New KONG ddwrt build - 07/11/2019

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 3084
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Tue Jul 16, 2019 9:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
digitalMedic wrote:
I just finished flashing dd-wrt on my EA8500 using the serial port method. Interesting time. Anyway, I have a small, probably insignificant issue. The time reported in the upper right hand of the GUI is off. I set the NTP time zone information to America/Detroit and it did not change. Then I set it to US/Michigan. That didn't correct the time either. Finally, I also tried entering a time server (time-a-g.nist.gov) in the server IP/name box using both time zones. Nothing is fixing the time so that it shows the correct time.

Am I missing something?


just ad NTP time IP's instead of address and choose correct time zone..
use those for example 216.239.35.4

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 ------DD-WRT 33772 BS WAP/Switch (wired)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ----DD-WRT 41659 BS (AP,PPPoE,NAT,AD Blocking,AP Isolation,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT, VPN)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ----DD-WRT 41686 BS (AP,NAT,AD Blocking,Firewall,Wi-Fi OFF,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT, VPN)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ----Gargoyle OS 1.11.0 (AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas)
Qualcomm/IPQ8065
Netgear R7800 -------DD-WRT 41686 BS (AP,NAT,AD-Blocking,AP&Net Isolation,VLAN's,Firewall,Local DNS,DoT,VPN)
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 -------DD-WRT 40270M Kong (AP,NAT,VLAN,AD-Blocking,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT)
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stubby for DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 via Entware by mac913
Sponsor
htismaqe
DD-WRT User


Joined: 05 Nov 2015
Posts: 471

PostPosted: Tue Jul 16, 2019 17:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
digitalMedic wrote:
I just finished flashing dd-wrt on my EA8500 using the serial port method. Interesting time. Anyway, I have a small, probably insignificant issue. The time reported in the upper right hand of the GUI is off. I set the NTP time zone information to America/Detroit and it did not change. Then I set it to US/Michigan. That didn't correct the time either. Finally, I also tried entering a time server (time-a-g.nist.gov) in the server IP/name box using both time zones. Nothing is fixing the time so that it shows the correct time.

Am I missing something?


What's the Current Time listed on the main status page? Is that blank too? It almost sounds like a GUI issue rather than an NTP issue.

_________________
Routing:.......Asus RT-AC86U (Asuswrt-Merlin 384.14_beta2)
Switching:....Netgear GS608_V3 & GS605_V4, TrendNet TEG-S82G & TEG-S50G
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7141
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Jul 16, 2019 22:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
consider ddwrt also has built in ntp addresses when its simply enabled even with zone set without dns/ip name..
_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S) || Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi Settings Guide || Qualcomm Atheros Repeating

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

[x86_64] Haswell i3-4150 ------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41659 std
[QUALCOMM] R7800 -----------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41659 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41659 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41659 std
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41659 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 ----------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41631 std


If you use DSLReports please enable hi-res bufferbloat.


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
digitalMedic
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jul 2019
Posts: 3
Location: Michigan

PostPosted: Wed Jul 17, 2019 0:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
I tried it with an IP address rather than a NTP name. It was still wrong.

The current time here is 20:00.
The upper right hand corner time says 14:14:20
The status page time says "not available"

Thanks,

Rick
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 4872
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Wed Jul 17, 2019 0:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
I just installed this back on the spare EA8500 and changed 'Time Zone' to yours
It changed to correct within 30 seconds.

digitalMedic
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jul 2019
Posts: 3
Location: Michigan

PostPosted: Wed Jul 17, 2019 6:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
I got it working finally. Apparently, I do not know how to properly set up a U-verse/Linksys router system. I was having all kinds of network issues. I finally got them sorted. Thanks for everyone's time. Sorry about that.

Rick Embarassed
TheRedeemer
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Apr 2010
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Thu Jul 18, 2019 19:54    Post subject: cron jobs don't run after reboot Reply with quote
Router: Netgear R7000
Firmware: r40270M kongac (07/11/19)
Status: works well, but cron issue
Reset: No
Previous: r39960M kongac (06/08/19)


I'm just now trying kong's 2019 builds on my R7000, coming up from old 9/2018 build.

Noticed my 4 AM reboot cron job would only work one time, the first time I drop it in and save/apply, but not any more after device reboot.

Administration >> Management >> cron
Code:

0 4 * * * root /sbin/reboot


The work-around I'm having to do is also add a startup script to stop and start cron service 2 minutes after boot.

Administration >> Commands >> Startup
Code:

sleep 120
stopservice cron
startservice cron
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7141
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Jul 22, 2019 3:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
*selects channel 36+uu, it uses 40+ul instead*

shocking how brainslayer is still thinking this logic is completely "normal"

_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S) || Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi Settings Guide || Qualcomm Atheros Repeating

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

[x86_64] Haswell i3-4150 ------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41659 std
[QUALCOMM] R7800 -----------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41659 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41659 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41659 std
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41659 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 ----------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41631 std


If you use DSLReports please enable hi-res bufferbloat.


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 4387
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Jul 23, 2019 18:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
Router Model: Netgear R7800

Firmware Version: DD-WRT v3.0-r40270M kongac (07/11/19)
Kernel Version: Linux 4.9.185 #443 SMP Thu Jul 11 00:07:59 CEST 2019 armv7l

Upgraded: from Stock
Reset: Yes : nvram erase

Status: Up and running for 48 hours, basic setup as Gateway, static leases, OpenVPN client (on PIA) with Policy Based Routing up and running, 2,4GHz, 5Ghz USB storage NAS and OpenVPN server working

Errors: Yes
1. DNS leak see: http://svn.dd-wrt.com/ticket/6020
2. PBR is not working with SFE, see: https://svn.dd-wrt.com/ticket/6720
3. Disabling SFE in the GUI does not unload the shortcut-fe.ko module. Reboot or remove manually
4. The following code seems missing in route-up.sh, meaning that the pushed DNS servers from the OpenVPN client are not added to resolv.dnsmasq (it is working for Broadcom routers with the same build number):
Code:
stopservice dnsmasq -f
startservice dnsmasq -f
cat /tmp/resolv.dnsmasq > /tmp/resolv.dnsmasq_isp
env | grep 'dhcp-option DNS' | awk '{ print "nameserver " $3 }' > /tmp/resolv.dnsmasq
cat /tmp/resolv.dnsmasq_isp >> /tmp/resolv.dnsmasq
sleep 2
touch /tmp/resolv.dnsmasq


Big Thanks to Kong and BrainSlayer and others devs!!

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, Netgear R6400v1, Netgear R6400v2, Linksys EA6900 (XvortexCFE), Linksys E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide Linksys EA6900: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=291230
OpenVPN Policy Based Routing guide: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321686
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN Server Setup:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Wireguard Setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1183135
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7141
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Jul 30, 2019 9:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
can we get dnsmasq 2.81 in next build? it has a fix for this:

Fix bug in DNS non-terminal code, added in 2.80, which could sometimes cause a NODATA rather than an NXDOMAIN reply. Thanks to Norman Rasmussen, Sven Mueller and Maciej Żenczykowski for spotting and diagnosing the bug and providing patches.

https://github.com/ldir-EDB0/dnsmasq/blob/master/CHANGELOG

_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S) || Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi Settings Guide || Qualcomm Atheros Repeating

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

[x86_64] Haswell i3-4150 ------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41659 std
[QUALCOMM] R7800 -----------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41659 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41659 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41659 std
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41659 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 ----------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41631 std


If you use DSLReports please enable hi-res bufferbloat.


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 2691
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Tue Jul 30, 2019 10:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
tatsuya46 wrote:
can we get dnsmasq 2.81 in next build? it has a fix for this:

Fix bug in DNS non-terminal code, added in 2.80, which could sometimes cause a NODATA rather than an NXDOMAIN reply. Thanks to Norman Rasmussen, Sven Mueller and Maciej Żenczykowski for spotting and diagnosing the bug and providing patches.

https://github.com/ldir-EDB0/dnsmasq/blob/master/CHANGELOG


There's been a whole lot of bugfixes and patches to dnsmasq since 2.80.... and I do not see an official 2.81 version download on the official site yet: http://www.thekelleys.org.uk/dnsmasq/

The last commit to the official repo was 5 days ago: http://thekelleys.org.uk/gitweb/?p=dnsmasq.git;a=summary

Yes, I know what the current official repo changelog says, but there is no 2.81 official release yet. Other firmwares follow the repo and commits a little more closely. For example, FreshTomato has merged several snapshots and commits since 2.80.
azimul
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Jul 2019
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Jul 30, 2019 15:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi.. just bought Netgear R7800 router.. I was having 5G connectivity problem with my iPhone and iPad with stock firmware. So I decided to flash add-wrt firmware to it.. now 5G working well but my iPhone as well as my iPad can’t detect 5G WiFi with VHT80 channel width.. if I select channel width to 20/40MHz or wide40MHz devices can see 5G WiFi.. I don’t know what is the problem..? Have you guys any idea..? I tried numerous times changing channel width but results always same 40 or Less works perfect but VHT80 or VHT160 or VHT80+80 doesn’t work.
Anyways I am getting better WiFi range with dd-wrt firmware compared to stock firmware.

Now my question is that I saw in the tutorial section that dd-wrt firmware builds after March 2019 have built in GUI to activate web based transmission (torrent) app to use with connected USB. But I can’t see that feature on the latest KONG built R40270M for Netgear R7800 dated July 11, 2019. Can anyone help what that..? New to all this custom firmware things.. pardon me for me noobness.!

Any help will be much appreciated.
Thank you.
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 4872
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Tue Jul 30, 2019 15:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
azimul wrote:
...activate web based transmission (torrent)...

probably have to use build from main DD-WRT repo
https://download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/

You also should read 'NEW Build' post about any DD-WRT you may consider installing Wink

BS builds have the 'Onion Router Project'
jerrytouille
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Dec 2015
Posts: 1293

PostPosted: Tue Aug 06, 2019 12:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
New BS 40559 is solid with major sfe pbr udp qos fixes etc. It’s about time for the M version:) danke
jackykoning
DD-WRT User


Joined: 15 May 2013
Posts: 219
Location: The Nederlands

PostPosted: Tue Aug 06, 2019 16:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
jerrytouille wrote:
New BS 40559 is solid with major sfe pbr udp qos fixes etc. It’s about time for the M version:) danke


Given the build has been out for like 4 hours I will say this. You don't know if it is solid or not yet. That takes time. Who knows what errors have accidentally slipped into the firmware.

Anyway the message below that, I agree with.

_________________
Hi Smile
2x Netgear R7800
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 3 of 5
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum