[Solved] Cisco SG200-08 port speeds

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Author Message
05dyna
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Jan 2008
Posts: 853

PostPosted: Sun Sep 22, 2019 22:34    Post subject: [Solved] Cisco SG200-08 port speeds Reply with quote
This probably don't apply to many here but I’ll throw it out there anyway. I use dd-wrt and Kong’s OpenWRT builds as Access Points and also for an ovpn client behind my LAN. I have a Cisco SG200-08 8-Port Gigabit Smart Switch for vlan support for my pfsense box.

What I stumbled on in the latest dd-wrt build is it don’t play nice with the above mentioned Cisco SG200 switch. The attached images are at before and after Cisco switch port speeds with the EA8500(#2). Even my Linksys R7800 with Kong’s current OpenWRT build is only connecting to the switch at 100. I rolled my (#2) EA8500 back to Kong’s r39855M build and now connecting on to the switch at 1000. When time permits I’ll donwgrade the R7800 either back to stock or an older dd-wrt build to see if it can connect at 1000 again.

Disregard Interfaces G5 & G6 in the attached images, one is a Raspberry Pi-3 and the other is a Roku so 100 is normal for those. G1 is the SG200 up-link and G2 is another EA8500 (#1) configured as an ovpn client running also running ver r39855M.

_________________

ASRock J3455B-ITX Quad Core / 8-GB of Ram pfsense Release 2.4.4_2 <--Speedtest
Linksys EA8500 - DD-WRT v3.0-r41399 std {10/26/19}as OVPN client behind pfsense box
Linksys EA8500 - DD-WRT v3.0-r40270M kongat (07/11/19)as Access Point
Netgear R7800 - DD-WRT v3.0-r41380 std {10/24/19} out of service
ISP info: optimum |ARRIS TM1602A
XPEnology DS3615xs
Not a Guru, just a dd-wrt aficionado...


Last edited by 05dyna on Fri Sep 27, 2019 10:41; edited 1 time in total
Sponsor
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 2569
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Mon Sep 23, 2019 1:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
I presume you are running the latest Cisco firmware to rule that possibility out.
05dyna
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Jan 2008
Posts: 853

PostPosted: Mon Sep 23, 2019 3:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
@ kernel-panic69, you would be correct its release 1.0.8.3, it would appear Cisco only did one & done for that switch, the release is dated 2014-09-29 so coming up on 5 years next week.

I'm thinking my Kong OpenWRT days are done for the R7800 if I want Auto-Negotiation to work correctly. I'll be interested to see if the Kong builds r39855M and/or r40270M work for the R7800. Based on the EA8500 performance with r39855M I'm thinking it will work but have to test it first to know for sure...

_________________

ASRock J3455B-ITX Quad Core / 8-GB of Ram pfsense Release 2.4.4_2 <--Speedtest
Linksys EA8500 - DD-WRT v3.0-r41399 std {10/26/19}as OVPN client behind pfsense box
Linksys EA8500 - DD-WRT v3.0-r40270M kongat (07/11/19)as Access Point
Netgear R7800 - DD-WRT v3.0-r41380 std {10/24/19} out of service
ISP info: optimum |ARRIS TM1602A
XPEnology DS3615xs
Not a Guru, just a dd-wrt aficionado...
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 2569
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Mon Sep 23, 2019 3:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
Looked like there were a total of 5 firmware releases for that switch, total on the Cisco public site. I am guessing if they had anything after that, it would require a Cisco account... and I didn't go that far into things to look and see. Recently acquired two Cisco switches whose official support ends this year, but they are being installed behind a firewall, so it's no bother. Routers, on the other hand, I would probably be a little more concerned about Wink Cool

Back to topic from that tangent... I don't see how the switch driver got screwed up, but is there no way to fix it from command line or nvram variable(s)?
05dyna
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Jan 2008
Posts: 853

PostPosted: Mon Sep 23, 2019 4:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have a cisco account and logged-in and still only see the one release for the one build for the Cisco SG200-08 8-Port Gigabit Smart Switch.

In any case Kong’s r39855M is from July 2019 so using the EA8500 & R7800 as Access Points with slightly older builds isn't really a deal breaker. if the switch was conflicting with my pfsense box then I explore the switch further. Thanks for looking

EDIT/Update:
re-flashed the R7800 with stock firmware version 1.0.2.62 and vlan port speed is correct on the SG200-08.

Edit/Update 2
Yesterday (09-23-2019) I tftp’d Kong’s OpenWRT build back on the R7800 and all is good again with the port speed on switch. Also checked all the cabling with cable line tester and lateral wiring is good. So at this point I have no idea what happened other than maybe a full reset was required. Next up, hopefully later today going to try the current BS build on the EA8500. Maybe it too will now report the correct switch port speed

Edit/Update 3
upgraded EA8500 #2 to BS's r41174 and all is good again. will monitor and upgrade EA8500 #1 if things continue to go well

_________________

ASRock J3455B-ITX Quad Core / 8-GB of Ram pfsense Release 2.4.4_2 <--Speedtest
Linksys EA8500 - DD-WRT v3.0-r41399 std {10/26/19}as OVPN client behind pfsense box
Linksys EA8500 - DD-WRT v3.0-r40270M kongat (07/11/19)as Access Point
Netgear R7800 - DD-WRT v3.0-r41380 std {10/24/19} out of service
ISP info: optimum |ARRIS TM1602A
XPEnology DS3615xs
Not a Guru, just a dd-wrt aficionado...
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum