I can't read / use the admin page

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Author Message
Andr0med
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Feb 2017
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu Jul 18, 2019 15:37    Post subject: I can't read / use the admin page Reply with quote
Hi guys,

Apologize in advance if I'm posting in wrong section or if I'm missing any info.

I have an Netgear R7800 which has been running Kong dd-wrt builds for over an year. I upgraded to 06-30-2019-r40167 and haven't been able to read the admin GUI.

I did the 30/30/30 twice, reset for 7 seconds, 30 seconds, tried the WPS button reset. It reverted to factory settings but I cannot read anything on the admin page. All the text has been replaced with grey boxes and I see the field to enter password but it doesn't work when I press submit. I've tried Chrome, IE and Firefox.

Can someone please help? Is it bricked? Router seems to work but I can't set up wi-fi, etc since no admin. Would appreciate any suggestions.

P.S. wanted to add that I've made backups of settings and partition with the prior firmware before I updated to the 6/30 or 6/17 firmware.


Last edited by Andr0med on Thu Jul 18, 2019 16:23; edited 2 times in total
Sponsor
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 584
Location: Illinois

PostPosted: Thu Jul 18, 2019 16:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
You have us confused with ASUS and R7800...

The R7800 is made by Netgear.
Please confirm what model router you really have...

My guess is that you bunked the install and you'll need to TFTP install the Factory to DD-wrt IMG file.

_________________
[r9000]BS 41659 (Main Router)
[EA8500]BS 41659 (Offsite)
[R7800]taking a nap
[WDR3600]BS 36808 (Offsite)


TIPS/TRICKS:

Best QCA Wifi settings to use|Latency tricks|QoS Port priority||NEVER USE MU-MIO

Why to NOT use MU-MIMO||Max Wifi Pwr by Country||MCS Index Speeds||Correct QCA 5Ghz chnls to use||WIFI Chnl Freq WIKI
Andr0med
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Feb 2017
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu Jul 18, 2019 16:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sorry, yes I have the Netgear R7800. I've been using the same ftp site to download firmware upgrades. I also have an Asus, but that was just a typo. Used the correct firmware, that I'm sure of. Will I be able to Putty into it? Is that option enabled after a factory reset? Thank you again!!!
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 584
Location: Illinois

PostPosted: Thu Jul 18, 2019 18:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
I don't recall if putty has TFTP...I think putty is meant for serial connection, mostly...

I use TFTP or TFTP64 (if you have a 64bit OS).
Then follow these instructions:
https://kb.netgear.com/000059633/How-to-upload-firmware-to-a-NETGEAR-router-using-TFTP-client

the only caveat is this is how you put the router in TFTP mode(TFTP mode won't get enabled w/o having an RJ45 plugged in to Port 1-4 and an active computer/client on the other end):

1-Turn off the power, push and hold the reset button with a pin
2-Turn on the power(Light will be solid ORG) (still holding reset down) and wait till power led starts flashing white (after it first flashes orange several flashes [8 times])
3-Release the reset pin (should have white flahing pwr LED) and now tftp the factory img.

The power led will stop flashing white if you succeeded in transferring the image, and the router reboots rather quickly with the new firmware.


here is the IMG file to use:
http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/K3-AC-IPQ806X/Test/R7800-factory-to-ddwrt.img

_________________
[r9000]BS 41659 (Main Router)
[EA8500]BS 41659 (Offsite)
[R7800]taking a nap
[WDR3600]BS 36808 (Offsite)


TIPS/TRICKS:

Best QCA Wifi settings to use|Latency tricks|QoS Port priority||NEVER USE MU-MIO

Why to NOT use MU-MIMO||Max Wifi Pwr by Country||MCS Index Speeds||Correct QCA 5Ghz chnls to use||WIFI Chnl Freq WIKI


Last edited by msoengineer on Thu Jul 18, 2019 19:02; edited 4 times in total
Andr0med
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Feb 2017
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu Jul 18, 2019 18:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
Many many thanks Exclamation
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 4852
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Thu Jul 18, 2019 20:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
Not sure why you would udate your router without reading about the firmware you wanting to use.

Here is thread about the r40167
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320338
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 584
Location: Illinois

PostPosted: Thu Jul 18, 2019 20:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
mrjcd wrote:
Not sure why you would udate your router without reading about the firmware you wanting to use.

Here is thread about the r40167
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320338


who takes time to read things, or search for that matter, anymore....

it's way easier just to put up a new post...

_________________
[r9000]BS 41659 (Main Router)
[EA8500]BS 41659 (Offsite)
[R7800]taking a nap
[WDR3600]BS 36808 (Offsite)


TIPS/TRICKS:

Best QCA Wifi settings to use|Latency tricks|QoS Port priority||NEVER USE MU-MIO

Why to NOT use MU-MIMO||Max Wifi Pwr by Country||MCS Index Speeds||Correct QCA 5Ghz chnls to use||WIFI Chnl Freq WIKI
Andr0med
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Feb 2017
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri Jul 19, 2019 12:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
Your instructions worked! Thanks again, appreciate you taking the time to post.

I update it to keep up with security vulnerabilities; there's a new firmware almost every week, I update it once in a while.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum