaxley wrote:
I have been observing this build and found that, over time, the memory completely fills up and the router slows to a crawl or completely locks-up in about 24 hours or so. I have not had this issue in previous builds.


I have the exact same R9000 as my main router and have zero issues. I suggest a factory reset and re-enter your settings.

Otherwise, more info about your settings and what you're using please.
pedrohsk1
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Nov 2018
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Fri Oct 11, 2019 0:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
msoengineer wrote:
pedrohsk1 wrote:
pie not work good for me, only fq_codel with htb and hsfc.

Fiber, 21 down, 5 up.


HFSC uses less cpu/memory than HTB... Did you try HFSC & Pie? That combination will use the least amount of cpu&memory. HFSC & FQ_Codel will eat cpu....

Telnet in and run "top" and watch the cpu usage.
YMMV, but on my Archer A7 with a 750mhz cpu HFSC&Pie eat the least CPU and yield good speeds on my 150/10 (180/12 over provisioned by Comcast). Your TL-WR841ND v9.x is only a 560Mhz CPU so you want to use HFSC and find a good queuing discipline that uses the least CPU. Your saving grace is your slow isp speed... I imagine that the TL-WR841ND v9.x is only good to 100mbps at best with QOS turned on.


Oh Rendered many answers my post. It will be a pleasure answering them and learning even more from you.
Msoengineer
Actually all options worked fine on wr841n v9, I disabled some options that I don't use, only use PPPoE + QoS / SQM. All options are good, I tested hsfc + fqcodel, htb + fqcodel, hsfc + pie, htb + pie, but of all, only the one that offered me 0% packets lost and ping (ms) fully STABLE with bufferbloat A + was hsfc / Htb + fq_codel. The tests I do do not prioritize down and up speed but STABILITY in ONLINE GAMES. My tests were as follows:
1 - Download 2-3 files at a time in torrent at full speed
2 - Download at full speed by IDM (Internet download manager). Ps: i feel that hsfc is slightly higher than htb, it seems lighter to me really. Sorry for the delay in responding.

I use ping 8.8.8.8 -n 1000 in cmd.

I will do more tests and post here, I believe the feedback is very important and helps the developers. So far I only have compliments for this build on wr841n v9.

obs : I have ZERO problems with htb/hsfc + fq_codel in wr841n v9, with 560 mhz processor and 32mb ram. It's much better than LEDE/openwrt 17.XXX from my experience with this basic router.
pedrohsk1
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Nov 2018
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Fri Oct 11, 2019 0:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
21 mb down, 5 mp up, latency 100 % stable.
pedrohsk1
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Nov 2018
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Fri Oct 11, 2019 14:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
sorry my bad english
pedrohsk1
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Nov 2018
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Sun Oct 13, 2019 19:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
Update : I have better performance with HSFC/FQCODEL.
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7212
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Sun Oct 13, 2019 19:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
pedrohsk1 wrote:
Update : I have better performance with HSFC/FQCODEL.


Smaller picture.

_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
pedrohsk1
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Nov 2018
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Sun Oct 13, 2019 20:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
Malachi wrote:
pedrohsk1 wrote:
Update : I have better performance with HSFC/FQCODEL.


Smaller picture.


It is that I ended up removing, I thought it was not necessary.
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7212
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Sun Oct 13, 2019 22:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
pedrohsk1 wrote:
Malachi wrote:
pedrohsk1 wrote:
Update : I have better performance with HSFC/FQCODEL.


Smaller picture.


It is that I ended up removing, I thought it was not necessary.


I removed the picture.

_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
05dyna
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Jan 2008
Posts: 935

PostPosted: Thu Oct 17, 2019 13:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
This one had the makings of a great one. Running on EA8500 configured as an ovpn client. Things I liked were vpn service D/L speeds had increased opposed to all past builds and was up for 15 days without dropping the ovpn connection unlike past builds. Even the prior Kong build would disconnect from the vpn service after 4 or 5 days. Unfortunately last night after 15 days of great service it rebooted unexpectedly and I didn’t have logging enabled. I think my next move is to do a fresh install of the current build and see what kind of uptime I could get out of it.
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 5404
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Thu Oct 17, 2019 13:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
r41328 is a good'n but the ovpn still has the ol bug of NOT changing settings in GUI unless you 'Apply Settings' twice or reboot.
That's the way it is on my ovpn server anyways and noted in other forums / other routers.
I reckon most folks don't tinker with ovpn once its working but I just been playing with new Encryption Ciphers.

Regardless of all that I think BS has sorted it out and it might be good in next release.

'bout all I know Razz
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 3 of 4
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum