Netgear R6400 v2 and R6700v3 Install Guide

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 13, 14, 15
Author Message
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 2303
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sat Aug 31, 2019 23:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
http://ddwrt-kong.clonevince.fr as long as CloneVince keeps that server going for <Kong> builds.
Sponsor
poizon
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 May 2019
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Sep 12, 2019 6:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thank you!
Was July his stable build or just the last test?
How long is everyone planning on staying on Kong's build and what would you use as an alternative?
I have Netgear R6700v3.
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 4192
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Sep 12, 2019 6:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
Kong's 40270 is considered stable.

I am using BS 40932 since 1 day which is working good, but I do not use QoS

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, Netgear R6400v1, Netgear R6400v2, Linksys EA6900 (XvortexCFE), Linksys E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide Linksys EA6900: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=291230
OpenVPN Policy Based Routing guide: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321686
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN Server Setup:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
lolcocks
DD-WRT User


Joined: 31 May 2013
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Sun Sep 15, 2019 5:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
Since Kong has left, I am going to use BrainSlayer builds. Will directly flashing through the web panel work and then wiping NVRAM work?

I never got to know what was the difference between Kong's and BrainSlayer's buiilds.

Can someone please enlighten me?
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 4192
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Sep 15, 2019 6:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
lolcocks wrote:
Since Kong has left, I am going to use BrainSlayer builds. Will directly flashing through the web panel work and then wiping NVRAM work?

I never got to know what was the difference between Kong's and BrainSlayer's buiilds.

Can someone please enlighten me?


Yes just flash and wipe nvram

Differences are minor Kong tested his builds more on his own equipment and therefore only supported just a few routers.

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, Netgear R6400v1, Netgear R6400v2, Linksys EA6900 (XvortexCFE), Linksys E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide Linksys EA6900: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=291230
OpenVPN Policy Based Routing guide: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321686
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN Server Setup:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
d0d0
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Aug 2019
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2019 14:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
Router: netgear r6400v2
board_id= U12H332T20

i updated to BS 40932 build from kong last stable build in a hope that i will get dnscrypt preinstalled but its not visible
ericm301
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Feb 2016
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Oct 07, 2019 0:09    Post subject: R6400v2 incorrectly ids as R7000P Reply with quote
I have an r6400v2 that thinks it's an R7000P.
It is currently running build 36104.

nvram show | grep board:
Code:
boardrev=0x1601
size: 32377 bytes (98695 left)
1:boardflags=0x10001000
boardtype=0x0646
ping_ip=nvram show | grep board
boardflags2=0x0
board_id=U12H332T30_NETGEAR
0:boardvendor=0x14e4
0:boardrev=0x1421
1:boardvendor=0x14e4
0:boardflags=0x1000
boardflags=0x110
0:boardflags2=0x2
0:boardflags3=0x4000000
1:boardflags2=0x4
1:boardflags3=0x0
1:boardflags4=0x10e
boardnum=32

nvram show | grep phy:
Code:
wl_phytypes=
size: 32375 bytes (98697 left)
et2phyaddr=30
ping_ip=nvram show | grep phy
wl_phytype=g
wl0_phytype=h
wl0_phytypes=h
0:phycal_tempdelta=15
1:phycal_tempdelta=40
et0phyaddr=30
et1phyaddr=30


I had assumed it was a board_id=30 unit, so I followed the guide for those. I tried reverting to stock.

It will not take any firmware.
It refuses telnet and SSH, though they are enabled in the UI.

Can anybody help?
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 4192
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Oct 08, 2019 7:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
The guide specifically mentions not to use a build before 36995. Sad


In the guide itself also is a section about recovery.

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, Netgear R6400v1, Netgear R6400v2, Linksys EA6900 (XvortexCFE), Linksys E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide Linksys EA6900: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=291230
OpenVPN Policy Based Routing guide: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321686
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN Server Setup:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
ericm301
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Feb 2016
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Oct 08, 2019 14:29    Post subject: RE: R6400v2 incorrectly ids as R7000P Reply with quote
egc wrote:
The guide specifically mentions not to use a build before 36995. Sad


In the guide itself also is a section about recovery.


Backstory:

I bought this router months ago, and flashed what I thought was the latest stable build (36104) at that time. When things went sideways, I shelved it.

I tried doing a recovery with nmrpflash, but could not make it work. The IP of the router isn't in the list of ports. Although I can ping it and access the UI from 192.168.1.1, nmrpflash doesn't see it. It shows all zeroes for net0 when I run nmrpflash -L
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 4192
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Oct 08, 2019 14:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
Try to TFTP and if that does not work then use serial, it is described in the guide in the second post.

Serial recovery is really easy, I bought a serial adapter for a few dollars at ali express.

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, Netgear R6400v1, Netgear R6400v2, Linksys EA6900 (XvortexCFE), Linksys E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide Linksys EA6900: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=291230
OpenVPN Policy Based Routing guide: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321686
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN Server Setup:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
ericm301
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Feb 2016
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Oct 08, 2019 20:39    Post subject: RE: R6400v2 incorrectly ids as R7000P Reply with quote
It WORKS!

I was just being stupid with the connection names, and used net0 when I should have used net2. Once I fixed that, it flashed first time!
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 4192
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Oct 08, 2019 21:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
Great, now do an nvram erase && reboot, after you upgraded to a better build and you should be good to go.
_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, Netgear R6400v1, Netgear R6400v2, Linksys EA6900 (XvortexCFE), Linksys E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide Linksys EA6900: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=291230
OpenVPN Policy Based Routing guide: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321686
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN Server Setup:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Navelpluiz
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Jan 2018
Posts: 17
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Oct 26, 2019 12:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi ,
I succesfully flashed my R6400v2 (boardid ) from stock Firmware Version V1.0.4.82_10.0.57 to BS dd-wrt v3.0-r41328.
By using EGC's Netgear_R6400v2_(R6700v3)_Guide_v1.08.doc ( see first post in this topic) it was a piece of cake.

DD-WRT v3.0-r41328 std (c) 2019 NewMedia-NET GmbH
Release: 10/15/19
Board: Netgear R6400 v2


It was also no problem to downgrade the stock firmware.
Warning! The firmware version you are trying to upload is older than the one you had.
Do you still want to continue?
Current Firmware Version V1.0.4.82_10.0.57
Uploaded Version V1.0.2.99_1.0.42


Small remark : the settings-help-files are sometimes not really helpfull : some settings are explained or explained onces are not available in the settings.

Cheers !!

_________________
OS: ArchLinux
Shuttle XH61V Quad-Core Intel Core i5-3470t CPU @ 3.20GHz
Routers:NetGear R6400-V2 (boardid U12H332T20_NETGEAR), ExperiaBox_V10
Switches: HP ProCurve 1810G-8, Linksys SLM2024
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 13, 14, 15 Display posts from previous:    Page 15 of 15
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum