Recovering DIR 615-C1 from a bad flash

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Author Message
marcelo3d
DD-WRT User


Joined: 07 Aug 2017
Posts: 74

PostPosted: Wed Sep 11, 2019 2:35    Post subject: Recovering DIR 615-C1 from a bad flash Reply with quote
Current browsers on Windows (IE, Chrome, FireFox) are too new for the recovery page in the DLINK router.
I found that

curl -v --form files=@DIR615C1_FW313NAB09.bin 192.168.0.1/cgi/index

transfers properly the specified DLink image and revives the router. From that image you can factory-to... and be back in DD-WRT world.

r40932 was the version that killed the router.

NOTE: You do the command from (in my case) a Windows command prompt. You need to get 'curl' off the net for your OS.

M.-
Sponsor
ian5142
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 23 Oct 2013
Posts: 2133
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Wed Sep 11, 2019 4:10    Post subject: Added to the wiki Reply with quote
Hello,
Just thought I would let you know that I just added this to the appropriate wiki page here: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/D-Link_DIR-615_rev_C#Recovery_Method_.28Newer_versions_of_Windows_7.2B.29

Not sure if this applies to any of the other DIR-615 series revisions (E3/4, etc). I will have to test it when I get home.

_________________
Before asking a question on the forums, update dd-wrt: Where do I download firmware? I suggest reading it all.

Some dd-wrt wiki pages are up to date, others are not. PM me if you find an old one, I am trying to update them.

Atheros:
Netgear R7800 - gateway, DHCP, QoS, VPN
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 x2 - WDS AP, WDS Station
TP-Link TL-WDR3600 v1 - WDS Station
TP-Link 841nd v8 - WDS Station
D-Link 615 C1 x 4 - not used
D-Link 615 E3 x 2 - not used
D-Link 825 B1 - WDS Station
D-Link 862L A1 x2 - WDS Station
Netgear WNDR3700v2 - WDS Station
UBNT loco M2 x2 - airOS

Broadcom
Asus N66U - backup Gateway
Netgear r6300 v1 - AP
Linksys E2500 - not used
Linksys EA2700 - not used
Linksys 160N v3 x2 - not used
Netgear WNDR3700v3 - not used
MediaTek
UBNT EdgeRouter X - not used
creited
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Jun 2016
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon Jan 27, 2020 21:34    Post subject: Re: Recovering DIR 615-C1 from a bad flash Reply with quote
marcelo3d wrote:
Current browsers on Windows (IE, Chrome, FireFox) are too new for the recovery page in the DLINK router.
I found that

curl -v --form files=@DIR615C1_FW313NAB09.bin 192.168.0.1/cgi/index

transfers properly the specified DLink image and revives the router. From that image you can factory-to... and be back in DD-WRT world.

r40932 was the version that killed the router.

M.-


Hi,

I tried to follow your steps from a Win10 computer, and I got the following:

curl -v --form files=@DIR615C1_FW313NAB09.bin 192.168.0.1/cgi/index
* Trying 192.168.0.1...
* TCP_NODELAY set
* Connected to 192.168.0.1 (192.168.0.1) port 80 (#0)
> POST /cgi/index HTTP/1.1
> Host: 192.168.0.1
> User-Agent: curl/7.55.1
> Accept: */*
> Content-Length: 3866866
> Expect: 100-continue
> Content-Type: multipart/form-data; boundary=------------------------81e7aed569538c5e
>
* Done waiting for 100-continue

Nothing else happens on the screen or the router.

This was tried after putting it on "firmware recovery mode" (holding reset after power until blinking orange).

Any other hint?

Thanks
marcelo3d
DD-WRT User


Joined: 07 Aug 2017
Posts: 74

PostPosted: Mon Jan 27, 2020 22:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sorry, no, I don't remember doing anything different.
Some ideas:
* What do you see if you go to 192.168.0.1 with a web browser? The recovery page should still show, for me the problem was that it would not get the form data across.
* Make sure no antivirus is in the way.

M.-
creited
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Jun 2016
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue Jan 28, 2020 16:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
marcelo3d wrote:
Sorry, no, I don't remember doing anything different.
Some ideas:
* What do you see if you go to 192.168.0.1 with a web browser? The recovery page should still show, for me the problem was that it would not get the form data across.
* Make sure no antivirus is in the way.

M.-


If I go to 192.168.0.1 I can see the recovery page which tells me to load the firmware and press Start or Go or something. From Windows 10 and Windows 7 selecting the firmware and pressing Go has no output on the webpage (it keeps loading). Using different browsers I was able to see Loading 0% to 100% but after that nothing happens.

I also tried curl on a Win 7 computer but it seems like the command prompt doesn't recognize the curl command. I will try later on a Linux computer.

Thx
da_guy2
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Nov 2011
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Jun 24, 2020 12:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
creited wrote:
marcelo3d wrote:
Sorry, no, I don't remember doing anything different.
Some ideas:
* What do you see if you go to 192.168.0.1 with a web browser? The recovery page should still show, for me the problem was that it would not get the form data across.
* Make sure no antivirus is in the way.

M.-


If I go to 192.168.0.1 I can see the recovery page which tells me to load the firmware and press Start or Go or something. From Windows 10 and Windows 7 selecting the firmware and pressing Go has no output on the webpage (it keeps loading). Using different browsers I was able to see Loading 0% to 100% but after that nothing happens.

I also tried curl on a Win 7 computer but it seems like the command prompt doesn't recognize the curl command. I will try later on a Linux computer.

Thx


Any update? Running into the same issue.

Thanks
marcelo3d
DD-WRT User


Joined: 07 Aug 2017
Posts: 74

PostPosted: Wed Jun 24, 2020 19:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
da_guy2 wrote:

Any update? Running into the same issue.
Thanks

Did you try using the curl command?
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 6955
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Wed Jun 24, 2020 19:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
Is the command supposed to be done in Windows command prompt or via Putty/Telnet to the router, or via Linux/MacOS? I was looking at this and was confused. Asking so that everything is clear to those reading.
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
marcelo3d
DD-WRT User


Joined: 07 Aug 2017
Posts: 74

PostPosted: Wed Jun 24, 2020 20:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
There is no way to telnet into the router. It is soft-bricked.
You do the command from (in my case) a Windows command prompt. You need to get 'curl' off the net for your OS.
No need to attach the serial cable.

The assumption is that the router is bricked and you get to see the recovery web page when going to 192.168.0.1 with a browser.
The new browsers use a newer standard for pushing the data to the recovery page and it doesn't work.
Using curl from a console worked around the problem for me.

M.-
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 6955
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Wed Jun 24, 2020 20:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
That is exactly the details that people needed in the first place. Lack of these details is what stumped people. Thanks for clarification.

Also, there may actually be a way to telnet in while the router is in recovery mode, but I have no way of testing it.

https://superuser.com/questions/934944/how-to-open-telnet-port-in-wireless-d-link-router

_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 3709
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Thu Jun 25, 2020 14:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
marcelo3d wrote:
There is no way to telnet into the router. It is soft-bricked.
You do the command from (in my case) a Windows command prompt. You need to get 'curl' off the net for your OS.
No need to attach the serial cable.

The assumption is that the router is bricked and you get to see the recovery web page when going to 192.168.0.1 with a browser.
The new browsers use a newer standard for pushing the data to the recovery page and it doesn't work.
Using curl from a console worked around the problem for me.

M.-


10x 4 sharing it...that's why, when it comes to managing and recovery... we use a palemoon browser or any old school standalone browser...

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 ------DD-WRT 44085 BS AP,NAT
TP-Link WR740Nv4 ------DD-WRT 43028 BS WAP/Switch
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ----DD-WRT 44085 BS AP,NAT,AP Isolation,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ----DD-WRT 44048 BS AP,NAT,AD Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ----Gargoyle OS 1.12.0 AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas
Qualcomm/IPQ8065
Netgear R7800 -------DD-WRT 44085 BS AP,NAT,AD-Block,AP&Net Isolation,VLAN's,Firewall,Local DNS,DoT
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 -------DD-WRT 44085 BS AP,Wi-Fi OFF,NAT,AD-Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stubby for DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 by mac913
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 6955
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jun 25, 2020 14:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
Alozaros wrote:
10x 4 sharing it...that's why, when it comes to managing and recovery... we use a palemoon browser or any old school standalone browser...


For these situations, I have an NT4, Win2k, XP Pro, Win7 Pro, and MacOS 10.7.5 station on my bench. They are standalone and never see the Internet; but it is good to have this option. Not sure current FF ESR would work, but perhaps v52 portable may. Generally, older IE versions are what seems to work best. It's a situation where developers couldn't be bothered to upgrade the interface to support modern browsers (or modern browsers can't be bothered to include backwards-compatibility). Long live W3C!

_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
Markeoni
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Aug 2020
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Aug 06, 2020 9:04    Post subject: Update on how to upgrade in windows 10 Reply with quote
I found a solution to run the upgrade in internet explorer windows 10

go to settings of internet explorer then internet options then advanced then under settings table scroll down to http settings and enable use http 1.1 and disable use http 2

Then try with the emergency mode method ...i.e this

hookup your PC's ethernet cable to the router port 1-4.
configure your PC's ethernet TCPIP to "use the following ip"
ip address: 192.168.0.2
subnet mask: 255.255.255.0
default gateway: 192.168.0.1
goto Emergency Mode (while holding reset, unplug and replug power, keep holding reset for roughly 15 seconds)
using firefox (chrome may not work properly)
logon to router with ip 192.168.0.1
takes you to emergency mode page

Upload the file and should upgrade
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum