Can't get R7000 above 100mbps

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
martixy
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Oct 2012
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sat Sep 07, 2019 0:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:
mrjcd wrote:
martixy wrote:
Ignored this because I do not understand what I'm looking for.

AFAIK, what the Doc is talking about is ---

WAN port plugged into 10/100 switch



same unit has WAN port plugged into 10/100/1000 switch


Something that doesn't even work on (newer) K2.6 builds, the visual indicators. That whole part of the GUI is grey. But not sure if it has to do with wan disabled and client bridge mode on that particular router. I haven't reset it and started over to see if it stays that way or not.


Indicator is green, FWIW.

Onto the tests:
@flyzipper
Neat diagram. We are on the same page.
I have not changed the orange cable in Test 1. So yes, it remains suspect.
Test 1 was also performed with a 5GB file. Hopefully that is enough to trigger any potential fallback to 100mbps and expose the problem.

Test 2 I tried to do, but ISP had MAC filtering on to provide internet. And I just now remembered that they have a web interface to change it yourself.

However there is no way to perform Test 2 with an arbitrary cable, the ISP device where the other end of my internet pipe goes is inaccessible.

And even without changing the cable, I'd have to perform it with a laptop, which I don't have (my roommate has one, but he isn't here now), because the cable doesn't reach all the way to my desktop machine.
Sponsor
Dr_K
DD-WRT User


Joined: 23 Mar 2018
Posts: 437

PostPosted: Sat Sep 07, 2019 0:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
martixy wrote:
Indicator is green, FWIW.

Does it remain green even after your tests drop to 100bit?

& refreshing that Webif page on the R7000..of course..

_________________
Location 1
R6300V2- DD-WRT v3.0-r39345M kongac (04-03-19) Gateway
WNDR3400v1 DD-WRT.v3.0-r35531_mega-nv64k (03/26/18 ) Access Point
WRT160Nv3 DD-WRT ?v3?.0-r35531 mini (03/26/18 ) Access Point
WRT54GSv5 DD-WRT v24-r33555_micro_generic (10/20/17) Repeater
Location 2
R6300V2- DD-WRT v3.0-r39345M kongac (04/03/19) Gateway
R6300V2- DD-WRT v3.0-r39345M kongac (04/03/19) Access Point
WNDR3700v2 DD-WRT v3.0-r35531 std (03/26/18 ) Access Point
E1200 v2 DD-WRT v3.0-r35531 mega-nv64k (03/26/18 ) Gateway(for trivial reasons)
2 devices: SXT 5 ac (mipsbe) RB 6.45.1 (06/27/19) PTP Bridge (0.8km/0.5mi)tx/rx866.6Mbps-1GbpsLAN

Thank You <Kong> & BrainSlayer for ALL that you do also to everyone here that shares their knowledge
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7185
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Sat Sep 07, 2019 1:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
I’ve cleaned up the thread, it went from 3 pages to 1 1/2. now knock it off you two.
_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
flyzipper
DD-WRT User


Joined: 21 Feb 2016
Posts: 255

PostPosted: Sat Sep 07, 2019 21:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
martixy wrote:
Test 2 I tried to do, but ISP had MAC filtering on to provide internet. And I just now remembered that they have a web interface to change it yourself.

However there is no way to perform Test 2 with an arbitrary cable, the ISP device where the other end of my internet pipe goes is inaccessible.

And even without changing the cable, I'd have to perform it with a laptop, which I don't have (my roommate has one, but he isn't here now), because the cable doesn't reach all the way to my desktop machine.


The good news is you've eliminated some potential sources of the problem, and you know what to test next (roommate's laptop with the existing ISP cable... after you've updated the MAC address filter).
martixy
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Oct 2012
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Wed Sep 11, 2019 13:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
Problem is now officially fixed.

Postmortem:
It largely resolved itself on its own, but when I called the ISP they said they still see losses (packet drops? didn't look into it more). So they had some people come over.
They mostly checked the cable, re-crimping my end and doing who knows what to the other end.

Still have no idea what the problem was, but it was on the ISP end, it seems. Not a fault of the router or any part of the internal network.
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 4699
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Wed Sep 11, 2019 14:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
martixy, Thanks for letting us know.

Glad it is now sorted Cool
Dr_K
DD-WRT User


Joined: 23 Mar 2018
Posts: 437

PostPosted: Wed Sep 11, 2019 14:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
So, if I'm reading correctly...It was the cable?
...."re-crimping the cable end".....as in the "ethernet" cable? Or was it the the rg6 coaxial cable

If it was the ethernet cable....It was apart of the internal network/after their hardware....& kudos to your ISP for not charging you for coming out & fixing it. Good to hear they are not all greedy krooks.... At least when it comes to helping their customers ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Would you mind sharing who your ISP is? & if possible in what region?

Also, glad your issue is now sorted out & thank you for updateng this thread

_________________
Location 1
R6300V2- DD-WRT v3.0-r39345M kongac (04-03-19) Gateway
WNDR3400v1 DD-WRT.v3.0-r35531_mega-nv64k (03/26/18 ) Access Point
WRT160Nv3 DD-WRT ?v3?.0-r35531 mini (03/26/18 ) Access Point
WRT54GSv5 DD-WRT v24-r33555_micro_generic (10/20/17) Repeater
Location 2
R6300V2- DD-WRT v3.0-r39345M kongac (04/03/19) Gateway
R6300V2- DD-WRT v3.0-r39345M kongac (04/03/19) Access Point
WNDR3700v2 DD-WRT v3.0-r35531 std (03/26/18 ) Access Point
E1200 v2 DD-WRT v3.0-r35531 mega-nv64k (03/26/18 ) Gateway(for trivial reasons)
2 devices: SXT 5 ac (mipsbe) RB 6.45.1 (06/27/19) PTP Bridge (0.8km/0.5mi)tx/rx866.6Mbps-1GbpsLAN

Thank You <Kong> & BrainSlayer for ALL that you do also to everyone here that shares their knowledge
Goto page Previous  1, 2 Display posts from previous:    Page 2 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum