Forgot password, can't 30/30/30, can't telnet

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 4176
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Thu Aug 22, 2019 5:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
on the recent builds on 3 wrong attempts, you will be banned no GUI for a 10 min, so it will take a long time...
_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 -----DD-WRT 45849 BS AP,NAT
TP-Link WR740Nv4 -----DD-WRT 44251 BS WAP/Switch
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---DD-WRT 45849 BS AP,NAT,AP Isolation,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---DD-WRT 45849 BS AP,NAT,AD/Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---Gargoyle OS 1.12.0 AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas
Qualcomm/IPQ8065
Netgear R7800 -----DD-WRT 45859 BS AP,NAT,AD-Block,AP&Net Isolation,VLAN's,Firewall,Local DNS,DoT
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 -----DD-WRT 45859 BS AP,Wi-Fi OFF,NAT,AD-Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,VLAN's,DoT,VPN
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stubby for DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 by mac913
Sponsor
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 8104
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Thu Aug 22, 2019 20:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
WELL. It was actually that the reset button has been disabled. Should be fixed in the next release. https://svn.dd-wrt.com/ticket/6770 Shocked
nckwrn
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Jun 2015
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Mon Aug 26, 2019 1:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
Alright, so I've got the pi all set up and I got the router apart however now I'm having an issue. Everything is all configured correctly however when I power on the router I get no prompt or anything in my minicom window, I cannot tell if maybe the serial pins on the router are not connected right or if the router just doesn't communicate over serial until you ask it to.

I do notice that when I wiggle the wires around that are connected to the router's serial connections I get random characters on the minicom screen which I figure is from random 1's and 0's from the wires moving.

I'm using this guide https://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/download.php?id=32791&sid=e1beb182722308b716e4bb3ce8a740a0

There are no labels on the router board for the serial connections.
deslatha
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Jul 2016
Posts: 190

PostPosted: Mon Aug 26, 2019 17:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
Jan 1 00:00:11 DD-WRT kern.notice kernel: Creating 6 MTD partitions on "bcmsflash":
Jan 1 00:00:11 DD-WRT kern.notice kernel: 0x000000000000-0x000000080000 : "boot"
Jan 1 00:00:11 DD-WRT kern.notice kernel: 0x000000080000-0x000000ff0000 : "linux"
Jan 1 00:00:11 DD-WRT kern.notice kernel: 0x000000220000-0x000000df0000 : "rootfs"
Jan 1 00:00:11 DD-WRT kern.notice kernel: 0x000000df0000-0x000000ff0000 : "ddwrt"
Jan 1 00:00:11 DD-WRT kern.notice kernel: 0x000000ff0000-0x000001000000 : "nvram_cfe"
Jan 1 00:00:11 DD-WRT kern.notice kernel: 0x000000fe0000-0x000000ff0000 : "nvram"

As you see, on telnet just copy "nvram_cfe" to "nvram" is that all you need.
Code:
mtd erase nvram
mtd write /dev/mtd4 nvram
or
dd if=/dev/mtdblock4 of=/dev/mtdblock5
just remember bk before doing.
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 8104
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Mon Aug 26, 2019 18:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
nckwrn wrote:
Alright, so I've got the pi all set up and I got the router apart however now I'm having an issue. Everything is all configured correctly however when I power on the router I get no prompt or anything in my minicom window, I cannot tell if maybe the serial pins on the router are not connected right or if the router just doesn't communicate over serial until you ask it to.

I do notice that when I wiggle the wires around that are connected to the router's serial connections I get random characters on the minicom screen which I figure is from random 1's and 0's from the wires moving.

I'm using this guide https://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/download.php?id=32791&sid=e1beb182722308b716e4bb3ce8a740a0

There are no labels on the router board for the serial connections.


Look at the pictures really closely. That document tells you exactly the order of the pins. You probably have loose connections, specifically the ground connection. If putty, minicom, whatever client you are using is connected and configured correctly, it shouldn't be giving you a problem.

You could try tftp flashing the stock firmware or latest build a la recovering from a bad flash, if you can get that to work. You WILL want to pay close attention to the C9 wiki as far as what IP address to push the file to.

https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/TP_Link_Archer_C9#Bricked_Router

https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Tftp_flash

Hopefully, you can get it to work. Or, you can send it here. I have plenty of free time Smile
nckwrn
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Jun 2015
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Mon Aug 26, 2019 19:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
deslatha wrote:
Jan 1 00:00:11 DD-WRT kern.notice kernel: Creating 6 MTD partitions on "bcmsflash":
Jan 1 00:00:11 DD-WRT kern.notice kernel: 0x000000000000-0x000000080000 : "boot"
Jan 1 00:00:11 DD-WRT kern.notice kernel: 0x000000080000-0x000000ff0000 : "linux"
Jan 1 00:00:11 DD-WRT kern.notice kernel: 0x000000220000-0x000000df0000 : "rootfs"
Jan 1 00:00:11 DD-WRT kern.notice kernel: 0x000000df0000-0x000000ff0000 : "ddwrt"
Jan 1 00:00:11 DD-WRT kern.notice kernel: 0x000000ff0000-0x000001000000 : "nvram_cfe"
Jan 1 00:00:11 DD-WRT kern.notice kernel: 0x000000fe0000-0x000000ff0000 : "nvram"

As you see, on telnet just copy "nvram_cfe" to "nvram" is that all you need.
Code:
mtd erase nvram
mtd write /dev/mtd4 nvram
or
dd if=/dev/mtdblock4 of=/dev/mtdblock5
just remember bk before doing.


The problem with telnet is it asks for a password that I can't figure out.

I will try serial recovery again today, maybe use a little aluminum foil to make the jumper pins more solid in the router's serial holes.

Thank you everyone for the help, will update on progress.
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 8104
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Mon Aug 26, 2019 21:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
nckwrn wrote:
deslatha wrote:
As you see, on telnet just copy "nvram_cfe" to "nvram" is that all you need.
Code:
mtd erase nvram
mtd write /dev/mtd4 nvram
or
dd if=/dev/mtdblock4 of=/dev/mtdblock5
just remember bk before doing.


The problem with telnet is it asks for a password that I can't figure out.

I will try serial recovery again today, maybe use a little aluminum foil to make the jumper pins more solid in the router's serial holes.

Thank you everyone for the help, will update on progress.


He tends to chime in with something that completely overlooks the rest of the thread. At least this time, his english wasn't horribly broken? Cool

Ok, I am guessing you didn't solder a header or wires into your pc board. Not always ideal, because you need a good connection. Trust me, that is probably a large part of the problem Wink
jwh7
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Oct 2013
Posts: 2616
Location: Indy

PostPosted: Mon Aug 26, 2019 23:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
nckwrn wrote:
I will try serial recovery again today, maybe use a little aluminum foil to make the jumper pins more solid in the router's serial holes.
Shocked

Yes, they should be soldered; the trace connection is on the plane of the board, not the bore of the hole. Wink If you must instead utilize a press fit, have a helper to prevent intermittent connections.

_________________
# NAT/SFE/CTF: limited speed w/ DD # Repeater issues # DD-WRT info: FAQ, Builds, Types, Modes, Changes, Demo #
x64 OPNsense 20.7.6|FT2020.6: EA6900v1.1@1GHz, F7D8302@532|DD 45036: DIR-810L, WNDR4500v2 & 4000@533,
R6300v1, RT-N66U@663, E1500@353, WRT54G{Lv1.1,Sv6}@250
|OpenWRT 19.7.5: RT-ACRH13, R6220, WNDR3700v4
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 8104
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Tue Aug 27, 2019 0:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
jwh7 wrote:
nckwrn wrote:
I will try serial recovery again today, maybe use a little aluminum foil to make the jumper pins more solid in the router's serial holes.
Shocked

Yes, they should be soldered; the trace connection is on the plane of the board, not the bore of the hole. Wink If you must instead utilize a press fit, have a helper to prevent intermittent connections.


^ I kinda left out the obvious in my previous comment. On a side note, I am waiting to see when the E2500 v4 GPL hits the public. I was going to say I was curious about the hardware, but someone apparently has already picked one up and cracked it open, and it is MediaTek:

https://wikidevi.com/wiki/Linksys_E2500_v4 Shocked

Maybe the code will be a little easier to walk through and fix. Maybe not. They may not even release a GPL, seems like none of the *updated* MediaTek stuff from Linksys/Belkin was available, last I looked.
nckwrn
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Jun 2015
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Wed Aug 28, 2019 0:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
jwh7 wrote:
nckwrn wrote:
I will try serial recovery again today, maybe use a little aluminum foil to make the jumper pins more solid in the router's serial holes.
Shocked

Yes, they should be soldered; the trace connection is on the plane of the board, not the bore of the hole. Wink If you must instead utilize a press fit, have a helper to prevent intermittent connections.


I just don't trust my soldering skills enough to work on such tight tolerances.
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7214
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Wed Aug 28, 2019 1:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
nckwrn wrote:
jwh7 wrote:
nckwrn wrote:
I will try serial recovery again today, maybe use a little aluminum foil to make the jumper pins more solid in the router's serial holes.
Shocked

Yes, they should be soldered; the trace connection is on the plane of the board, not the bore of the hole. Wink If you must instead utilize a press fit, have a helper to prevent intermittent connections.


I just don't trust my soldering skills enough to work on such tight tolerances.


It’s not as difficult as you think. You are scaring yourself.

_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 8104
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Wed Aug 28, 2019 2:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
Malachi wrote:
nckwrn wrote:
jwh7 wrote:
nckwrn wrote:
I will try serial recovery again today, maybe use a little aluminum foil to make the jumper pins more solid in the router's serial holes.
Shocked

Yes, they should be soldered; the trace connection is on the plane of the board, not the bore of the hole. Wink If you must instead utilize a press fit, have a helper to prevent intermittent connections.


I just don't trust my soldering skills enough to work on such tight tolerances.


It’s not as difficult as you think. You are scaring yourself.


X2. My hands aren't as steady as they used to be, my eyesight is sh*t, and I've installed pins on all of my E4200 v1s and on my E2500 v3. I used a magnifying glass to be able to see what the hell I was doing and my iron has led lights.
nckwrn
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Jun 2015
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Wed Jul 22, 2020 21:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
So I finally soldered leads onto the PCB and connected it to the USB Uart adapter however I cannot access the cfg.

Basically if I power on the router with the serial connection open and the UART connected, the router doesn't boot up. However if I start the router with the UART adapter not plugged in, the router boots like normal and eventually the serial connection opens and asks for my ddwrt password and username.

I've tried holding ctrl c while plugging the router in and it simply doesnt seem to do anything if the serial connection is open while the router is powered on.
jwh7
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Oct 2013
Posts: 2616
Location: Indy

PostPosted: Thu Jul 23, 2020 1:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
nckwrn wrote:
if I power on the router with the serial connection open and the UART connected, the router doesn't boot up. However if I start the router with the UART adapter not plugged in, the router boots like normal and eventually the serial connection opens and asks for my ddwrt password and username.

I've tried holding ctrl c while plugging the router in and it simply doesnt seem to do anything if the serial connection is open while the router is powered on.
This part is confusing:
>eventually the serial connection opens and asks for my ddwrt password and username
Is this after you've booted it w/o serial connected, then you plug it in after boot? Or are you talking about telnet/ssh or something?

Otherwise, it sounds like an adapter or connection/solder issue. What adapter are you using, and what pins did you connect?

You must have working serial at power-up in order for ctrl-C to break CFE.

_________________
# NAT/SFE/CTF: limited speed w/ DD # Repeater issues # DD-WRT info: FAQ, Builds, Types, Modes, Changes, Demo #
x64 OPNsense 20.7.6|FT2020.6: EA6900v1.1@1GHz, F7D8302@532|DD 45036: DIR-810L, WNDR4500v2 & 4000@533,
R6300v1, RT-N66U@663, E1500@353, WRT54G{Lv1.1,Sv6}@250
|OpenWRT 19.7.5: RT-ACRH13, R6220, WNDR3700v4
nckwrn
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Jun 2015
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Thu Jul 23, 2020 2:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
jwh7 wrote:
nckwrn wrote:
if I power on the router with the serial connection open and the UART connected, the router doesn't boot up. However if I start the router with the UART adapter not plugged in, the router boots like normal and eventually the serial connection opens and asks for my ddwrt password and username.

I've tried holding ctrl c while plugging the router in and it simply doesnt seem to do anything if the serial connection is open while the router is powered on.
This part is confusing:
>eventually the serial connection opens and asks for my ddwrt password and username
Is this after you've booted it w/o serial connected, then you plug it in after boot? Or are you talking about telnet/ssh or something?

Otherwise, it sounds like an adapter or connection/solder issue. What adapter are you using, and what pins did you connect?


I only get a response from the serial connection when I plug the adapter in after letting the router boot. When it boots the prompt says DDWRT Login and asks for a username and then password.

I got an ebay "USB 2.0 to TTL UART 6PIN CP2102 Module Serial Converter AD" and I soldered 3 wires to the router PCB, TX, RX, and GRND. TX is the square hole, RX is next to TX, and GRND is next to RX. I connected the soldered wires to the serial adapter making sure to reverse the TX and RX pins.
Goto page Previous  1, 2 Display posts from previous:    Page 2 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum